Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad; T61 and prior T series plus Other Legacy ThinkPads
All Forum Topics
Options

5884 Posts

11-24-2007

United States of America

12810 Signins

291275 Page Views

  • Posts: 5884
  • Registered: ‎11-24-2007
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 291275
  • Message 11 of 39

Re: T61 and 8GB ram?

2009-05-07, 1:35 AM

mnadig wrote:

Thank you for the quick reply. Are all T61s "Santa Rosa" systems or just particular model #s?

 

This "definitive post on T60/T61/p memory limitations" on thinkpads.com forum indicates a 4GB limit for all T61s. This is nuts...


my post on TPF does not indicate whatsoever that the T61 is limited to 4GB.   at the time i had a T61p and wrote that post, 4GB DDR2-667 SODIMMs were not publicly available.   the limit i spoke of in that article is the 3GB limit in the T60/T60p -- a different model entirely.

 

the T61 and T61p definitively support 8GB maximum.

ThinkStation P700      ThinkPad X1C7

Reply
Options

4 Posts

04-21-2009

United States of America

52 Signins

342 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎04-21-2009
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 342
  • Message 12 of 39

Re: T61 and 8GB ram?

2009-05-07, 3:14 AM

No offense.. but, I highly doubt that you do need that much memory in your laptop.  Unless you are planning on running multiple (read 3+) virtual machines each with 2 gigs allocated RAM on that one laptop, you will very likely never need that much memory on that laptop.

 

I have been running 4gigs in my laptop.  Running Ubuntu 64-bit, 2 virtual machines(1 gig allocated each) and many background applications, I still barely scratch at the 3gig mark.  With Windows 7, running 1 virtual machine (1gig) and playing Team Fortress 2 in the background I clock in right at the 3 gig mark again.

 

I better upgrade would likely be the 2x2gig sticks and the rest of the money towards an extended life battery, or save a bit more and get a new processor to pop in it.

 

Also, the max for a 32bit OS will be roughly 3gigs.   So, upgrading to the 4gigs(or more) would also require an upgrade to a 64bit OS (as you stated in your original post)

 

Just my 2 cents.

Message Edited by Nedlinin on 05-06-2009 08:15 PM
Message Edited by Nedlinin on 05-06-2009 08:18 PM
Reply
Options

16 Posts

06-10-2008

Singapore

45 Signins

299 Page Views

  • Posts: 16
  • Registered: ‎06-10-2008
  • Location: Singapore
  • Views: 299
  • Message 13 of 39

Does T61p support the RAM of 4G X 2?

2009-05-10, 16:28 PM
I want to upgrade the RAM of my T61p. I heard that T61p can only support up to 4G RAM. But I also found some website says that it does work with 8G. Can someone help me to clarify? Thank you.
Reply
Options

5884 Posts

11-24-2007

United States of America

12810 Signins

291275 Page Views

  • Posts: 5884
  • Registered: ‎11-24-2007
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 291275
  • Message 14 of 39

Re: T61 and 8GB ram?

2009-05-10, 18:35 PM

Nedlinin wrote:

No offense.. but, I highly doubt that you do need that much memory in your laptop.  Unless you are planning on running multiple (read 3+) virtual machines each with 2 gigs allocated RAM on that one laptop, you will very likely never need that much memory on that laptop.


i can eat up 8GB in a matter of seconds just by opening a 1000-part drawing in solidworks and a 500MB+ file in photoshop.   even 16GB in my thinkstation doesn't last very long.   just because you don't need 8GB doesn't mean others don't, either. ;)

 

welcome to the forum, btw. :)

ThinkStation P700      ThinkPad X1C7

Reply
Options

29 Posts

06-13-2008

NePA

729 Signins

4299 Page Views

  • Posts: 29
  • Registered: ‎06-13-2008
  • Location: NePA
  • Views: 4299
  • Message 15 of 39

Re: T61 and 8GB ram?

2009-06-02, 15:36 PM

Quick post-

Newegg has crucial 4gb sticks/$138.00 + shipping

 

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820148220
Reply
Options

3 Posts

06-06-2009

USA

12 Signins

63 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎06-06-2009
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 63
  • Message 16 of 39

Re: T61 and 8GB ram?

2009-06-06, 16:45 PM

Is it known that the T61p supports the $138 memory (now $152)? It does not come up when listing the available options on crutial.com for the t61p.

 

Thanks!

Reply
Options

29 Posts

06-13-2008

NePA

729 Signins

4299 Page Views

  • Posts: 29
  • Registered: ‎06-13-2008
  • Location: NePA
  • Views: 4299
  • Message 17 of 39

Re: T61 and 8GB ram?

2009-06-07, 1:39 AM
I'm using it in mine as I type.  2 sticks=8 gigs of goodness.
Reply
Options

29 Posts

06-13-2008

NePA

729 Signins

4299 Page Views

  • Posts: 29
  • Registered: ‎06-13-2008
  • Location: NePA
  • Views: 4299
  • Message 18 of 39

Re: T61 and 8GB ram?

2009-06-12, 23:02 PM

Back in stock @ $139.00/stick

46 sticks as of 06/12/09

Reply
Options

3 Posts

06-06-2009

USA

12 Signins

63 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎06-06-2009
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 63
  • Message 19 of 39

Re: T61 and 8GB ram?

2009-07-09, 18:11 PM
What is the faster ram a T61p can support?
Reply
Options

3 Posts

06-06-2009

USA

12 Signins

63 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎06-06-2009
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 63
  • Message 20 of 39

Re: T61 and 8GB ram?

2009-07-09, 18:18 PM

Can anyone confirm if the following will work?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820148288

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms