Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Serial Port
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎12-09-2008
Location: US
Message 1 of 6 (3,665 Views)

intel P9700 upgrade

Another processor upgrade question:

 

the newly release P9700 is not offered yet for T400, hovewer I am wandering if it would work, considering that is similar with the other Penryn processors.

 

Or does it have to be included by Lenovo in the bios specifically - which I doubt they have done if they don't offer it ?   

 

thanks for your comments,

Cosmin

Punch Card
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎07-04-2009
Location: Slovakia
Message 2 of 6 (3,659 Views)

Re: intel P9700 upgrade

I'm not from Lenovo, but I think that CPU will work properly.

Serial Port
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎12-09-2008
Location: US
Message 3 of 6 (3,601 Views)

Re: intel P9700 upgrade

I also think it should work, would be great if we can find what cpu's are supported in the current bios release...

 

Serial Port
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎12-09-2008
Location: US
Message 4 of 6 (3,513 Views)

Re: intel P9700 upgrade

 

 Bump Smiley Sad,

 

 common guys, somebody from Lenovo should know this - is the P9700 included in bios ?

 

 thanks,

Highlighted
Retired Guru
Posts: 1,406
Registered: ‎10-26-2008
Location: California, United States
Message 5 of 6 (3,500 Views)

Re: intel P9700 upgrade

[ Edited ]

It's not whether a certain processor is supported in the BIOS, it's whether a family of processors is supported by the BIOS.

 

The P9700 has a CPUID string of 10676h, which is the same as the P8400. This string represents the processor family and included features. Thus it would be correct to say that it is a direct replacement.

Message Edited by ortegaluis on 07-15-2009 09:01 PM

\\ I do not respond to PM regarding individual tech support. Keep discussions in the forum for the benefit of others //
Serial Port
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎12-09-2008
Location: US
Message 6 of 6 (3,472 Views)

Re: intel P9700 upgrade

Great !, thanks a lot Ortegaluis - I was puling my hair trying to figure this one out.

 

And you were right on the money, this morning somebody over at NBR forums let me know he just put a P9700 in his T400 and it's working fine.

 

much appreciate your help,

Top Kudoed Authors