Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad; T61 and prior T series plus Other Legacy ThinkPads
All Forum Topics
Options

12 Posts

10-07-2009

Houston, Texas

16 Signins

103 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎10-07-2009
  • Location: Houston, Texas
  • Views: 103
  • Message 1 of 4

Disable second DIMM slot?

2011-07-14, 21:51 PM
We have a T61p which exhibits the low voltage fault related to GPU and having 2 DIMM slots filled. For reasons I could explain later, we CANNOT have the box opened to pull the second DIMM. Is there ANY way the slot can be disabled by software, BIOS settings, or other non-invasive means?
Reply
Options

21115 Posts

12-20-2008

Australia, Melbourne

20622 Signins

444194 Page Views

  • Posts: 21115
  • Registered: ‎12-20-2008
  • Location: Australia, Melbourne
  • Views: 444194
  • Message 2 of 4

Re: Disable second DIMM slot?

2011-07-15, 0:49 AM
there is no way to disable the second dimm slot by software or bios setting.

Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Reply
Options

4347 Posts

12-02-2007

United States of America

9165 Signins

199968 Page Views

  • Posts: 4347
  • Registered: ‎12-02-2007
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 199968
  • Message 3 of 4

Re: Disable second DIMM slot?

2011-07-16, 9:23 AM

Hello,

 

I am not sure if this will work, but if the computer is running a recent version of Microsoft Windows you could try editing the BOOT.INI file to disable use of some of the memory via the /BURNMEMORY (which tells Windows how much memory not to use) or /MAXMEM (which tells Windows how much memory to use) switches.

 

Assuming the file looks something like this:

 

[boot loader]

timeout=30

default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS

[operating systems]

multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /fastdetect

 

You may be able to do the following using the /BURNMEMORY option to ignore the top 1GB of RAM (assuming a 1GB SO-DIMM in the second socket):

 

[boot loader]

timeout=30

default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS

[operating systems]

multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /fastdetect /burnmemory=1024



Or the following with the /MAXMEM switch, which will limit Windows to 2GB of RAM (assuming a 2GB SO-DIMM in the first socket).

 

[boot loader]

timeout=30

default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS

[operating systems]

multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /fastdetect /maxmem=2048



Please do keep in mind that these are guesses on my part, as I am not exactly sure how memory is mapped from each DIMM slot.  You may need to do some testing to figure out a working solution.

 

For more information about BOOT.INI switches, see Microsoft Knowledgebase Article #833721, "Available switch options for the Windows XP and the Windows Server 2003 Boot.ini files."  As usual, exercise extreme caution when editing system files, as making a mistake may result in a non-bootable system.

 

Regards,

 

Aryeh Goretsky

 



I am a volunteer and neither a Lenovo nor a Microsoft employee.

L380 YogaP50 (20EN-*)P51sP72 (20MB-*)P43sS230u (3347-4HU)T23 (2648-LU7)T42 (2378-R4U)T43p (2678-H7U)T61p (6459-CTO)W510 (4318-CTO)W530 (2441-4R3)X100e (3508-CTO)X120e (0596-CTO)X220 (4286-CTO)X250 (20CM-*)X1e gen3X1 Yoga gen 5X12 gen1X13 gen1Yoga 370

Communities: English Deutsche Español Português Русскоязычное Česká Slovenská Українська Język Polski Moto English


Need an answer, fast? Try using Browser Search to find it in the Lenovo and Moto Community
Reply
Options

12 Posts

10-07-2009

Houston, Texas

16 Signins

103 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎10-07-2009
  • Location: Houston, Texas
  • Views: 103
  • Message 4 of 4

Re: Disable second DIMM slot?

2011-07-19, 18:43 PM

Thanks for the tip regarding boot.ini - we may do some testing with that idea.

 

In the meantime, I'm on a slightly different tack. It would be ***really*** helpful if I could get detailed information regarding the testing Lenovo engineers did when they finally determined this problem was due to a voltage drop - in particular, knowing if any particular operation on the NVidia board was determined to trigger the system halt. 

 

What I'm wondering is whether or not intentionally "under-clocking" the Core, Memory, or Shader clocks (using NVidia System Tools) might prevent the problem from occurring?

 

I'm not sure it would, since efforts to reliably trigger the fault by over-tasking the Quadro haven't seemed to pay off - sometimes with a very, very heavy load it chugs along fine all day, other days I start one OpenGL app and it black-screens in twenty minutes or less.  Sad thing is, without knowledge of the exact nature of the problem, and without a truly reliable way to trigger the fault on-demand, it is nearly impossible to test theories like this.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms