English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad; T61 and prior T series plus Other Legacy ThinkPads
All Forum Topics
Options

134 Posts

01-02-2008

Pune, India

394 Signins

2933 Page Views

  • Posts: 134
  • Registered: ‎01-02-2008
  • Location: Pune, India
  • Views: 2933
  • Message 1 of 12

T61 and Vista SP1 -- Questions about Standalone Upgrade

2008-03-20, 6:56 AM
The windows does not show automatic upgrade for my T61. However, I have downloaded stand-alone package. Two questions:
 
1. Is it advisable to instal SP1 using standalone package?
2. Has anyone used this path to upgrade tp Vista SP1?
3. What precautions need be taken to execute the upgrade?
Sushil
_________________________________________________________________
ThinkPad T61, (7658CTO), T7500, Integrated Graphics, 320 GB HDD, 3 GB RAM, 1 GB Intel Turbo Memory, Vista (32 bit) Business
Reply
Options

16 Posts

03-19-2008

Cazenovia, NY

96 Signins

421 Page Views

  • Posts: 16
  • Registered: ‎03-19-2008
  • Location: Cazenovia, NY
  • Views: 421
  • Message 2 of 12

Re: T61 and Vista SP1 -- Questions about Standalone Upgrade

2008-03-20, 12:05 PM
I would be cautious. If windows update is not showing it to you there is probably a reason such as an incompatable driver or piece of hardware that is detected by the windows update applet. If you force the stand-alone to install you might end up with a conflict, be sure to get a restore point and back up your data. The worst case will be BSOD and/or no boot.
Reply
Options

5 Posts

12-11-2007

CA

14 Signins

232 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎12-11-2007
  • Location: CA
  • Views: 232
  • Message 3 of 12

Re: T61 and Vista SP1 -- Questions about Standalone Upgrade

2008-03-21, 20:50 PM
I would hold off on it.  I've been spent over 4 days just trying to get SP1 and RnR working together.  (not by my choice, but because of another issue with ThinkPad to begin with).

It seems the RnR Patch for 4.2 does not help to work with Vista SP1.  From the description of the patch, you are required to have Vista SP1 before installing the patch.  However, I could not boot back to my Vista SP1 after installing the patch.

At this point I'll be waiting for couple more weeks and have all my system fully backup before trying anything else. 

HT>
Reply
Options

2 Posts

03-22-2008

Switzerland

5 Signins

42 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎03-22-2008
  • Location: Switzerland
  • Views: 42
  • Message 4 of 12

Re: T61 and Vista SP1 -- Questions about Standalone Upgrade

2008-03-23, 0:06 AM
I found a solution how Vista Service Pack 1 shows up automatically under Windows Update.

Windows Update will hide SP1 by purpose if it finds for example an incompatible driver (see http://support.microsoft.com/kb/948343).
With Lenovo T61 it's the driver of the fingerprint sensor which is not compatible with SP1.

Just follow these steps to solve the problem:
- go to http://www.upek.com/support/downloads/drivers/windows.asp and download the latest driver of the fingerprint sensor.
- extract the 2.9_package.zip file
- Open the Device Manager, navigate go to 'Biometric' -> 'TouchChip Fingerprint Coprocessor' and press the 'Update Driver' button.
- Select 'Browse my computer for driver software' and select the '\2.9_package\tc-driver\vista-32bit\' folder.
- After the driver is installed, reboot your machine (Vista will not ask you to do this, but in my case it was required to see SP1 in the Windows Update tool).
- When your notebook came up again, go to Windows Update and search for new updates - You should see now SP1.

My Lenovo T61 runs now with Service Pack 1!

Have fun

Cheers
Reply
Options

134 Posts

01-02-2008

Pune, India

394 Signins

2933 Page Views

  • Posts: 134
  • Registered: ‎01-02-2008
  • Location: Pune, India
  • Views: 2933
  • Message 5 of 12

Re: T61 and Vista SP1 -- Questions about Standalone Upgrade

2008-03-23, 2:04 AM
Thanks very much. I have updated the Upek Driver. The Windows Update still does not show SP1 updates.
 
I think the problem lies with Intel Drivers and T61 does not allow latest Intel Drivers to be installed. Has anytone found a way to instal the latest Intel Driver for their Cipsets (with integrated graphics X1300).
Sushil
_________________________________________________________________
ThinkPad T61, (7658CTO), T7500, Integrated Graphics, 320 GB HDD, 3 GB RAM, 1 GB Intel Turbo Memory, Vista (32 bit) Business
Reply
Options

2 Posts

03-22-2008

Switzerland

5 Signins

42 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎03-22-2008
  • Location: Switzerland
  • Views: 42
  • Message 6 of 12

Re: T61 and Vista SP1 -- Questions about Standalone Upgrade

2008-03-23, 18:19 PM
oh, I see.

I have a NVIDIA Quadro NVS 140M graphics adapter, that's why it probably worked on my notebook.

I hope you'll find a solution.
Reply
Options

16 Posts

03-19-2008

Cazenovia, NY

96 Signins

421 Page Views

  • Posts: 16
  • Registered: ‎03-19-2008
  • Location: Cazenovia, NY
  • Views: 421
  • Message 7 of 12

Re: T61 and Vista SP1 -- Questions about Standalone Upgrade

2008-03-23, 19:08 PM
I have the nVidia GPU as well, so that's why it worked for me. I have read another thread, on this board I think, that deals specifically with this Intel problem. It IS the Intel integrated GPU driver causing the problem. Here is a link to the thread:
 
 
It's about half way down.
Reply
Options

1 Posts

04-24-2008

CA, USA

2 Signins

38 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎04-24-2008
  • Location: CA, USA
  • Views: 38
  • Message 8 of 12

Re: T61 and Vista SP1 -- Questions about Standalone Upgrade

2008-04-24, 5:39 AM
@pumuckl
thanks for the advice.
Worked for me on my T61p with NVIDIA 570m. (more evidence that it's a problem with the Intel driver)

Mike
Reply
Options

81 Posts

04-20-2008

Kingston, RI

488 Signins

1495 Page Views

  • Posts: 81
  • Registered: ‎04-20-2008
  • Location: Kingston, RI
  • Views: 1495
  • Message 9 of 12

Re: T61 and Vista SP1 -- Questions about Standalone Upgrade

2008-04-24, 13:50 PM
I installed SP1 via the full download as soon as I got my T61p (NVIDIA) near the end of March. At that point, MS wasn't pushing SP1 through Software Update.

All seems to be as well as can be expected for a Microsoft OS. Only had one BSOD so far, and that was when removing a ExpressCard X-Fi audio card while I had the control panel open. I guess you're supposed to "Safely remove hardware" on that one :-)
Reply
Options

276 Posts

02-04-2008

Canada

536 Signins

14076 Page Views

  • Posts: 276
  • Registered: ‎02-04-2008
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 14076
  • Message 10 of 12

Re: T61 and Vista SP1 -- Questions about Standalone Upgrade

2008-04-24, 14:08 PM
Has the new version of the fingerprint software from Lenovo remedied the availability of Vista SP1 upgrade via automatic update issue? The new FP software version 5.6.2 superseded the short-lived v.5.6.1.3419... Just wondering if the FP reader driver itself was upgraded in this latest software version.


Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete