Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad; T61 and prior T series plus Other Legacy ThinkPads
All Forum Topics
Options

95 Posts

07-24-2008

Argentina

155 Signins

1346 Page Views

  • Posts: 95
  • Registered: ‎07-24-2008
  • Location: Argentina
  • Views: 1346
  • Message 1 of 7

T61p: Ram memory enough and good?

2009-04-25, 21:36 PM

Is any brand the same? I bought 2 gb of ram to my t61p 6460-D8G and the windows experience base score almost didn't change.......

How can I know if I get a good ram? Is there any difference between them? I just went to a store and get it, without further questions.

 

 

 Moderator note: Type added to subject line for clarity.

Message Edited by Agotthelf on 26-04-2009 08:35 AM
Reply
Answer
Options

158 Posts

09-22-2008

Latvia

718 Signins

4051 Page Views

  • Posts: 158
  • Registered: ‎09-22-2008
  • Location: Latvia
  • Views: 4051

Re: Ram memory

2009-04-26, 11:18 AM

Not sure I can answer all your questions. As for software for 64-bit Vista, it depends on what app you need for your work. As far as my experience goes I have not experienced any problems with compatibility. Mostly all 32-bit apps run on 64-bit Vista. Exception is some really legacy software that use 16-bit code. There was only one such app in my case but I soon found a substitute app for it. As for advantages, I cannot tell much as I have no means how to compare them. One thing is sure - there is nothing spectaculary diferent performace wise. 64-bit Vista runs qute sumilar to 32-bit. It may happen that it does some things faster (such as big file copying) but I am not sure. Of course, the good point is that you can use more than 3GB RAM on your machine with 64-bit Vista. This is good thing, but again, do not expect miracles after being able to use 1GB RAM more. The improvement will be slight. Is it reasonable to upgrade your Vista from 32-bit to 64-bit? Its all up to you. It may happen that it is not that big hussle as you may try to contact Lenovo and ask them for 64-bit media (I have seen some people in this forum saying that it has worked for them). If this does not work, then you may try to find something useful for you here

http://forum.notebookreview.com/showthread.php?t=144783

 

In any case, as far as I can tell there is nothing worng with your RAM. The score seem to me completely OK. My system has 4GB RAM and as I said the score ir 5. So, no reson to worry for you.

 

Best wishes...

E

Message Edited by Eudoxus on 04-26-2009 02:20 PM
Message Edited by Eudoxus on 04-26-2009 07:50 PM
Present - Lenovo Yoga 720 13IKB/ 81C300AQLT
Past: ThinkPad T500 2242-CTO P8600 / 4GB RAM / WSXGA+ / HDD Fujitsu 7200rpm 1TB / 6 Cell Sony / Windows 8 Pro 64-bit
ThinkPad Tablet 2

ThinkPad X61s 7669-3KG Windows 7 Home Premium 32-bit
Reply

Replies(6)
Options

158 Posts

09-22-2008

Latvia

718 Signins

4051 Page Views

  • Posts: 158
  • Registered: ‎09-22-2008
  • Location: Latvia
  • Views: 4051
  • Message 2 of 7

Re: Ram memory

2009-04-26, 0:17 AM
So, what is your problem? 
Present - Lenovo Yoga 720 13IKB/ 81C300AQLT
Past: ThinkPad T500 2242-CTO P8600 / 4GB RAM / WSXGA+ / HDD Fujitsu 7200rpm 1TB / 6 Cell Sony / Windows 8 Pro 64-bit
ThinkPad Tablet 2

ThinkPad X61s 7669-3KG Windows 7 Home Premium 32-bit
Reply
Options

1419 Posts

10-26-2008

California, United States

711 Signins

35916 Page Views

  • Posts: 1419
  • Registered: ‎10-26-2008
  • Location: California, United States
  • Views: 35916
  • Message 3 of 7

Re: Ram memory

2009-04-26, 7:17 AM

The answer is no. Not all memory modules are the same.

 

Apart from some modules being physically different, different memory clocks, different timings, etc, etc. However, this is not something you want to worry yourself about. If the memory is working as it should, you should have absolutely no problem.

 

Note: You should run Memtest86+ to make sure your memory isn't defective/damaged. Just because it's new, doesn't mean it is functional.

Message Edited by ortegaluis on 04-26-2009 12:28 AM

\\ I do not respond to PM regarding individual tech support. Keep discussions in the forum for the benefit of others //
Reply
Options

95 Posts

07-24-2008

Argentina

155 Signins

1346 Page Views

  • Posts: 95
  • Registered: ‎07-24-2008
  • Location: Argentina
  • Views: 1346
  • Message 4 of 7

Re: Ram memory

2009-04-26, 8:14 AM

Ok thanks for your gentle response, I tried that program but I found it quite difficult to use, it runs on DOS or in Floppy disk and I don't have any of them out of windows.

I just get this plus ram memory because I always ear that more ram make it faster, but that is not shown at least in the windows experience test. So I'm not sure if it actually works or not. I mean now it says I have 4 gb of ram but It doesn't say that is faster. So I don't know if may be there's a problem with the quality of the memory that has unknown procedence or is just that windows doesn't has show is faster, or if the idea "more ram is faster" is just good marketing for ram memory sellers.

 

Cheers

Reply
Options

158 Posts

09-22-2008

Latvia

718 Signins

4051 Page Views

  • Posts: 158
  • Registered: ‎09-22-2008
  • Location: Latvia
  • Views: 4051
  • Message 5 of 7

Re: Ram memory

2009-04-26, 10:26 AM

More memory usually make your system to run fuster, but there is a limit which is determined by other components - such as speed of HDD, chipset, processor and so on. So there is a point where additional memory will not make a considerable difference.

Moreover, you said that you have 4GB of RAM but you did not mention what type of system you are running on your machine. Because if it is 32-bit Vista or XP, then yor system can use only 3GB of RAM and 1GB becomes pretty useless.

And finally, I am not sure how much windows score is influenced by adding more RAM. Not sure, but it seems to me that what counts more here is the speed of the module rather than amout. Anyway, when I upgraded my system from 2GB to 4GB my windows score did not change that much (though I don't remember exactly the numbers ), the score is 5 now. However I notices some slight changes when I used the machine - in many cases it become more responsive.

So I think that there may be no reason for you to bother about the modules. If they work and your system does not crash it shoud be ok. If it turns out that you have 32-bit system, then you have wasted your money. However in that case you can still upgrade your system to 64-bit version.

Hope that helps a bit.

p.s. It may be useful to supply more information about your system as it is more easy to help you if we now more about your hardware and software.

Present - Lenovo Yoga 720 13IKB/ 81C300AQLT
Past: ThinkPad T500 2242-CTO P8600 / 4GB RAM / WSXGA+ / HDD Fujitsu 7200rpm 1TB / 6 Cell Sony / Windows 8 Pro 64-bit
ThinkPad Tablet 2

ThinkPad X61s 7669-3KG Windows 7 Home Premium 32-bit
Reply
Options

95 Posts

07-24-2008

Argentina

155 Signins

1346 Page Views

  • Posts: 95
  • Registered: ‎07-24-2008
  • Location: Argentina
  • Views: 1346
  • Message 6 of 7

Re: Ram memory

2009-04-26, 10:56 AM

Ok thanks for your response I have t61p 6460-d8g T9300 2.5 GHz processor, 4 gb ram, and Vista Ultimate, yes 32 bit. The score now is 5.1 I think what change was the .1, but still the ram is the slower part.

 

So may I try to upgrade Vista. But  is there every software available in 64 bit? I'm afraid to have compatibility issues if I change it now. So I may keep it, may I get the next windows, in 64.... Does it runs really faster in 64? How can I know if is worth to buy another windows for it. Getting a second windows doesn't make really happy in fact.

 

 

 

 

 

Reply
Answer
Options

158 Posts

09-22-2008

Latvia

718 Signins

4051 Page Views

  • Posts: 158
  • Registered: ‎09-22-2008
  • Location: Latvia
  • Views: 4051
  • Message 7 of 7

Re: Ram memory

2009-04-26, 11:18 AM

Not sure I can answer all your questions. As for software for 64-bit Vista, it depends on what app you need for your work. As far as my experience goes I have not experienced any problems with compatibility. Mostly all 32-bit apps run on 64-bit Vista. Exception is some really legacy software that use 16-bit code. There was only one such app in my case but I soon found a substitute app for it. As for advantages, I cannot tell much as I have no means how to compare them. One thing is sure - there is nothing spectaculary diferent performace wise. 64-bit Vista runs qute sumilar to 32-bit. It may happen that it does some things faster (such as big file copying) but I am not sure. Of course, the good point is that you can use more than 3GB RAM on your machine with 64-bit Vista. This is good thing, but again, do not expect miracles after being able to use 1GB RAM more. The improvement will be slight. Is it reasonable to upgrade your Vista from 32-bit to 64-bit? Its all up to you. It may happen that it is not that big hussle as you may try to contact Lenovo and ask them for 64-bit media (I have seen some people in this forum saying that it has worked for them). If this does not work, then you may try to find something useful for you here

http://forum.notebookreview.com/showthread.php?t=144783

 

In any case, as far as I can tell there is nothing worng with your RAM. The score seem to me completely OK. My system has 4GB RAM and as I said the score ir 5. So, no reson to worry for you.

 

Best wishes...

E

Message Edited by Eudoxus on 04-26-2009 02:20 PM
Message Edited by Eudoxus on 04-26-2009 07:50 PM
Present - Lenovo Yoga 720 13IKB/ 81C300AQLT
Past: ThinkPad T500 2242-CTO P8600 / 4GB RAM / WSXGA+ / HDD Fujitsu 7200rpm 1TB / 6 Cell Sony / Windows 8 Pro 64-bit
ThinkPad Tablet 2

ThinkPad X61s 7669-3KG Windows 7 Home Premium 32-bit

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms