Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
communityprofil
What's DOS?
Views: 225
Message 1 of 2

t450s - trying to convert laptop to "desktop"

i've been using my t450s for a few years now. mostly as a laptop / portable, but recently needed to do a little more intensive / desktop related work (excel, ppt, etc.). 

i purchased a Dell UltraSharp U2415 and am basically trying to create a more desktop environment. the U2415 has a display port, so when i plug it into the t450s, it is pretty seamless to start working on the larger monitor. i also have an external keyboard USB'd to the monitor, and the monitor ss / USB'd to the laptop. however, the computer doesn't always turn on when i type on the external keyboard / mouse, nor does the monitor always turn on when my laptop lid is closed - is there a way for the computer to detect that there's an external monitor and thus should be on even with a closed lid (i know there's an option from the battery section, but that's a bit different).

also, the screen size of the u2415 is 1920-1200, whereas the t450s is 1920-1080. Not a huge difference, but it would be great if i plugged in the display port and the screen size is automatically set to the right resolution (rather than me manually setting it each time - in that case i should have just bought a monitor that is 1920x1080 rather than the u2415).

anyways, just looking for some quick guidance to make my laptop more like a desktop (with the convenience of a laptop).

Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Views: 215
Message 2 of 2

Re: t450s - trying to convert laptop to "desktop"