Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad; T61 and prior T series plus Other Legacy ThinkPads
All Forum Topics
Options

4481 Posts

12-02-2007

United States of America

9199 Signins

202483 Page Views

  • Posts: 4481
  • Registered: ‎12-02-2007
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 202483
  • Message 11 of 29

Re: Just Installed XP SP3 - Can't Standby With Errors Now!

2008-05-28, 7:09 AM
Hello,
 
Since the problem seems to be in proximity to the Wireless Zero Configuration service, have you tried downloading a fresh copy of the device drivers for your Wireless LAN Mini-PCIe card and installed them?  If so, did that make any difference?  You may also want to try changing the power management settings for the device and see what effect, if any, that has.
 
Regards,
 
Aryeh Goretsky
 


I am a volunteer and neither a Lenovo nor a Microsoft employee.

L380 YogaP50 (20EN-*)P51sP72 (20MB-*)P43sS230u (3347-4HU)T23 (2648-LU7)T42 (2378-R4U)T43p (2678-H7U)T61p (6459-CTO)W510 (4318-CTO)W530 (2441-4R3)X100e (3508-CTO)X120e (0596-CTO)X220 (4286-CTO)X250 (20CM-*)X1e gen3X1 Yoga gen 5X12 gen1X13 gen1Yoga 370

Communities: English Deutsche Español Português Русскоязычное Česká Slovenská Українська Język Polski Moto English


Need an answer, fast? Try using Browser Search to find it in the Lenovo and Moto Community
Reply
Options

6 Posts

05-16-2008

Provo, Utah

9 Signins

73 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎05-16-2008
  • Location: Provo, Utah
  • Views: 73
  • Message 12 of 29

Re: Just Installed XP SP3 - Can't Standby With Errors Now!

2008-05-28, 15:36 PM
The latest Wireless drivers for the T60p are from the end of last year (2007).  I am using those drivers.  You mention using the power management settings . . . which settings are you referring to specifically?  I don't see anything in my Power Management setting around wireless.
Reply
Options

30 Posts

05-27-2008

Finland

82 Signins

608 Page Views

  • Posts: 30
  • Registered: ‎05-27-2008
  • Location: Finland
  • Views: 608
  • Message 13 of 29

Re: Just Installed XP SP3 - Can't Standby With Errors Now!

2008-05-29, 6:48 AM
Hi,

I had some problems with my other laptop and XP SP3. I installed SP3 on the system as soon as it was available. This time im not that enthusiastic about SP3 and I think I'll let some time pass before I install it to my new T61.

Does anyone know if some ThinkVantage software might override my manual configurations in Windows automatic updates? I remember that I clicked on the option "Notify me but don't automatically download or install them" but after some time my system started to downlaod new updates. Is it just my bad memory or did some software component actually override these settings?
Reply
Options

4 Posts

06-18-2008

Toronto

4 Signins

94 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎06-18-2008
  • Location: Toronto
  • Views: 94
  • Message 14 of 29

Re: Just Installed XP SP3 - Can't Standby With Errors Now!

2008-06-18, 20:12 PM
Just wanted to contribute that I am having the same issues. No viruses, no malware, scanned with 8 or 9 different utilities (and manage what is installed and what is browsed VERY carefully). This is definitely specific to SP3.

One tip I found that may be related is that SP3 will not touch "OEM Files." You can find a list of skipped files in the SP3 installation logfile, svcpack.log. Search for lines like:

69.672: c:\windows\system32\drivers\nv4_mini.sys is in the list of oem drivers...skipping copy!

It is possible to force SP3 to skip these checks and copy all files over using the full downloaded SP3 executable and the /overwriteoem option (/help will give all options, after extracting all files, or view them here: http://techrepublic.com.com/5208-6230-0.html?forumID=102&threadID=262992)

You could also extract SP3 then manually copy over the files that were not updated. I did this on my T41p and resolved another issue.
Reply
Options

4 Posts

06-18-2008

Toronto

4 Signins

94 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎06-18-2008
  • Location: Toronto
  • Views: 94
  • Message 15 of 29

Re: Just Installed XP SP3 - Can't Standby With Errors Now!

2008-06-18, 20:54 PM
Reinstalling SP3 did not fix this problem.

I can confirm it is not a wireless issue, as I am not using my wireless interface in my current setup. I still experience the problem.
Reply
Options

6 Posts

05-16-2008

Provo, Utah

9 Signins

73 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎05-16-2008
  • Location: Provo, Utah
  • Views: 73
  • Message 16 of 29

Re: Just Installed XP SP3 - Can't Standby With Errors Now!

2008-06-18, 23:56 PM
I ended up ditching XP and going with Vista.  Albeit a big beast, SP1 for Vista is actually doing pretty well on my laptop.  No more issues.  I tried Vista when it first came out and really didn't like it, but I can now live with it.
Reply
Options

4 Posts

06-18-2008

Toronto

4 Signins

94 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎06-18-2008
  • Location: Toronto
  • Views: 94
  • Message 17 of 29

Re: Just Installed XP SP3 - Can't Standby With Errors Now!

2008-06-19, 0:02 AM
After 8h of poking around, I have solved the problem!

This fix will work only for Intel-based PRO/Wireless Mini-PCI cards. I initially didn't think it was my wireless drivers because I wasn't actively using the wireless connection when it fails -- this turned out to be a red herring.

It appears that the Intel Pro/Wireless 3945ABG drivers must be at v11.5.0.36 or later. Even if you have downloaded and installed the latest packages from System Update, you may not have the latest version. This was my problem. I had the latest from System Update, but my driver was still back on v11.1.something.or.another.

You can check the version of your drivers by:
  1. Using the Intel® Wireless LAN Identification Utility (downloadable from http://downloadcenter.intel.com/T8Clearance.aspx?url=/8061/eng/INTEL_NETWORK_CONNECTION_ID_TOOL_305.EXE&agr=N&ProductID=1637&DwnldID=8061&lang=eng )
  2. Device Manager > Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection > Properties > Driver tab > under Driver Version.
Intel's website has v11.5.1.15 for the 3945ABG for download, but unfortunately this version is not recognized by Access Connections. Instead you must use the latest drivers from Lenovo, which are v11.5.0.36. As of this writing, you can download this version from http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/document.do?lndocid=MIGR-62875 .

To fix:
  1. Download and run this package. This will extract the drivers to C:\DRIVERS\WIN\WLANINT2\XP\Drivers\x32 .
  2. Device Manager > Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection > Update Driver (right-mouse button)
  3. Select Install from a list or specific location (Advanced), then pick Next.
  4. Select Don't search. I will choose the driver to install, then pick Next.
  5. Click Have Disk, then browse to C:\DRIVERS\WIN\WLANINT2\XP\Drivers\x32 .
  6. Select the Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection adapter and press Next.
  7. Press Finish.
  8. Reboot.
  9. You may also want to take the opportunity to uninstall and reinstall Access Connections. I did, but this was probably not necessary.
I can now suspend/resume and hibernate without svchost.exe crashes.




Message Edited by wohali on 06-18-2008 05:07 PM
Reply
Options

17 Posts

06-21-2008

USA

20 Signins

197 Page Views

  • Posts: 17
  • Registered: ‎06-21-2008
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 197
  • Message 18 of 29

Re: Just Installed XP SP3 - Can't Standby With Errors Now!

2008-06-21, 11:58 AM
regrets - updating wireless to 11.5 does not seem to be sufficient, at least on my machine. any other suggestions would be appreciated



Reply
Options

17 Posts

06-21-2008

USA

20 Signins

197 Page Views

  • Posts: 17
  • Registered: ‎06-21-2008
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 197
  • Message 19 of 29

Re: Just Installed XP SP3 - Can't Standby With Errors Now!

2008-07-10, 3:19 AM

solved!

 

SP3 incompatible with nortel networks VPN drivers - remove and be rewarded!

 

 

Reply
Options

2 Posts

05-20-2008

Spain

4 Signins

13 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎05-20-2008
  • Location: Spain
  • Views: 13
  • Message 20 of 29

Re: Just Installed XP SP3 - Can't Standby With Errors Now!

2008-07-10, 14:15 PM

Thanks a bunch!

 

I can confirm it, as I had VPN installed; then I had to recover the system (VPN not installed anymore) and everything went OK!!

 

Regards. 

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms