Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad; T61 and prior T series plus Other Legacy ThinkPads
All Forum Topics
Options

4 Posts

02-25-2009

unitedstates

4 Signins

58 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎02-25-2009
  • Location: unitedstates
  • Views: 58
  • Message 1 of 4

T40p hotkeys not working

2009-02-25, 2:49 AM

I have a thinkpad T40p which was corrupted by a virus so I had to

install a new hard drive and then reinstall Windows XP PRO SP3 and once I

got almost everything working I found that my hotkeys for putting it to sleep

or even hibernate were no longer available. Even in the Power options

hibernate is not a option. Any one have any ideas on how to fix this system.

Reply
Options

280 Posts

11-11-2008

Canada

629 Signins

35617 Page Views

  • Posts: 280
  • Registered: ‎11-11-2008
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 35617
  • Message 2 of 4

Re: T40p hotkeys not working

2009-02-25, 3:11 AM

Welcome to the forum,

 

You will find here all the latest drivers for your T40p. Be sure to install what is related to the following things: Power management, video and hotkeys

 

Thank you!

__________________________________________
John B @ forum.notebookreview.com
Reply
Options

27 Posts

02-09-2009

Malaysia

89 Signins

841 Page Views

  • Posts: 27
  • Registered: ‎02-09-2009
  • Location: Malaysia
  • Views: 841
  • Message 3 of 4

Re: T40p hotkeys not working

2009-02-25, 4:07 AM

Hotkey driver for Windows 98/Me/NT 4.0/2000/XP - ThinkPad 

http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/document.do?sitestyle=lenovo&lndocid=MIGR-38953
   
This package provides ACPI power management support (F12 keys) for ThinkPad systems

http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/document.do?lndocid=MIGR-4gxpeg
 

 

Hope it will help you 

Reply
Options

4 Posts

02-25-2009

unitedstates

4 Signins

58 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎02-25-2009
  • Location: unitedstates
  • Views: 58
  • Message 4 of 4

Re: T40p hotkeys not working

2009-02-26, 23:37 PM

Thanks for the link to downloads. I got almost every thing working using the Thinkpadadvantage update tool but it

updated my BIOS and now whenever I shut the pc down and then restart it always want to go into the system setup

screen and wants a  Supervisor password - some thing I have never had and I am the only person who has ever owned

or used this IBM T40p laptop. I figured out that I can get passed the Setup screen by pressing ESC enough times

but it is a useless screen to have to go through

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms