Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
wodeming
Fanfold Paper
Views: 1,949
Message 1 of 3

Configuration in BIOS doesn't show CDRom Drive

I'm just checking out a used T41, 2373-4JU, and I do not see the CDRom Drive listed in my configuration list in BIOS.  Is this because the Drive is connected to the USB circuit?

However, the drive appears in the sequence for booting devices (F12 button), where it is distinguished from other USB devices.

I'm a novice, and would be thankful for any and all help from charitable souls.

I have some other fears and ignorances about this computer.  I want to put my old HDD from a dead A20m into an adapter for the 2000 Bay and boot up from there, but I do not know if the W98SE on that old HDD will do some damage to the XP Pro system that is installed on the regular HDD of the computer.  Will the two harddrives be kept completely apart?

Highlighted
Guru
Views: 1,931
Message 2 of 3

Re: Configuration in BIOS doesn't show CDRom Drive

Welcome to the forum!

First of all, UltraBay 2000 HDD adapter will not work in a T4x unit, you need a ultrabay slim adapter.

Once you've located that, you'll be able to access your W98SE on the hard drive.

I don't quite understand the issue with CD-ROM/BIOS/USB...what type of CD-ROM are you using, and where are you not seeing it?

Good luck and let us know. 

Cheers,

George

In daily use: R60F, R500F, T61, T410

Collecting dust: T60

Enjoying retirement: A31p, T42p,

Non-ThinkPads: Panasonic CF-31 & CF-52, HP 8760W

Starting Thursday, 08/14/2014 I'll be away from the forums until further notice. Please do NOT send private messages since I won't be able to read them. Thank you.
wodeming
Fanfold Paper
Views: 1,908
Message 3 of 3

Re: Configuration in BIOS doesn't show CDRom Drive

George,

Many thanks for responding. 

I've ordered an adapter of the slim version, so things should be ok.