cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
MrE
Paper Tape
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-06-2008
Location: USA
Views: 3,825
Message 1 of 26

A31p only detecting one memory slot - is 1gb card an option.

Hello,

 

I have an A31p with two 512mb cards  (one in each slot) but it only shows 512mb total memory.

I've tried swapping the cards between slots 0 and 1, and also tried removing the slot 1 card, and always end up with 512mb.

I've run the PC doctor utility that comes on the laptop, but I haven't found much more info there.

I assume this means there is a hardware problem with slot 1. 

 

Any ideas of how to fix this?

If there is no way to fix this, can I use a 1gb card in slot 0?

 

Thanks in advance...

Guru
Posts: 7,626
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: USA
Views: 3,795
Message 2 of 26

Re: A31p only detecting one memory slot - is 1gb card an option.

Welcome to the forum!

 

One RAM slot going bad is a faily common problem on ThinkPads of that generation, the most affected one being T30, but I've seen it on A31/p, X30 and T23 as well...now, to the answers:

 

a) You can install 1Gb DIMM in your A31p. Mine all have 2x1Gb and work great.

 

b) You can also try putting additional pressure by applying a thin piece of paper between the DIMM and the slot itself, or putting a post-it or two between the cover and the slot.

 

c) There are companies which do this type of motherboard repair, I  have heard good reviews about hammershead tech.

 

Hope this helps. 

Cheers,

George




In daily use: R60F, R500F, T61, T410

Collecting dust: T60

Enjoying retirement: A31p, T42p,

Non-ThinkPads: Panasonic CF-31 & CF-52, HP 8760W




Starting Thursday, 08/14/2014 I'll be away from the forums until further notice. Please do NOT send private messages since I won't be able to read them. Thank you.
.
ingber
Punch Card
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎08-10-2008
Location: US
Views: 3,746
Message 3 of 26

Re: A31p only detecting one memory slot - is 1gb card an option.

George:

 

Hi.  We have two a31p Thinkpads (N5U and R5U), each with 2x512, and I'd like to upgrade them to 2x1Gb as you have.  Where can I get these DIMMs?  Places I have checked only offer the original 512s.

 

Thanks.

 

Lester

Message Edited by ingber on 08-10-2008 11:54 AM
https://www.ingber.com
Retired Moderator
Retired Moderator
Posts: 424
Registered: ‎11-20-2007
Location: US
Views: 3,740
Message 4 of 26

Re: A31p only detecting one memory slot - is 1gb card an option.


ingber wrote:

George:

 

Hi.  We have two a31p Thinkpads (N5U and R5U), each with 2x512, and I'd like to upgrade them to 2x1Gb as you have.  Where can I get these DIMMs?  Places I have checked only offer the original 512s.


Any name brand PC2100 memory will work in the A31. Same goes for the T30.

 

Crucial is always a good choice.

Regards,

James
_______________________________
Full disclosure, I don't work for Lenovo.
James at Thinkpads dot com
Guru
Posts: 7,626
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: USA
Views: 3,736
Message 5 of 26

Re: A31p only detecting one memory slot - is 1gb card an option.

Apart from PC2100, you can also use PC2700 (DDR 333) laptop RAM.
Cheers,

George




In daily use: R60F, R500F, T61, T410

Collecting dust: T60

Enjoying retirement: A31p, T42p,

Non-ThinkPads: Panasonic CF-31 & CF-52, HP 8760W




Starting Thursday, 08/14/2014 I'll be away from the forums until further notice. Please do NOT send private messages since I won't be able to read them. Thank you.
.
ingber
Punch Card
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎08-10-2008
Location: US
Views: 3,726
Message 6 of 26

Re: A31p only detecting one memory slot - is 1gb card an option.

On http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=ENE&Description=1GB%20PC2700&bop=And&Pagesize=... I see that some have heat spreaders.  On our Thinkpads should this be a consideration?  On the three listed for PC2100 on http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=ENE&N=2000260381&page=1&srchInDesc=1GB%20PC210... none have heat spreaders.  I assume that the PC 2700 is made for higher performance (although this will not necessarily give higher performance than the PC2100 on our Thinkpads) so some have heat spreaders?

 

Also, on the PC2700 page above, they've slipped in a couple of desktop memory under the subheading laptop.  Are these typically engiuneered differently, or can I simply go with the best-looking quality/value?

 

Thanks.

 

Lester

Message Edited by ingber on 08-10-2008 03:08 PM
https://www.ingber.com
Guru
Posts: 7,626
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: USA
Views: 3,678
Message 7 of 26

Re: A31p only detecting one memory slot - is 1gb card an option.

Heat spreaders are nice, but not obligatory. Stay away from Kingston's "Value RAM", people have reported issues with it on ThinkPads. I've personally used both Crucial and Patriot on my A3x units and have been very pleased.

 

Desktop memory will not work in laptops, the size is different.

 

Hope this helps.

Cheers,

George




In daily use: R60F, R500F, T61, T410

Collecting dust: T60

Enjoying retirement: A31p, T42p,

Non-ThinkPads: Panasonic CF-31 & CF-52, HP 8760W




Starting Thursday, 08/14/2014 I'll be away from the forums until further notice. Please do NOT send private messages since I won't be able to read them. Thank you.
.
ingber
Punch Card
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎08-10-2008
Location: US
Views: 3,670
Message 8 of 26

Re: A31p only detecting one memory slot - is 1gb card an option.

George:

 

Thanks very much for your advice and follow-up.

 

I see such 1GB memory, apparently made or at least branded by IBM/Lenova on

http://cgi.ebay.com/BRAND-NEW-IBM-THINKPAD-A31-R32-1024-MB-1-GB-Memory_W0QQitemZ170248845582QQcmdZVi...|39%3A1|66%3A2|65%3A12&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14.l1318

at about the same price as the Crucial memory on newegg.  It seems to me that going with IBM/Lenova and their service makes most sense.

 

Thanks.

 

Lester

https://www.ingber.com
Guru
Posts: 7,626
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: USA
Views: 3,660
Message 9 of 26

Re: A31p only detecting one memory slot - is 1gb card an option.

I very much doubt that the eBay seller is in any way affiliated with Lenovo...he doesn't put the FRU number, or the origin of the RAM in the ad...that's fishy IMHO. I'd go with Crucial. Your money, your call.
Cheers,

George




In daily use: R60F, R500F, T61, T410

Collecting dust: T60

Enjoying retirement: A31p, T42p,

Non-ThinkPads: Panasonic CF-31 & CF-52, HP 8760W




Starting Thursday, 08/14/2014 I'll be away from the forums until further notice. Please do NOT send private messages since I won't be able to read them. Thank you.
.
Retired Moderator
Retired Moderator
Posts: 424
Registered: ‎11-20-2007
Location: US
Views: 3,654
Message 10 of 26

Re: A31p only detecting one memory slot - is 1gb card an option.

Doctor Les,

 

Get the Crucial RAM with lifetime warranty over memory from an unknown source on eBay.

Regards,

James
_______________________________
Full disclosure, I don't work for Lenovo.
James at Thinkpads dot com

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors