English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

2 Posts

08-07-2017

AU

9 Signins

59 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎08-07-2017
  • Location: AU
  • Views: 59
  • Message 1 of 5

Using a Virtual Machine

2017-08-08, 2:24 AM

Hello everyone.

 

I have got an issue with using virtual box. I am trying to run a virtual machine with Ubuntu on it. I am allocating GB of hard disk space and 1GB of RAM. Both of which I have to spare from my laptop. The virtual machine keeps crashing when I launch it. I have read and apparently a few people using the Think Pad have had this issue. I have followed the steps that were suggested to them. These include:

 

Re installing Virtual Box,
Disabling Hyper-V windows feature (Through GUI and Command Prompt)

 

Uninstalling and reinstalling did nothing. I do not have an option to disable or enable Hyper-V and the command failed. I need to be able to run a virtual box for one of my classes at university. I am quite close to restoring to factory settings but I want to avoid that at all costs. Any suggestions welcome.

 

Thanks

Chris

Solved! See the solution
Reply
Options

67 Posts

01-05-2016

GB

296 Signins

1454 Page Views

  • Posts: 67
  • Registered: ‎01-05-2016
  • Location: GB
  • Views: 1454
  • Message 2 of 5

Re: Using a Virtual Machine

2017-08-08, 22:20 PM

What Thinkpad have you got?

What processor has it got?

How much RAM has it got?

What will you be running in the virtual machine(s)?

Are VT-x (and if you have it VT-d) enabled in your BIOS? (Or the AMD equivalents if you have an AMD processor. AMD-V if I remember correctly)

 

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

2 Posts

08-07-2017

AU

9 Signins

59 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎08-07-2017
  • Location: AU
  • Views: 59
  • Message 3 of 5

Re: Using a Virtual Machine

2017-08-09, 1:43 AM
I have a Thinkpad T550 with an i5 5200U @ 2.2GHz. I have 8GB of DDR3 RAM. I will be running a 64bit vertsion of Ubuntu. (I use windows 10 664bit). I have just enabled both VT-x and VT-d
Reply
Options

67 Posts

01-05-2016

GB

296 Signins

1454 Page Views

  • Posts: 67
  • Registered: ‎01-05-2016
  • Location: GB
  • Views: 1454
  • Message 4 of 5

Re: Using a Virtual Machine

2017-08-09, 2:13 AM

I'd give 64 bit Ubuntu 2GB of RAM.

If it works at all with 1GB it'll be really tight.

Give it 2 logical processors.

Try asking here:

https://forums.virtualbox.org/viewforum.php?f=1

or maybe here:

https://forums.virtualbox.org/viewforum.php?f=6

Apart from that I'm not sure.

Reply
Options

67 Posts

01-05-2016

GB

296 Signins

1454 Page Views

  • Posts: 67
  • Registered: ‎01-05-2016
  • Location: GB
  • Views: 1454
  • Message 5 of 5

Re: Using a Virtual Machine

2017-09-04, 2:49 AM

A further thought occurs to me:

When I said you'll almost definately need 2GB RAM I'm assuming you're using a full install of Ubuntu including a GUI.

If you're not using a GUI, and are only using the command line interface then 1GB of RAM would probably be fine.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete