Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
SkyAirplane
Paper Tape
Views: 6,179
Message 1 of 13

Which WWAN module to add to a WWAN-ready T480s

Hi everyone,

I'm a student and planning to buy the Campus version of the Thinkpad T480s with the Nvidia chip. It doesn't come with a WWAN module, but I'd like to add one. Information on that topic seems sparse and I tried to look for M.2 slot WWAN modules at different online stores.

I found a few ones, namely

- Huawei ME906S, listed to be compatible with 2016 Thinkpads

- Sierra EM7455, listed to be compatible with the *70 series Thinkpads

- Fibocom L831-EA (Intel XMM 7160), listed to be compatible with *70 series Thinkpads

According to this reddit, at least the Huawei and Sierra ones are incompatible unauthorized for a T480s which, if true, is simply inconvenient, annoying and disappointing. As I mentioned above, buying a Thinkpad with a pre-installed LTE module is not an option because I'd like to have the Nvidia chip and am buying a Lenovo Campus Thinkpad which comes at a reduced price (and in Germany, it's the only way to get one with an Nvidia chip).

As the Lenovo configurator and the T480s platform specifications indicate, the Fibocom L830-EB (Intel XMM 7262) and Fibocom L850-GL (Intel XMM 7360) are officially used and should definitely be compatible. However, I can't find them anywhere except pre-configured with a Thinkpad, which is not an option for me.

Can anyone please help me with either of the following:

- Is the Fibocom L831-EA (Intel XMM 7160) authorized for and compatible with the T480s?

- Is there any place where I can get a Fibocom L830-EB or Fibocom L850-GL? If so, where? Best would be somewhere in Europe, better Germany, or if not, then with shipping costs to Germany not too high.

- Is there any other WWAN module known to be compatible with the T480s? If so, where can I get it (again, preferably from within Germany / Europe)?

Thanks a lot for the help!

Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod