English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

2 Posts

07-06-2013

Croatia

9 Signins

29 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎07-06-2013
  • Location: Croatia
  • Views: 29
  • Message 1 of 7

thinkpad T510 memory upgrade problem

2013-07-06, 7:51 AM

Hi!

I have a problem with a memory upgrade on the Lenovo ThinkPad T510.

 

Currently I have 2x2GB moduls and wanted to install 2x4GB.
When I put 2x4GB in , Windows does not boot, just hangs on a black screen (before win logo).

 

I tried:

a) 1 x 4 GB front slot (I get a blue screen of death)
b) 1 x 4 GB  back slot(I get a blue screen of death)
c) 1 x 2GB + 1 x 4GB (i get black screen)
d) upgrading bios - go to a) :
e) testing memory in another laptop [works]

 

New memory is  : 4GB DDR3 1600MHz PC3-12800 CL11 Kingston

What do I do?

Reply
Options

1 Posts

10-29-2013

israel

1 Signins

13 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎10-29-2013
  • Location: israel
  • Views: 13
  • Message 2 of 7

Re: thinkpad T510 memory upgrade problem

2013-10-29, 22:17 PM
Hi gbanina,
I have the same problem when trying to use the same Kingston memory with my T510.
Do you know to tell now whether this memory is not compatible with the T510 or it was just a bad memory card?

Thanks!
Reply
Options

355 Posts

01-29-2013

Greece

1457 Signins

7841 Page Views

  • Posts: 355
  • Registered: ‎01-29-2013
  • Location: Greece
  • Views: 7841
  • Message 3 of 7

Re: thinkpad T510 memory upgrade problem

2013-10-29, 22:50 PM

Hi, welcome to the forum!

 

As far as I know, there are compatibility issues between your T510 and Kingston Value Memory line, possibly other Kingston ram too. Also, 1600Mhz ram is out of specs (although it could work, at 1066Mhz). Try Hynix, Samsung, G.Skill, Transcend DDR3 1066 or 1333. It would be best if you could take the laptop to the retailer and ask if you can test the memory for compatibility before you buy.

 

I hope this helps.


------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!
This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.
Reply
Options

1 Posts

01-12-2014

Nederland

1 Signins

9 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎01-12-2014
  • Location: Nederland
  • Views: 9
  • Message 4 of 7

Re: thinkpad T510 memory upgrade problem

2014-01-12, 1:59 AM

 

I've got this problem too , I have buyed 1x 8GB from kingston which didn't work and ended with a blue screen..

then I buyed 2x 4GB Corsair's Valueselect, which resulted in the same problems. 

 

 

Reply
Options

1 Posts

08-20-2015

Toronto

1 Signins

13 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎08-20-2015
  • Location: Toronto
  • Views: 13
  • Message 5 of 7

Re: thinkpad T510 memory upgrade problem

2015-08-20, 16:43 PM

I am experiencing the exact same issue using G.Skill RAM modules.  I checked the BIOS and it shows perfectly fine.  I am curious if you found a fix to this problem?  I've read that some people had the same issue with other types of RAM, but I find it strange for this to occur when the specs are identical.  I also updated my BIOS to the latest version with no luck.  Please let me know when you have a chance.

Reply
Options

4345 Posts

07-24-2013

CH

13000 Signins

377298 Page Views

  • Posts: 4345
  • Registered: ‎07-24-2013
  • Location: CH
  • Views: 377298
  • Message 6 of 7

Re: thinkpad T510 memory upgrade problem

2015-08-20, 19:11 PM

Welcome to the forum guys!

 

Basically, I always avoid the "Value RAM" line from Kingston and the "Value Select" line from Corsair. Both manufacturers have other RAM series that work perfectly well. I have several ThinkPads using the Kingston Hyper-X and Corsair Vengeance modules and they work with not issues

 

For this generation ThinkPads I also avoid DDR3-12800, I never could get RAM like that working in my X201/T410/T510 and W510 ThinkPads, (although I read some users posted that they managed to get that type of RAM working).

 

I'd also recommend to stick with DDR3-8500 or DDR310600 RAM.

 

And one more thing, a T510 will not accept 1x 8GB, 2x4GB is the max RAM it can handle...


Using Search to find your answers in Lenovo and Moto Community
Reply
Options

1 Posts

05-17-2016

HR

3 Signins

19 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎05-17-2016
  • Location: HR
  • Views: 19
  • Message 7 of 7

Re: thinkpad T510 memory upgrade problem

2016-05-17, 8:28 AM

First of all sorry to resurrect this thread but for someone it might still be usefull. I had the same problem at my company, multiple ThinkPad 510i on Intel i3 370m processor.

 

We tried installing memory (supplied by official Lenovo service in Croatia) with no success even if memory modules where exactly by the specification provided on Lenovo web site and memory modules found in laptop.

 

By trial and error (in colaboration with an friendly computer service willing to test memory) and searching the web I've came to next conclusion: memory density is crucial when working with intel i3/5/7 first generation processors (http://www.techrepublic.com/blog/user-support/ram-upgrades-watch-for-high-and-low-density-requirements/), also there could be memory speed problem, default speed of working RAM was PC-8500 (1066MHz).

 

Memory that worked in the end was "Corsair CM3X4GSD1066 G".

 

Best regards,

Željko

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete