English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad; T61 and prior T series plus Other Legacy ThinkPads
All Forum Topics
Options

10 Posts

06-23-2008

USA

21 Signins

208 Page Views

  • Posts: 10
  • Registered: ‎06-23-2008
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 208
  • Message 1 of 11

Sorry, Another stupid memory question...5300 vs 6400

2008-06-26, 14:42 PM
Based on the Lenovo web site, 200-pin SODIMM, DDR2 PC2-5300  is supposed to be the correct memory for my machine.
But,
What I'd like to know is if I can use 200-pin SODIMM, DDR2 PC2-6400 memory module and benefit from faster memory?

And, is the Lenovo saying that 5300 correct because that is all they offer or is it really not good for me to use 6400?

Again thanks.

I'm so lovin my T61 widescreen!


Solved! See the solution
Reply
Options

6 Posts

06-26-2008

Dallas, TX, USA

47 Signins

268 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎06-26-2008
  • Location: Dallas, TX, USA
  • Views: 268
  • Message 2 of 11

Re: Sorry, Another stupid memory question...5300 vs 6400

2008-06-26, 18:32 PM
As far as I know, you can use 6400 RAM (DDRII 800), but the computer will use it as 5300 (DDRII 667).
The frequency will be reduced to 667, and the computer does not run faster. Unless you do overclocking.
Reply
Options

267 Posts

02-04-2008

Canada

536 Signins

14076 Page Views

  • Posts: 267
  • Registered: ‎02-04-2008
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 14076
  • Message 3 of 11

Re: Sorry, Another stupid memory question...5300 vs 6400

2008-06-26, 20:14 PM
Correct!

The memory bus speed on T6x and X6x systems is only 667MHz (PC2-5300), so you gain nothing by inserting faster-rated RAM (800MHz PC2-6400) in those systems even though the system will accept that type of RAM.... The 6400 RAM will only work at a reduced 667MHz speed.


0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

10 Posts

06-23-2008

USA

21 Signins

208 Page Views

  • Posts: 10
  • Registered: ‎06-23-2008
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 208
  • Message 4 of 11

Re: Sorry, Another stupid memory question...5300 vs 6400

2008-06-26, 21:18 PM
Thanks so much!!!
Reply
Options

9351 Posts

11-27-2007

SK

15518 Signins

2040239 Page Views

  • Posts: 9351
  • Registered: ‎11-27-2007
  • Location: SK
  • Views: 2040239
  • Message 5 of 11

Re: Sorry, Another stupid memory question...5300 vs 6400

2008-06-26, 21:19 PM

Andy  

______________________________________


Please remember to come back and mark the post that you feel solved your question as the solution, it earns the member + points

Did you find a post helpfull? You can thank the member by clicking on the star to the left awarding them Kudos

Please add your type, model number and OS to your signature, it helps to help you.

Forum Search Option T430 2347-G7U W8 x64, Yoga 10 HD+, Tablet 1838-2BG, T61p 6460-67G W7 x64, T43p 2668-G2G XP, T23 2647-9LG XP, plus a few more.

FYI Unsolicited Personal Messages will be ignored.

de.gif  Deutsche Community   es.gif  Comunidad en Español  uk.gif  English Community ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество

PepperonI blog 

Reply
Options

7 Posts

09-27-2008

austria

14 Signins

149 Page Views

  • Posts: 7
  • Registered: ‎09-27-2008
  • Location: austria
  • Views: 149
  • Message 6 of 11

Re: Sorry, Another stupid memory question...5300 vs 6400

2008-10-24, 7:27 AM

thats strange

im running a t61p with 2GB(original) of DDR2-5300 RAM so is should be 66MHz FSB or?

systemmanager and CPU-Z tool show a rated FSB of 800MHz!!

 

my CPU is a T7700 

the T61 maintainance manual from IBM/Lenovo shows that DDR2-5300 should be used

so whats going on? 

  is LENOVO overclocking ?

  are the tools displaying the FSB wrong

i'd like  to ugrade to 3 or 4GB so what do i buy? DDR2-5300(667) oder DDR2-6400(800)

 

regards

Martin

 

Reply
Options

3258 Posts

02-17-2008

Australia

1962 Signins

50408 Page Views

  • Posts: 3258
  • Registered: ‎02-17-2008
  • Location: Australia
  • Views: 50408
  • Message 7 of 11

Re: Sorry, Another stupid memory question...5300 vs 6400

2008-10-24, 8:15 AM
The FSB maybe 800 mhz, but the RAM speed is restricted to 667 mhz max. 
Reply
Options

7 Posts

09-27-2008

austria

14 Signins

149 Page Views

  • Posts: 7
  • Registered: ‎09-27-2008
  • Location: austria
  • Views: 149
  • Message 8 of 11

Re: Sorry, Another stupid memory question...5300 vs 6400

2008-10-24, 10:17 AM

so it would be better(and in the end faster) to get DDR2-6400 although the manual says DDR2-5300?

regards

Reply
Options

3258 Posts

02-17-2008

Australia

1962 Signins

50408 Page Views

  • Posts: 3258
  • Registered: ‎02-17-2008
  • Location: Australia
  • Views: 50408
  • Message 9 of 11

Re: Sorry, Another stupid memory question...5300 vs 6400

2008-10-24, 10:23 AM

you won't be able to get the speed boost and it would as much as 1.5 times more for the same amount of ram, also all the new Thinkpads use DDR 3, so it is a redundant investment. 

 

In my opinion it is not worth it, but in the end it is up to you.  

Reply
Options

7 Posts

09-27-2008

austria

14 Signins

149 Page Views

  • Posts: 7
  • Registered: ‎09-27-2008
  • Location: austria
  • Views: 149
  • Message 10 of 11

Re: Sorry, Another stupid memory question...5300 vs 6400

2008-10-24, 10:30 AM

ok, so i stay with ddr2-5300

thanks!

 Martin

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete