Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad; T61 and prior T series plus Other Legacy ThinkPads
All Forum Topics
Options

15 Posts

01-24-2010

USA

32 Signins

385 Page Views

  • Posts: 15
  • Registered: ‎01-24-2010
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 385
  • Message 1 of 10

SATA Caddy for T60 ???

2015-10-30, 11:11 AM

Easy question for you guys. I want to replace the original HD in my T60 with a larger SATA HD. Can I use the old HD carrier, or do I have to get one that's specifically designed for a SATA HD?

 

Thanks very much in advance for the info.

Reply
Answer
Options

4004 Posts

12-22-2008

Canada

12681 Signins

183781 Page Views

  • Posts: 4004
  • Registered: ‎12-22-2008
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 183781

Re: SATA Caddy for T60 ???

2015-10-30, 11:23 AM

The same carrier will work just fine.

 

 

Reply

Replies(9)
Answer
Options

4004 Posts

12-22-2008

Canada

12681 Signins

183781 Page Views

  • Posts: 4004
  • Registered: ‎12-22-2008
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 183781
  • Message 2 of 10

Re: SATA Caddy for T60 ???

2015-10-30, 11:23 AM

The same carrier will work just fine.

 

 


Using Search to find your answers in Lenovo and Moto Community

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

15 Posts

01-24-2010

USA

32 Signins

385 Page Views

  • Posts: 15
  • Registered: ‎01-24-2010
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 385
  • Message 3 of 10

Re: SATA Caddy for T60 ???

2015-10-30, 11:45 AM

Thanks for the quick reply, hausman

Reply
Options

15 Posts

01-24-2010

USA

32 Signins

385 Page Views

  • Posts: 15
  • Registered: ‎01-24-2010
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 385
  • Message 4 of 10

Re: SATA Caddy for T60 ???

2015-10-30, 11:52 AM

Uhh, while I have your attention, maybe you could answer a related question for me. I have Acronis True Image on my HD. If I put the SATA drive in my computer, and I attach the old drive to the computer with a USB cable, can I boot from the old drive, clone it on to the SATA, and then use the SATA ?

 

 

Reply
Options

4004 Posts

12-22-2008

Canada

12681 Signins

183781 Page Views

  • Posts: 4004
  • Registered: ‎12-22-2008
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 183781
  • Message 5 of 10

Re: SATA Caddy for T60 ???

2015-10-30, 13:08 PM

> I have Acronis True Image on my HD.

> If I put the SATA drive in my computer, and I attach the old drive to the computer with a USB cable,

> can I boot from the old drive, clone it on to the SATA, and then use the SATA ?

 

Yes. That's the recommended technique. Put the new drive in the T60. Boot from the old one via USB. Clone the old drive to the new one. Reboot from the new drive.


Using Search to find your answers in Lenovo and Moto Community
Reply
Options

15 Posts

01-24-2010

USA

32 Signins

385 Page Views

  • Posts: 15
  • Registered: ‎01-24-2010
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 385
  • Message 6 of 10

Re: SATA Caddy for T60 ???

2015-10-30, 13:14 PM
Beautiful :-) Thanks again, Dorian.
Reply
Options

2253 Posts

01-02-2011

United States of America

8345 Signins

51772 Page Views

  • Posts: 2253
  • Registered: ‎01-02-2011
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 51772
  • Message 7 of 10

Re: SATA Caddy for T60 ???

2015-11-26, 14:30 PM

please note that the factory drive caddy will only work if you have a 2.5" SSD, if it's a 1.8" drive you'll need an adapter which lenoo makes as well as aftermarket products. Also I've used a optical boot disc when I clone drives, with the target drive installed in the primary drive bay. I'm sure it will work as you suggested if the software is smart enough, but I prefer not to clone an OS while it's in use. Also make sure your cloning software knows how to convert your disc image to SSD because the partitions are aligned differently. If there isnt' a specfic option to clone from hdd to ssd, then inquire before you begin and also make sure your os is optimized for SSD afterwards, no defrag enabled, no prefetch, caching, etc.

 

ps. my purpose was to add to the good advice you already received, not to disagree with it.

ThinkPad W-510 i7-820QM(1.73-3.06GHz) Quad Core... ThinkPad T500, T9900, 8gb SSD...FrankNpad T-60p/61p (X9000 2.8ghz) 8gb SSD ips FlexView...ThinkPad T-61p (T9300 2.5ghz) 8gb ram...Thinkpad X-61 Tablet 8gb ram.
Reply
Options

15 Posts

01-24-2010

USA

32 Signins

385 Page Views

  • Posts: 15
  • Registered: ‎01-24-2010
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 385
  • Message 8 of 10

Re: SATA Caddy for T60 ???

2015-11-26, 14:50 PM

wrote:

I'm sure it will work as you suggested if the software is smart enough, but I prefer not to clone an OS while it's in use. Also make sure your cloning software knows how to convert your disc image to SSD because the partitions are aligned differently. If there isnt' a specfic option to clone from hdd to ssd, then inquire before you begin and also make sure your os is optimized for SSD afterwards, no defrag enabled, no prefetch, caching, etc.

 

ps. my purpose was to add to the good advice you already received, not to disagree with it.


Thanks very much for adding this info, TuuS, as I haven't cloned my drive yet. In fact after I posted my question, I bought an Apricorn Notebook Drive Upgrade Kit with a USB to SATA cable, and "EZ gig Cloning." software. According to Apricorn's description of this software, it will do everything needed to clone a drive to a SATA drive. But now I'm not sure that it will do everything that you said should be done. Do you happen to know if the process is going to be as simple and reliable as Apricorn suggests? 

Reply
Options

4004 Posts

12-22-2008

Canada

12681 Signins

183781 Page Views

  • Posts: 4004
  • Registered: ‎12-22-2008
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 183781
  • Message 9 of 10

Re: SATA Caddy for T60 ???

2015-11-26, 15:53 PM

wrote:

Also make sure your cloning software knows how to convert your disc image to SSD because the partitions are aligned differently. If there isnt' a specfic option to clone from hdd to ssd, then inquire before you begin and also make sure your os is optimized for SSD afterwards, no defrag enabled, no prefetch, caching, etc.


Great advice for older editions of software. However my understanding is that Windows 7 and subsequent versions have specific support for SSDs and should automatically optimize for them. Current versions of Acronis should also be SSD-aware.


Using Search to find your answers in Lenovo and Moto Community
Reply
Options

2253 Posts

01-02-2011

United States of America

8345 Signins

51772 Page Views

  • Posts: 2253
  • Registered: ‎01-02-2011
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 51772
  • Message 10 of 10

Re: SATA Caddy for T60 ???

2015-11-28, 4:43 AM

wrote:

wrote:

Also make sure your cloning software knows how to convert your disc image to SSD because the partitions are aligned differently. If there isnt' a specfic option to clone from hdd to ssd, then inquire before you begin and also make sure your os is optimized for SSD afterwards, no defrag enabled, no prefetch, caching, etc.


Great advice for older editions of software. However my understanding is that Windows 7 and subsequent versions have specific support for SSDs and should automatically optimize for them. Current versions of Acronis should also be SSD-aware.


Windows vista and above will properly setup an SSD if installed on one, but many cloning programs simply copy the harddrive partition byte for byte to the new one. The ones I use are on boot discs and are OS independent, so you need one that understands that you are adapting the data on a HDD onto an SSD. I prefer to do a fresh install to be certain, but I do know some cloning software can do HDD to SSD, but I like to use techiques I have experience with and only change if there is a signficant advantage to change. That's my preferrence.

ThinkPad W-510 i7-820QM(1.73-3.06GHz) Quad Core... ThinkPad T500, T9900, 8gb SSD...FrankNpad T-60p/61p (X9000 2.8ghz) 8gb SSD ips FlexView...ThinkPad T-61p (T9300 2.5ghz) 8gb ram...Thinkpad X-61 Tablet 8gb ram.
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms