English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

1 Posts

11-18-2013

United States

8 Signins

63 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎11-18-2013
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 63
  • Message 1 of 18

thinkpad T400 Ram Upgrade

2014-01-23, 12:51 PM

I have got refurbished laptop which is in amazing condition  just like new. I am going to upgrade my laptop with RAM and SSD.


Laptop description.

 

Intel Core 2 Duo CPU

P8600 @ 2.40 Ghz

2GB Ram

Windows XP 32 bit Pro

 

RAM:-

I am trying to upgrade the Ram with 8 Gb and will also upgrade with windows 64 bit 7

 

From lenovo site they have recommended  PC3-8500 1066MHz DDR3

 

But from Crucial site after scanning my laptop from their tool they have recommended: PC3-10600 1333MHz DDR3

even many people have installed this Ram in there laptop and it works.

 

Which is one more suitable ?...

 

SSD:

 

Which one is best?:

 

Crucial M500 120GB SATA 2.5-Inch 7mm (with 9.5mm adapter) Internal Solid State Drive CT120M500SSD1

 

 

Samsung Electronics 840 EVO-Series 120GB 2.5-Inch SATA III Single Unit Version Internal Solid State Drive MZ-7TE120BW...

 

 

Samsung 840 Series 2.5 inch 120GB SATA III internal Solid State Drive (SSD) MZ-7TD120BW

 

 

 

Solved! See the solution
Reply
Options

3060 Posts

12-22-2008

CA

12224 Signins

175833 Page Views

  • Posts: 3060
  • Registered: ‎12-22-2008
  • Location: CA
  • Views: 175833
  • Message 2 of 18

Re: thinkpad T400 Ram Upgrade

2014-01-23, 14:32 PM

RAM: You need a minimum of PC3-8500 1066MHz DDR3. However faster chips like PC3-10600 1333MHz DDR3 or PC3-12800 1600MHz DDR3 will work fine as well.

 

If there's little or no difference in price I'd buy the faster memory. The reason is that if I upgrade to a new(er) notebook it's more likely the RAM will work at full speed on that system.

 

Note also that while you can upgrade to a maximum of 8GB (2x 4GB) with a 32-bit OS like WinXP-32 you won't be able to utilize more than 3GB.

 

SSD: Any of the drives you've listed will work well. 

 

 

 


Using Search to find your answers in Lenovo and Moto Community

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

204 Posts

12-31-2013

US

95 Signins

2697 Page Views

  • Posts: 204
  • Registered: ‎12-31-2013
  • Location: US
  • Views: 2697
  • Message 3 of 18

Re: thinkpad T400 Ram Upgrade

2014-01-24, 15:50 PM

I find G.skill PC3 12800 and Samsung 840 Pro is be the best of the best.  Not the cheapest options but fast and reliable.


W530 | 3840QM | 32g @ 1.35v CL9 1986z | 512g 840 Pro | 1t HGST 7200 | FHD AUO v.4 | Quadro K2k | GOBI 5k | Centrino 6300
Reply
Options

4 Posts

08-24-2014

UK

9 Signins

110 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎08-24-2014
  • Location: UK
  • Views: 110
  • Message 4 of 18

Re: thinkpad T400 Ram Upgrade

2014-08-24, 8:48 AM

I am glad I am not the only one looking to upgrade a T400 several years after the vast majority of owners!

 

I have a couple of questions on this which I hope you might be abel to assist me with...

 

My T400 HDD has finally given up completely. I had upgraded it to Windows 7 Ultimate.

The rest is the same as it came out of the box, so I assume it is the same as MrA has described above.

 

It has been suggested to go down the SDD and RAM upgrade route, but I would jut like to ask if...

 

Crucial-CT512MX100SSD1-512GB  is a suitable option? If not, what would be a good alternative?

 

It has been suggested I look to upgrade RAM to DDR5 - Would this work okay in this laptop?

If not, what are the alternatives? Do I stick to DDR3, as suggested in earlier comments?

 

As I said above, I have W7 Ultimate to install.

I understand 32 bit will only support 3gb RAM.

To upgrade to 8gb RAM, do I just need to use the x64 version to make the laptop a 64-bit PC, or do I need to do something else to the hardware side of things?

Sorry for the stupid question, but there appears to be contradicting comments out there!

 

Any advice/suggestions would be much appreciated - It's a mine-field out there

 

Cheers

Dibbs

Reply
Options

706 Posts

11-21-2013

US

837 Signins

10702 Page Views

  • Posts: 706
  • Registered: ‎11-21-2013
  • Location: US
  • Views: 10702
  • Message 5 of 18

Re: thinkpad T400 Ram Upgrade

2014-08-24, 10:52 AM

You need 64 bit Windows to be able to access above 4GB RAM.

 

Crucial is a good brand.  I'm partial to Samsung EVO.  Both are reliable performers.

 

Your motherboard memory controller can't fully take advantage of DDR5.  It's an "old" machine. 

 

Get brand name memory spec'd to your PC.  I like G. Skill and Crucial.

Reply
Options

4318 Posts

07-24-2013

CH

12962 Signins

377068 Page Views

  • Posts: 4318
  • Registered: ‎07-24-2013
  • Location: CH
  • Views: 377068
  • Message 6 of 18

Re: thinkpad T400 Ram Upgrade

2014-08-24, 11:44 AM

wrote:

 

It has been suggested I look to upgrade RAM to DDR5 - Would this work okay in this laptop?


SODIMM DDR5 doesn't exist!! There's only GDDR5 RAM used in graphics cards for desktops, but that's a complete different thing.

 

You will need SODIMM DDR3 ram, either DDR3-8500 or DDR3-10600, just avoid the "Value RAM" line from Kingston (but the HyperX series are good), and the "Value Select" line from Corsair.

 

Get two sticks of 4GB each and with the SSD you're planning to buy you will have a speedy machine for a couple years to come :smileywink:


Using Search to find your answers in Lenovo and Moto Community
Reply
Options

4 Posts

08-24-2014

UK

9 Signins

110 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎08-24-2014
  • Location: UK
  • Views: 110
  • Message 7 of 18

Re: thinkpad T400 Ram Upgrade

2014-08-25, 7:49 AM

Thanks you for your replies.

 

Can I please double-check.....

 

To make the PC a 64 bit machine, all I need to do is load W7 x64?

 

The 512gb SSD card WILL work in my laptop?

 

Thanks very much again

Regards

Dibbs

Reply
Options

4318 Posts

07-24-2013

CH

12962 Signins

377068 Page Views

  • Posts: 4318
  • Registered: ‎07-24-2013
  • Location: CH
  • Views: 377068
  • Message 8 of 18

Re: thinkpad T400 Ram Upgrade

2014-08-25, 8:28 AM

wrote:

 

To make the PC a 64 bit machine, all I need to do is load W7 x64?


You need to get a proper Win7 64bits installation media, then you'll get a 64bits system

 


wrote:

 

The 512gb SSD card WILL work in my laptop?


If you're referring to the Crucial CT512MX100SSD1 from your post above yes, that one should work


Using Search to find your answers in Lenovo and Moto Community
Reply
Options

706 Posts

11-21-2013

US

837 Signins

10702 Page Views

  • Posts: 706
  • Registered: ‎11-21-2013
  • Location: US
  • Views: 10702
  • Message 9 of 18

Re: thinkpad T400 Ram Upgrade

2014-08-25, 11:03 AM
If you have already installed that copy of W7 Ultimate on another PC, it may not activate automatically when you get it installed on the T400. You might have to call it in.

And remember not to confuse the CoA code that came on the laptop with the one that you have with the 64 bit install disk.
Reply
Options

4 Posts

08-24-2014

UK

9 Signins

110 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎08-24-2014
  • Location: UK
  • Views: 110
  • Message 10 of 18

Re: thinkpad T400 Ram Upgrade

2014-10-18, 16:27 PM
Thanks for your help - new SSD is great
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete