English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad; T61 and prior T series plus Other Legacy ThinkPads
All Forum Topics
Options

56 Posts

07-26-2011

US

105 Signins

525 Page Views

  • Posts: 56
  • Registered: ‎07-26-2011
  • Location: US
  • Views: 525
  • Message 1 of 12

Max RAM

2011-11-16, 6:02 AM

I've been seeing a lot of activity in stretching the maximum RAM in the T61's.  It looks like there are a lot of T61's sporting

8gb of GSkill RAM.  I know there's a significant improvement in going from 2gb to 4gb but how much practical value would

I realize with the 8.  I only gave $150 for the computer so I figure I have a little room to expand.  I have a T61, 7663 CV5 with a 2.2ghz T7500 Core 2 Duo with a 100gb 7200rpm hard drive.

T400,, 2.53ghz T9500,8gb ram Windows 7 Home Premium
T61,15.4 T7300, 2gb RAM, Windows 7 Home Premium
14.1 T23, type 2647 9LU, 1.13 PIII, 1gb, XP Pro
Reply
Options

2226 Posts

01-02-2011

US

8339 Signins

51747 Page Views

  • Posts: 2226
  • Registered: ‎01-02-2011
  • Location: US
  • Views: 51747
  • Message 2 of 12

Re: Max RAM

2011-11-16, 6:26 AM

Most users won't see a big benefit going from 4GB to 8GB, but if you like to run multiple memory hungry apps and games while browsing a couple dozen web pages, then you'll enjoy the 8GB very much...   as I do, but 4 is usually more then enough.

 

What I'd be more concerned about is your nVidia graphics processor. If your build date is before august 2008, date code 08/08 (yy/mm), then you should take some precautions by cleaning your cooling system and applying some good thermal paste.

ThinkPad W-510 i7-820QM(1.73-3.06GHz) Quad Core... ThinkPad T500, T9900, 8gb SSD...FrankNpad T-60p/61p (X9000 2.8ghz) 8gb SSD ips FlexView...ThinkPad T-61p (T9300 2.5ghz) 8gb ram...Thinkpad X-61 Tablet 8gb ram.
Reply
Options

56 Posts

07-26-2011

US

105 Signins

525 Page Views

  • Posts: 56
  • Registered: ‎07-26-2011
  • Location: US
  • Views: 525
  • Message 3 of 12

Re: Max RAM

2011-11-16, 6:51 AM

Thanks!  I've been reading about the nVidia problem.  My build date is 08/04.  So far, so good.  I know it  gets warm, the case is cracked where the heatsink over expanded the night I reset the battery.  It's running remarkably well, but I don't want to push it too much but it's till on about 18hrs a day.  Think if I actually put the 8gigs in, it'll be in the the "big" one.  I have also have a 15.4 inch one that's just a little too heavy to really be a "laptop" all the time.  It's tho the garden variety Intel graphics and seems to be built like a Tiger tank. 

T400,, 2.53ghz T9500,8gb ram Windows 7 Home Premium
T61,15.4 T7300, 2gb RAM, Windows 7 Home Premium
14.1 T23, type 2647 9LU, 1.13 PIII, 1gb, XP Pro
Reply
Options

220 Posts

11-02-2011

boston

143 Signins

1038 Page Views

  • Posts: 220
  • Registered: ‎11-02-2011
  • Location: boston
  • Views: 1038
  • Message 4 of 12

Re: Max RAM

2011-11-16, 8:04 AM
zero benfit most of all in a laptop.
wndows only need around 3 -3.5
beyond that it wont do a thing.

now i know some will say cad blah blah but who runs cad on a t60 huh.
even on a new model 4 is all you ever need unless you folding protein or something.
save your money and the plannet.
windows can oly use so much after that it a total wash.
i know x64 surports gig something but windows and your pc wont use beyound what is called for and that is under 4.

i know some want to remove the page file or force it or demand it use more but you work with the code that is given and laws of newton.
beyound that is farscape.

so much is printed on this subject but people refuse to belive it and what worse is pc makers sell 8gb pc knowing full well it a sales pitch and they just poluting the plannet.
we need to think of our carbon footprint here we leave behind.
ram is very toxic stuff.
Reply
Options

1944 Posts

05-17-2008

USA

4725 Signins

59404 Page Views

  • Posts: 1944
  • Registered: ‎05-17-2008
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 59404
  • Message 5 of 12

Re: Max RAM

2011-11-16, 8:51 AM

microsoft says this so I take that to mean 7 ult. x64 can use up to 192 GB  even though we know no pc can do that yet win.x64 is not limited to 4 GB  x64 processor architectures can access more than 4 GB of physical memory

Physical Memory Limits: Windows 7

The following table specifies the limits on physical memory for Windows 7.

VersionLimit on X86Limit on X64
Windows 7 Ultimate

4 GB

192 GB

Windows 7 Enterprise

4 GB

192 GB

Windows 7 Professional

4 GB

192 GB

Windows 7 Home Premium

4 GB

16 GB

Windows 7 Home Basic

4 GB

8 GB

Windows 7 Starter

2 GB

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/desktop/aa366778(v=vs.85).aspx#physical_memory_limits_windows_7




_______________________________
Thinkpad R61 7733-1GU
Thinkpad X61T 7762-54U
Thinkpad X60T 6363-4GU
_______________________________

Did a member help you today? Thank them with a Kudo!

If a post answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!

Regards,
GMAC
Reply
Options

2226 Posts

01-02-2011

US

8339 Signins

51747 Page Views

  • Posts: 2226
  • Registered: ‎01-02-2011
  • Location: US
  • Views: 51747
  • Message 6 of 12

Re: Max RAM

2011-11-16, 13:04 PM

wrote:

 it's  on about 18hrs a day. 


Actually if you use it that much, you'd be better leaving it run 24 hours, as long as the cooling system is working well, and power is constant. The shutting down and restarting will do a lot more harm then the extra 4hrs running.

 

ps. I agree, the Intel systems are very reliable, although somewhat lacking in performance.

ThinkPad W-510 i7-820QM(1.73-3.06GHz) Quad Core... ThinkPad T500, T9900, 8gb SSD...FrankNpad T-60p/61p (X9000 2.8ghz) 8gb SSD ips FlexView...ThinkPad T-61p (T9300 2.5ghz) 8gb ram...Thinkpad X-61 Tablet 8gb ram.
Reply
Options

56 Posts

07-26-2011

US

105 Signins

525 Page Views

  • Posts: 56
  • Registered: ‎07-26-2011
  • Location: US
  • Views: 525
  • Message 7 of 12

Re: Max RAM

2011-11-16, 14:36 PM

I agree, it just doesn't have the sharpness that this one has.  I guess I may have mis-stated it running all that time.  It does spend about a fourth of that time with the lid closed on standby, which I know is much easier on the machine than actually being shut off.  I DO need to clean the heat-sink!  Guess I'll just enjoy it while it lasts and try to stretch that as much as possible.

T400,, 2.53ghz T9500,8gb ram Windows 7 Home Premium
T61,15.4 T7300, 2gb RAM, Windows 7 Home Premium
14.1 T23, type 2647 9LU, 1.13 PIII, 1gb, XP Pro
Reply
Options

137 Posts

12-08-2010

Bergen, Norway

275 Signins

1084 Page Views

  • Posts: 137
  • Registered: ‎12-08-2010
  • Location: Bergen, Norway
  • Views: 1084
  • Message 8 of 12

Re: Max RAM

2011-11-16, 15:00 PM

wrote:
zero benfit most of all in a laptop.
wndows only need around 3 -3.5
beyond that it wont do a thing.

I usually keep a civil tongue while discussing stuff online (yes, I know, rare character flaw), but this BS was just too stupid not to comment.

 

"It won't do a thing", huh? I guess that depends a bit on what exactly you're doing with said computer.

 


wrote:
now i know some will say cad blah blah but who runs cad on a t60 huh.
even on a new model 4 is all you ever need unless you folding protein or something.
save your money and the plannet.
windows can oly use so much after that it a total wash.
i know x64 surports gig something but windows and your pc wont use beyound what is called for and that is under 4.

i know some want to remove the page file or force it or demand it use more but you work with the code that is given and laws of newton.
beyound that is farscape.

so much is printed on this subject but people refuse to belive it and what worse is pc makers sell 8gb pc knowing full well it a sales pitch and they just poluting the plannet.
we need to think of our carbon footprint here we leave behind.
ram is very toxic stuff.


Right. First of all, this was a T61, not a T60. The T60 only supports 3GB max anyway (due to a limit on the chipset), so is completely irrelevant to this discussion. However, the T61 does support up to 8GB, and it can definitely be put to good use. Unless you have an SSD installed, adding 8GB and getting rid of the page-file will boost performance, as the computer doesn't have to deal with accessing the harddrive all the time.

 

However - YMMV. All depending on what you use your computer for. Any heavy applications, like anything from Adobe, combined with browsing multiple tabs and using other software as well, at the same time, you'll quickly appreciate having more RAM. Personally, I'm running a T61 with only 4GB of RAM atm, with an SSD as my main drive, and while it's quite fast, I can easily gobble up the 4GB of RAM if I'm using the computer actively. 100 tabs in a browser eats up between 500MB-1GB of RAM, Adobe Photoshop eats up another GB, processes under Windows grabs 500 MB - 1GB more, and running network-apps, for surveillance etc. quickly gobbles up another GB - which leaves me to use the pagefile, which on an SSD isn't all that much slower, and doesn't really hit performance, but yeah, I wouldn't mind having 4GB more in the box.

 

The usage of the computer is the main concern here - that you don't use it for anything demanding doesn't mean nobody does. And the "carbon footprint", "save the environment"-crap is completely BS for one, and completely irrelevant for second.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
IT-technician, running my own company in Bergen, Norway
Thinkpad T61, 8895CTO C2D 2Ghz/4GB/120GB SSD/1400x1050
Reply
Options

8195 Posts

01-13-2008

US

77226 Signins

2188309 Page Views

  • Posts: 8195
  • Registered: ‎01-13-2008
  • Location: US
  • Views: 2188309
  • Message 9 of 12

Re: Max RAM

2011-11-16, 15:13 PM

Yep, 4G is plenty for "normal" use, but 8 is great when I have multiple VMs up on the T400.

 

@OP, have a look at your RAM usage with you typical - or max - app load.  CPU meter is a nice permanent gadget if you are running Win 7, or just use task manager performance if an older OS.  That should give you a better idea whether more RAM would be beneficial.

 

[edit] Stay away from Corsair RAM.  It may be wonderful stuff in other applications, but it and ThinkPads don't get along.  I prefer Crucial.  YMMV.

 

Yike, I thought RAM was cheap now.  Not for that machine.  8G of ddr2 is ~$150 at NewEgg.  8G of ddr3 is $45!  Might be cheaper to find another laptop...

 

Z.


The large print: please read the Community Participation Rules before posting. Include as much information as possible: model, machine type, operating system, and a descriptive subject line. Do not include personal information: serial number, telephone number, email address, etc.


The fine print: I do not work for, nor do I speak for Lenovo. Unsolicited private messages will be ignored - questions and answers belong in the forum so that others may contribute and benefit. ... GeezBlog

 

Communities: English Deutsch Español Português Русскоязычное Česká Slovenská Українська Polski Türkçe Moto English

Reply
Options

3747 Posts

12-02-2007

US

9017 Signins

187673 Page Views

  • Posts: 3747
  • Registered: ‎12-02-2007
  • Location: US
  • Views: 187673
  • Message 10 of 12

Re: Max RAM

2011-11-18, 3:57 AM

Hello,


Like for me the biggest benefit of installing 8GB of RAM into my T61p (which, by the way, is not officially supported by Lenovo) is that it allowed me to run more virtual machines simultaneously, or I could run virtual machines with larger amounts of RAM allocated to each session. 

 

If you are in a situation where you are testing a piece of software and trying to verify it's behavior is identical under each support OS version, having those capabilities really speeds up your work, especially if you have to have a bunch of applications open in the operating system hosting all the virtual machines (email client, word processor, screen capture utility, web browsers and so forth).

 

Regards,

 

Aryeh Goretsky

 



I am a volunteer and neither a Lenovo nor a Microsoft employee.

L380 YogaP72 (20MB-*)P50 (20EN-*)S230u (3347-4HU)T23 (2648-LU7)T42 (2378-R4U)T43p (2678-H7U)T61p (6459-CTO)W510 (4318-CTO)W530 (2441-4R3)W530 (2441-4R3)X100e (3508-CTO)X120e (0596-CTO)X220 (4286-CTO)X250 (20CM-*)Yoga 370

  Communities:   English    Deutsche    Español    Português    Русскоязычное    Česká    Slovenská    Українська   Język Polski    Moto English


Need an answer, fast? Try using Browser Search to find it in the Lenovo and Moto Community
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete