Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad; T61 and prior T series plus Other Legacy ThinkPads
All Forum Topics
Options

8 Posts

03-06-2009

Colorado

12 Signins

96 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎03-06-2009
  • Location: Colorado
  • Views: 96
  • Message 1 of 39

T61 and 8GB ram?

2009-03-06, 23:37 PM

I understand I'll need a 64bit OS to address over 4GB, but I'm confused. Crucial and Lenovo seem to say my T61 (model 765803u) will max at 4GB which is what I've got now. However, this post  and this blog indicate 8GB is possible. What's the definitive way to determine the max? A few co-workers also have T61s and I'd like to see if all of them are upgradeable.

 

Another co-worker has a T60 (model unknown as of yet). Crucial and Lenovo report max a 3GB for that. Any special cases for the T60 ?

 

Thank you.

Reply
Answer
Options

58 Posts

05-31-2008

San Francisco

144 Signins

1060 Page Views

  • Posts: 58
  • Registered: ‎05-31-2008
  • Location: San Francisco
  • Views: 1060

Re: T61 and 8GB ram?

2009-03-06, 23:47 PM

T61,X61/t does support 8GB ram if you are running 64bit OS. However, T60 does not , coz T60 is not Santa Rosa system.

for more information, u can also visit www.thinkpads.com 

Reply

Replies(38)
Answer
Options

58 Posts

05-31-2008

San Francisco

144 Signins

1060 Page Views

  • Posts: 58
  • Registered: ‎05-31-2008
  • Location: San Francisco
  • Views: 1060
  • Message 2 of 39

Re: T61 and 8GB ram?

2009-03-06, 23:47 PM

T61,X61/t does support 8GB ram if you are running 64bit OS. However, T60 does not , coz T60 is not Santa Rosa system.

for more information, u can also visit www.thinkpads.com 

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

8 Posts

03-06-2009

Colorado

12 Signins

96 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎03-06-2009
  • Location: Colorado
  • Views: 96
  • Message 3 of 39

Re: T61 and 8GB ram?

2009-03-06, 23:57 PM

Thank you for the quick reply. Are all T61s "Santa Rosa" systems or just particular model #s?

 

This "definitive post on T60/T61/p memory limitations" on thinkpads.com forum indicates a 4GB limit for all T61s. This is nuts...

Reply
Options

21115 Posts

12-20-2008

Australia, Melbourne

20622 Signins

444194 Page Views

  • Posts: 21115
  • Registered: ‎12-20-2008
  • Location: Australia, Melbourne
  • Views: 444194
  • Message 4 of 39

Re: T61 and 8GB ram?

2009-03-07, 0:12 AM
The GM965 Intel Chipset on the T61, X61 and R61 can support 8 gig of ddr 2 ram, and many people have successfully done it in their T61 and X61.
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Reply
Options

8 Posts

03-06-2009

Colorado

12 Signins

96 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎03-06-2009
  • Location: Colorado
  • Views: 96
  • Message 5 of 39

Re: T61 and 8GB ram?

2009-03-07, 0:16 AM
Thanks again for the quick, helpful reply. I just put 2-2GB in my T61 for $19AR from a deal at Frys.com. However, all my searches for 2-4gb ddr2 is resulting in hundreds of dollars ($679 from crucial for 2-4gb pc5300) for the pair. That's crazy. Am I missing something?
Reply
Options

21115 Posts

12-20-2008

Australia, Melbourne

20622 Signins

444194 Page Views

  • Posts: 21115
  • Registered: ‎12-20-2008
  • Location: Australia, Melbourne
  • Views: 444194
  • Message 6 of 39

Re: T61 and 8GB ram?

2009-03-07, 12:02 PM
it used to be around 200 USD for one stick, now it should be around 90 USD. 
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Reply
Options

8 Posts

04-03-2009

Placerville, CA 95667

17 Signins

88 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎04-03-2009
  • Location: Placerville, CA 95667
  • Views: 88
  • Message 7 of 39

Re: T61 and 8GB ram?

2009-04-03, 1:24 AM

Thanks for the ray of hope.  My T-61 is now a Ubuntu machine and I would like to run the 64 bit version.  Of course I can only justify that if I have 8GB of ram.  But, like your earlier correspondent I'm finding it to be at least $250/4gb stick.

 

Can you point me to a dealer who has it for around a C-note/4gb?

 

~weatherguy

Reply
Options

21115 Posts

12-20-2008

Australia, Melbourne

20622 Signins

444194 Page Views

  • Posts: 21115
  • Registered: ‎12-20-2008
  • Location: Australia, Melbourne
  • Views: 444194
  • Message 8 of 39

Re: T61 and 8GB ram?

2009-04-05, 3:48 AM
not sure if i can help you, since i live in Australia.
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Reply
Options

94 Posts

08-31-2008

Bellevue, WA, USA

229 Signins

1922 Page Views

  • Posts: 94
  • Registered: ‎08-31-2008
  • Location: Bellevue, WA, USA
  • Views: 1922
  • Message 9 of 39

Re: T61 and 8GB ram?

2009-04-05, 9:37 AM

FYI, I put two of these G.Skill modules in my T61 - works great with Vista Ultimate 64-bit

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231202


T400 6475-8Q5 | 8GB RAM | WXGA+ | Seagate 500GB 7200 | Win 7 Pro 64-bit............T61 7658-CTR | 8GB RAM | WD Black 320GB
Reply
Options

8 Posts

04-03-2009

Placerville, CA 95667

17 Signins

88 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎04-03-2009
  • Location: Placerville, CA 95667
  • Views: 88
  • Message 10 of 39

Re: T61 and 8GB ram?

2009-04-05, 17:27 PM
Thanks for the heads up.  Now my only problem is to convince my darling that I need memory that gig for gig is twice as expensive as her new Cori-i7.
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms