English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

87 Posts

02-28-2012

Greenville, SC

38 Signins

309 Page Views

  • Posts: 87
  • Registered: ‎02-28-2012
  • Location: Greenville, SC
  • Views: 309
  • Message 1 of 5

intel 5100 on t500

2012-03-22, 3:08 AM

So it seems the adapter is acting up.  It sees networking n linux it refuses to obtain an ip adress.  Windows 7 sees the network will connect sometimes but has a slooooooow connection and sometimes won't load the page.  Other times it won't connect. 

 

I use another computer on same network and the internal adapter works fine.  It seem's other people are reporting the same problem.

 

Has anybody heard of this problem or have a possible fix?

Solved! See the solution
Reply
Options

21115 Posts

12-20-2008

Australia, Melbourne

20622 Signins

444194 Page Views

  • Posts: 21115
  • Registered: ‎12-20-2008
  • Location: Australia, Melbourne
  • Views: 444194
  • Message 2 of 5

Re: intel 5100 on t500

2012-03-22, 3:30 AM
Yes i had a similar issue with this card in my T400 and X200. It is a hardware problem with the intel wireless card.
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

87 Posts

02-28-2012

Greenville, SC

38 Signins

309 Page Views

  • Posts: 87
  • Registered: ‎02-28-2012
  • Location: Greenville, SC
  • Views: 309
  • Message 3 of 5

Re: intel 5100 on t500

2012-03-23, 0:56 AM
I was afraid of that. The next question is how to swap it out? Any card recommendations for cards?
Reply
Options

21115 Posts

12-20-2008

Australia, Melbourne

20622 Signins

444194 Page Views

  • Posts: 21115
  • Registered: ‎12-20-2008
  • Location: Australia, Melbourne
  • Views: 444194
  • Message 4 of 5

Re: intel 5100 on t500

2012-03-23, 3:11 AM
pretty easy just take off the palmrest and then the keyboard, you will see a wifi card under the keyboard area.

you still have to use similar card, maybe get the Intel 5300.

Also it must be from a Lenovo ThinkPad, otherwise you would get an error on the laptop.
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Reply
Options

87 Posts

02-28-2012

Greenville, SC

38 Signins

309 Page Views

  • Posts: 87
  • Registered: ‎02-28-2012
  • Location: Greenville, SC
  • Views: 309
  • Message 5 of 5

Re: intel 5100 on t500

2012-03-24, 16:40 PM

Thankyou.  So I noticed there are plenty of differant part numbers for that wifi card just for the thinkpad series ranging from 15 bucks to 50.  Does it matter as long as its for the thinkpad or should I find the proper part number and go there?

 

Out of curiosity what is the error and why?  I would have figured that since it's the same card there wouldn't be much of a problem.  Then again it's oem so I can kinda see.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms