Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad; T61 and prior T series plus Other Legacy ThinkPads
All Forum Topics
Options

114 Posts

02-27-2008

Hudson Valley, NY

979 Signins

3419 Page Views

  • Posts: 114
  • Registered: ‎02-27-2008
  • Location: Hudson Valley, NY
  • Views: 3419
  • Message 1 of 7

Do the current Vista preloads include SP1?

2008-02-29, 17:02 PM
Do the current Vista preloads include SP1?


Message Edited by SouthPaw on 02-29-2008 12:03 PM
Reply
Options

276 Posts

02-04-2008

Canada

536 Signins

14076 Page Views

  • Posts: 276
  • Registered: ‎02-04-2008
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 14076
  • Message 2 of 7

Re: Do the current Vista preloads include SP1?

2008-03-04, 16:37 PM
Good question. Wonder how long it takes from release (of any SP) to the time it makes it into the preload on delivered machines.
Reply
Options

31 Posts

01-23-2008

TX, USA

25 Signins

376 Page Views

  • Posts: 31
  • Registered: ‎01-23-2008
  • Location: TX, USA
  • Views: 376
  • Message 3 of 7

Re: Do the current Vista preloads include SP1?

2008-03-04, 21:02 PM
I receive three week ago my T61p with T9300 platform and it didn't have the SP1. Also I just review the results and evaluations of Vista SP1 and are not good, shows a back in performance in several areas and a little better performance in others. Check
http://reviews.cnet.com/windows/windows-vista-sp1/4505-3672_7-32853289.html. It's better to select your components to patch Windows Vista, and the question is if you really wants best performance, downgrade to XP (it's free because Lenovo send you the restore CDs to do a clear installation and you keep you warranty and avoid problems).
 
As you see, was a blessing haven't receive th SP1 integrated in my laptop. On the other hand, Windows Vista over T9300 really works smooth!!! and no several problems with the operating system, some freezing with explorer but that's all.
For roadwarriors, no options... Only the best!
*W520 Corei7, Win Pro 64 , 16 GB RAM, SSD 128 Gb, 500 Gb 2nd HDD, FHD, 2GB VRAM Nvidia
*T61p 6459CTO T9300 2.5 GHz /Vista Ultimate 32bits, 4 GB KINGSTON RAM, 15.4" WUXGA w/Intel Turbo memory, NVIDIA Quadro FX 256 RAM
160 gb HD, 9 cell battery
*LENOVO T61 7662CTO T7300 2.0 GHz /Vista Ultimate 32bits, 3 GB KINGSTON RAM, 14.1" WXGA w/Intel Turbo memory, NVIDIA Quadro NVS 128 RAM,
160 gb HD, 7 cell battery
*Thinkpad T42 Pentium M 735 1.7 Ghz, 1GB RAM /Win XP SP2,ATI RADEON 7500 32 Mb, 15", WiFi,Bluetooth, 40 Gb HD
Reply
Options

5884 Posts

11-24-2007

United States of America

12810 Signins

291275 Page Views

  • Posts: 5884
  • Registered: ‎11-24-2007
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 291275
  • Message 4 of 7

Re: Do the current Vista preloads include SP1?

2008-03-04, 21:19 PM

wrote:
Also I just review the results and evaluations of Vista SP1 and are not good, shows a back in performance in several areas and a little better performance in others.


vista ultimate x64 SP1 is markedly faster on my T61p and has been rock solid for the last three weeks.   i wouldn't believe everything you read in reviews. ;)

ThinkStation P700      ThinkPad X1C7

Reply
Options

114 Posts

02-27-2008

Hudson Valley, NY

979 Signins

3419 Page Views

  • Posts: 114
  • Registered: ‎02-27-2008
  • Location: Hudson Valley, NY
  • Views: 3419
  • Message 5 of 7

Re: Do the current Vista preloads include SP1?

2008-03-04, 21:55 PM
The T61P I orderd 2/26/08 shipped 2/28/08 and recived 3/3/08 did not have SP1 oh well.
Reply
Options

2029 Posts

12-02-2007

Australia

9435 Signins

247288 Page Views

  • Posts: 2029
  • Registered: ‎12-02-2007
  • Location: Australia
  • Views: 247288
  • Message 6 of 7

Re: Do the current Vista preloads include SP1?

2008-03-04, 23:50 PM


Etoxqui wrote:
 
and evaluations of Vista SP1 and are not good,

"Evaluations", and opinions, vary widely on this.  However, a general consenus is emerging that SP1 is a significant improvement.

Cheers,
 
Bill
------------------------------
I don't work for Lenovo
Reply
Options

7 Posts

03-22-2008

NE PA

12 Signins

194 Page Views

  • Posts: 7
  • Registered: ‎03-22-2008
  • Location: NE PA
  • Views: 194
  • Message 7 of 7

Re: Do the current Vista preloads include SP1?

2008-03-22, 14:35 PM
Hi... new to the forums here. :smileyhappy:

Anyhow, I'm considering purchasing a new T61P Thinkpad soon.

I'm also curious (and waiting) for a confirmation date that Vista with SP1 will be installed on the Thinkpads.
Of course, I'm also waiting to hear that the BOSD - random shutdown error has also been resolved.

Hopefully, someone can confirm the date on the SP1 factory load.

Thanks
Dave T. - Systems Architect
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms