English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad; T61 and prior T series plus Other Legacy ThinkPads
All Forum Topics
Options

2 Posts

05-30-2008

IN

2 Signins

23 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎05-30-2008
  • Location: IN
  • Views: 23
  • Message 1 of 7

T60 No Sound from TV

2008-05-30, 16:25 PM
Hello everyone,

This is my first post. I recently hooked my t60 up to my sharp aquos TV so i could watch movies. Anyway i connected them with a male to male VGA cable and an audio cable connected from the headphone jack to the TV. Now I cannot hear anything. The sound works through my usb headset. Any ideas?

Thanks
Reply
Options

2 Posts

06-25-2008

CA, USA

3 Signins

35 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎06-25-2008
  • Location: CA, USA
  • Views: 35
  • Message 2 of 7

No audio when connecting T60 to TV

2008-06-25, 4:38 AM
Since T60 doens't have a S-video out, i used my T60 docking station, which has a DVI port. I then used a DVI to HDMI adapter/concerter to connect to my HDMI panasonic (50PZ80U) plasma. I get the video displayed correctly on my TV but no audio (even after i connect the audo cable from my laptop to TV - audio cable which has 1 jack on one side and 2 jacks for TV on another). Can someone help how i can get the audio from my T60 to my plasma?
Reply
Options

2 Posts

06-25-2008

CA, USA

3 Signins

35 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎06-25-2008
  • Location: CA, USA
  • Views: 35
  • Message 3 of 7

Re: T60 No Sound from TV

2008-06-25, 4:45 AM
I connected my T60 to my panasonic plasma TV using a DVI to HDMi converter (using my T60 docking station). I also dont get an audio out on my TV (even after using my audio cable)
Reply
Options

3290 Posts

02-17-2008

Australia

1962 Signins

50408 Page Views

  • Posts: 3290
  • Registered: ‎02-17-2008
  • Location: Australia
  • Views: 50408
  • Message 4 of 7

Re: No audio when connecting T60 to TV

2008-06-25, 4:54 AM
HDMI suppose to carry audio along with Video, and your separate audio you connect to the TV is on another input channel i think, you probably can hear the sound input if you switch to other input selection in your tv, but obviously there would be no video. You can mitigate this problem by just using a set of external speakers.
Reply
Options

26 Posts

05-28-2008

raleigh, nc

73 Signins

878 Page Views

  • Posts: 26
  • Registered: ‎05-28-2008
  • Location: raleigh, nc
  • Views: 878
  • Message 5 of 7

Re: No audio when connecting T60 to TV

2008-06-25, 17:14 PM
VGA nor DVI carry sound. If you ran the audio into your TV, it is on a different channel than what the DVI-HDMI cord is plugged into. You would either have to run a cord from the audio output on the TV to a set of external speakers or surround sound. Or just run the audio directly from the computer to external speakers(easier). Only thing I could think of is to get an adapter that turns the DVI/VGA into the red, blue, and green component cables, and then you could run the video/audio to the same channel on the TV using the RGB and then audio RCAs.
 
 
 
hope this helps


Message Edited by klenard on 06-26-2008 06:44 AM
Reply
Options

1 Posts

08-04-2008

CALIFORNIA, USA

2 Signins

6 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎08-04-2008
  • Location: CALIFORNIA, USA
  • Views: 6
  • Message 6 of 7

Re: T60 No Sound from TV

2008-08-04, 17:51 PM

This also my first post and I have no video display on the HDTV when trying to hookup my T60 to my Toshiba 1080P HDTV via its docking station's DVI to the TV's HDMI.

 

Does anyone know which setting on the T60's "Adapter" should I select?

 

I found these setting from the Adapter's List All Modes sub-menu :

1280 by 1024, True Color (32 bit), 60 Hertz

1280 by 1024, True Color (32 bit), 70 Hertz

1280 by 1024, True Color (32 bit), 75 Hertz

1280 by 1024, True Color (32 bit), 85 Hertz

 

I appreciated everyone's help and assistance.

 

 

 

Reply
Options

3290 Posts

02-17-2008

Australia

1962 Signins

50408 Page Views

  • Posts: 3290
  • Registered: ‎02-17-2008
  • Location: Australia
  • Views: 50408
  • Message 7 of 7

Re: T60 No Sound from TV

2008-08-06, 9:04 AM
The 1080p resolution is 1920x1280 i think and the refresh rate should around 65 hz to 75 hz.
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete