cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
merlin666
Punch Card
Posts: 39
Registered: ‎02-10-2010
Location: Winnipeg
Views: 461
Message 1 of 5

fingerprint reader stopped working for startup

For the last few days I have not been able to use the fingerprint login with my T500. The reader shows and is waiting for several minutes. but the "swipe your finger" invitation does not show and instead the manual logon screen is displayed. It still works with secure websites etc. I hope this can be fixed.

Guru
Posts: 9,598
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: CA
Views: 421
Message 2 of 5

Re: fingerprint reader stopped working for startup

Are you running the latest Fingerprint Reader package?
http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/MIGR-70443.html

Try reinstalling it too.

W520: 2960XM, Q2000M @ 1091/1380, 32GB RAM, 500GB&750GB HDD & 500GB SSD, FHD&MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
W550s: 5600U, K620M at 1164/1281, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 3K touchscreen
X200s: SL9400, 6GB RAM, 64GB SD card, WXGA+ screen
TPT1: 1839-23U
merlin666
Punch Card
Posts: 39
Registered: ‎02-10-2010
Location: Winnipeg
Views: 393
Message 3 of 5

Re: fingerprint reader stopped working for startup

Thanks, looks like I have the latest version. Interestingly, after getting the Windows Updates on Tue it worked for one or two boots, but now is off again. May try the re-install.

merlin666
Punch Card
Posts: 39
Registered: ‎02-10-2010
Location: Winnipeg
Views: 311
Message 4 of 5

Re: fingerprint reader stopped working for startup

I re-installled the latest version,  but still not available at logon, and very long wait until the passsword screen is displayed. Anything else I could do?

merlin666
Punch Card
Posts: 39
Registered: ‎02-10-2010
Location: Winnipeg
Views: 264
Message 5 of 5

Re: fingerprint reader stopped working for startup

I had already posted the solution to this on the Comodo forum in January but forgot about it and the problem appeared again with a new verion of the fingerprint software. This issue is caused by Comodo firewall. The solution is to put the firewall into training mode, reboot, and then turn it back to safe mode.
Top Kudoed Authors