cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
jmagaram
Paper Tape
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-10-2009
Location: Seattle
Views: 1,596
Message 1 of 9

is rescue and recovery needed?

I've got Windows 7 Ultimate. My T500 came with something called "Rescue and Recovery". I can't see any advantage of the Lenovo tool compared to the Backup and Restore feature in Windows 7 Ultimate. Is there any reason to keep it?

wesleyyin
802.11n
Posts: 236
Registered: ‎07-02-2009
Location: US
Views: 1,591
Message 2 of 9

Re: is rescue and recovery needed?

 


@jmagaram wrote:

I've got Windows 7 Ultimate. My T500 came with something called "Rescue and Recovery". I can't see any advantage of the Lenovo tool compared to the Backup and Restore feature in Windows 7 Ultimate. Is there any reason to keep it?


 

I thought the same but then found that Windows 7's backup program is terribly slow at incremental backup (for my 6GB "projects" folder). 

 

bosomfriend
Punch Card
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎11-06-2009
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Views: 1,573
Message 3 of 9

Re: is rescue and recovery needed?

If your windows failed to boot, how could you restore the system?

jmagaram
Paper Tape
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-10-2009
Location: Seattle
Views: 1,571
Message 4 of 9

Re: is rescue and recovery needed?

the windows 7 backup and restore features provide for that. they've got a "create system repair disc" and "create system image" options.

TheDude
802.11n
Posts: 541
Registered: ‎09-10-2009
Location: USA
Views: 1,566
Message 5 of 9

Re: is rescue and recovery needed?

I'll be using the Windows function for my boot/programs drive and an external WD harddrive with the backup software that came with it for data backup on an automatic whenever docked setting.

T61p, T400
formerly x23, x40
bosomfriend
Punch Card
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎11-06-2009
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Views: 1,505
Message 6 of 9

Re: is rescue and recovery needed?

 


@jmagaram wrote:

the windows 7 backup and restore features provide for that. they've got a "create system repair disc" and "create system image" options.


 

 

Oh, it's good to know that. Thanks!

I'm the poor guy with vista home basic coming with my T400.

dc16a2
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-23-2009
Location: NYC
Views: 1,428
Message 7 of 9

Re: is rescue and recovery needed?

I've got Windows XP (The laptop came installed with Windows XP -downgrade- from Vista Business.)

 

I've created the XP Recovery Discs -- took 8 CDs.

But doesn't my T400 come with a built-in recovery partition via the blue ThinkVantage button?  I thought all ThinkPads came with that partition which restores the system to factory state...?

 



HrabiaMol
Token Ring
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎10-07-2009
Location: Slovenia
Views: 1,385
Message 8 of 9

Re: is rescue and recovery needed?

They do, but sometimes it happens that even the recovery partition isn't working (as happened to me on my thinkcentre). In that case you will need the recovery CDs.

dc16a2
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-23-2009
Location: NYC
Views: 1,316
Message 9 of 9

Re: is rescue and recovery needed?

^ Thanks for your response, HrabiaMol. 

 

So the recovery partition would restore the computer to factory state (Windows XP) and not Vista in my case?

 

(I bought it installed with Windows XP -downgrade- from Vista Business)

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors