cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
1evh
Punch Card
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎08-27-2010
Location: ZA
Views: 7,071
Message 1 of 11

Update TPM fom 1.2 to 2.0

Hi,

 

Is there a Lenovo utility that will allow me to update my TPM firmware from 1.2 to 2.0?

I have a T540p and would like to have the latest security configuration to protect my data.

 

Thanks.

Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Posts: 11,989
Registered: ‎06-06-2011
Location: RU
Views: 7,025
Message 2 of 11

Re: Update TPM fom 1.2 to 2.0

Hello

Is there "Security Chip Selection" item in the BIOS Setup' Security Menu? It might depend on the BIOS version or laptop model. At least x240 (Haswell generation laptop as well) has such selection:
- discrete TPM chip, supports TPM 1.2 mode
- Intel Platform Trusted Technology ((PTT), supports TPM 2.0 mode

TPM 1.2 is the default feature and needs win8 or later.



x220 • Gobi 2000 3g | hdd, msata ssd, wwan, wifi, gps -- unique hand-made config
ThinkPad 25 Special Anniversary Edition. #retro. Signed by D.Hill
T470p | X1 Carbon Gen3 | Miix 2 10" | Yoga Tablet 2-1050F (Android) + BT Keyboard
ThinkPad Stack • 2.4/5 Wireless Router, HDD 1 TB, BT Speaker, Power Bank, Mobile Projector

Do it well, worse becomes itself

Communities:   English    Deutsche    Español    Portugues    Русскоязычное    Česká    Slovenská    Українська   Moto English

1evh
Punch Card
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎08-27-2010
Location: ZA
Views: 7,015
Message 3 of 11

Re: Update TPM fom 1.2 to 2.0

Thanks for your quick reply, but I'm running the latest BIOS (v2.27 2017-05-02) and there is no such option.
I have a Haswell processor so it is strange that that option is available to some machines and not others. Could it be the specific TPM chip make/model, or just a setting that is disabled for some?

Either way I'd like to be able to update to TPM 2.0 for better security in the same way that other manufacturers allow...
Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Posts: 11,989
Registered: ‎06-06-2011
Location: RU
Views: 7,008
Message 4 of 11

Re: Update TPM fom 1.2 to 2.0

There are T540p models without TPM chip on the systemboard. What's the MTM code of your laptop (started with 20BF or 20BE)? If it's a CTO model, laptop' serial number is needed (do not share it here, you might send it me via the forum private messages service if you want me to make sure the systemboard' specification).

Security Chip Selection item is visible BIOS Setup feature if it's present.



x220 • Gobi 2000 3g | hdd, msata ssd, wwan, wifi, gps -- unique hand-made config
ThinkPad 25 Special Anniversary Edition. #retro. Signed by D.Hill
T470p | X1 Carbon Gen3 | Miix 2 10" | Yoga Tablet 2-1050F (Android) + BT Keyboard
ThinkPad Stack • 2.4/5 Wireless Router, HDD 1 TB, BT Speaker, Power Bank, Mobile Projector

Do it well, worse becomes itself

Communities:   English    Deutsche    Español    Portugues    Русскоязычное    Česká    Slovenská    Українська   Moto English

Lenovo Staff
Lenovo Staff
Posts: 5,763
Registered: ‎10-29-2009
Location: NC
Views: 6,993
Message 5 of 11

Re: Update TPM fom 1.2 to 2.0

Not all Haswell ThinkPads have TPM 2.0.  Some Haswell ThinkPads were TPM 1.2 only.  There is no upgrade path to TPM 2.0 on these models.

 

edited to clarify

Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Posts: 11,989
Registered: ‎06-06-2011
Location: RU
Views: 6,988
Message 6 of 11

Re: Update TPM fom 1.2 to 2.0

Matt,

ThinkPad x240, Haswell based on, iPTT (TPM 2.0 ?) entry is in the BIOS Setup.



x220 • Gobi 2000 3g | hdd, msata ssd, wwan, wifi, gps -- unique hand-made config
ThinkPad 25 Special Anniversary Edition. #retro. Signed by D.Hill
T470p | X1 Carbon Gen3 | Miix 2 10" | Yoga Tablet 2-1050F (Android) + BT Keyboard
ThinkPad Stack • 2.4/5 Wireless Router, HDD 1 TB, BT Speaker, Power Bank, Mobile Projector

Do it well, worse becomes itself

Communities:   English    Deutsche    Español    Portugues    Русскоязычное    Česká    Slovenská    Українська   Moto English

Lenovo Staff
Lenovo Staff
Posts: 5,763
Registered: ‎10-29-2009
Location: NC
Views: 6,987
Message 7 of 11

Re: Update TPM fom 1.2 to 2.0

X240 had it.  Not all other Haswell models did.  For example, my T540p doesn't.  Offhand I'm not sure why some got it and others didn't.  It may have had to do with processor model or vPro or something like that.  Starting with Broadwell ThinkPad, all models had it.

1evh
Punch Card
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎08-27-2010
Location: ZA
Views: 6,973
Message 8 of 11

Re: Update TPM fom 1.2 to 2.0

@x220forme:

 

It's a 20BF-spec T540p.
It has a TPM chip installed and Security Chip options in the BIOS, but no ability to Select between any chip versions/capabilities...

Let me double-check the specs and I'll send serial if I don't come right.

Thanks.

1evh
Punch Card
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎08-27-2010
Location: ZA
Views: 6,972
Message 9 of 11

Re: Update TPM fom 1.2 to 2.0

@someotherguy:

It would be very disappointing if there is no such upgrade/update path...
...especially if it was enabled for some machines and not others.
As I indicated earlier, I just completed such a firmware upgrade on a competing manufacturer's device in a couple minutes.

Mine is a quad core i7, so you'd expect decent capability and future-proofing with such a top-end machine, no?

mikie
Token Ring
Posts: 123
Registered: ‎08-30-2012
Location: US
Views: 6,911
Message 10 of 11

Re: Update TPM fom 1.2 to 2.0

Newer win10 versions, tpm1.2 or 2 or none at all doesn't totally matter. win can do what it needs in software..currently win10 latest doesn't even need a user input password on the tpm. It suggested you look at tpm to make sure its working proper on the latest win10. .. tpm.msc

I'd be surprised you could firmware upgrade a soldered chip on the motherboard.

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors