Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad; T61 and prior T series plus Other Legacy ThinkPads
All Forum Topics
Options

899 Posts

06-13-2008

Sweden

1298 Signins

8435 Page Views

  • Posts: 899
  • Registered: ‎06-13-2008
  • Location: Sweden
  • Views: 8435
  • Message 1 of 6

T60 32/64 bit

2016-09-01, 17:07 PM

How deteremine if a T60 is 32 or 64 bit when you don't have any operating system installed?

Reply
Answer
Options

899 Posts

06-13-2008

Sweden

1298 Signins

8435 Page Views

  • Posts: 899
  • Registered: ‎06-13-2008
  • Location: Sweden
  • Views: 8435

Re: T60 32/64 bit

2017-07-30, 19:09 PM

ok, so you mean I can see in the BIOS which CPU version the T60 has?

Reply

Replies(5)
Options

4489 Posts

07-24-2013

Switzerland

13297 Signins

379633 Page Views

  • Posts: 4489
  • Registered: ‎07-24-2013
  • Location: Switzerland
  • Views: 379633
  • Message 2 of 6

Re: T60 32/64 bit

2016-09-02, 7:45 AM

I was of the opinion most of them were 64bits capable. However, the chipset limits the RAM to 3GB only, which defeats somehow the point of using 64bit OS's.

 

-


Using Search to find your answers in Lenovo and Moto Community
Reply
Options

12578 Posts

01-02-2010

United States of America

40686 Signins

429874 Page Views

  • Posts: 12578
  • Registered: ‎01-02-2010
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 429874
  • Message 3 of 6

Re: T60 32/64 bit

2016-09-11, 1:35 AM

It depends on CPU.  Core Duo CPUs (T1xxx, T2xxx) are 32-bit.  Core3Duo CPUs (T5xxx and above) are 64-bit.


Rich


I do not respond to requests for private, one-on-one help. Your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where they may help others as well.

If a response answers your question, please mark it as the accepted solution.

I am not an employee or agent of Lenovo.
Reply
Options

2253 Posts

01-02-2011

United States of America

8347 Signins

51782 Page Views

  • Posts: 2253
  • Registered: ‎01-02-2011
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 51782
  • Message 4 of 6

Re: T60 32/64 bit

2016-09-23, 16:09 PM

wrote:

It depends on CPU.  Core Duo CPUs (T1xxx, T2xxx) are 32-bit.  Core3Duo CPUs (T5xxx and above) are 64-bit.


Richk is correct, except for a small typo, should be Core2 Duo, and you can upgrade from a core duo as long as you have a recent bios installed and you use a cpu compatible with T60. Afew numbers from top down are T7600, T7400, T7200, T5600, T5500 

 

The first three are the better chips as they have 4mb of cache.  The other member was also correct, since you will still be limited to 3gb of ram, there is little benefit in upgrading to a 64bit OS. You can install 4gb, but only 3 will be usable. 

 

The best option would be to upgrade to a T61 motherboard which requires some modification, but the benefits are huge, faster cpu chips, better graphic options, upto 8gb of ram, twice the harddrive transfer speed, and more.

ThinkPad W-510 i7-820QM(1.73-3.06GHz) Quad Core... ThinkPad T500, T9900, 8gb SSD...FrankNpad T-60p/61p (X9000 2.8ghz) 8gb SSD ips FlexView...ThinkPad T-61p (T9300 2.5ghz) 8gb ram...Thinkpad X-61 Tablet 8gb ram.
Reply
Answer
Options

899 Posts

06-13-2008

Sweden

1298 Signins

8435 Page Views

  • Posts: 899
  • Registered: ‎06-13-2008
  • Location: Sweden
  • Views: 8435
  • Message 5 of 6

Re: T60 32/64 bit

2017-07-30, 19:09 PM

ok, so you mean I can see in the BIOS which CPU version the T60 has?

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

2253 Posts

01-02-2011

United States of America

8347 Signins

51782 Page Views

  • Posts: 2253
  • Registered: ‎01-02-2011
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 51782
  • Message 6 of 6

Re: T60 32/64 bit

2017-07-30, 19:38 PM

wrote:

ok, so you mean I can see in the BIOS which CPU version the T60 has? If your cpu model is T2xxx, then it is 32 bit, the 64 bit chips are T5xxx and T7xxx, with latter being better chips.


press F1 key during boot and the bios screen will tell you which cpu you have. 

 

Also if you want to upgrade your cpu, or upgrade your T60 to T61, I can help as I have all the required parts you'd need, and this would increase your max ram from 3gb to 8gb, double the harddrive transfer speed, increase max cpu options, and better cpu options.

ThinkPad W-510 i7-820QM(1.73-3.06GHz) Quad Core... ThinkPad T500, T9900, 8gb SSD...FrankNpad T-60p/61p (X9000 2.8ghz) 8gb SSD ips FlexView...ThinkPad T-61p (T9300 2.5ghz) 8gb ram...Thinkpad X-61 Tablet 8gb ram.
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms