cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
ran23
802.11n
Posts: 501
Registered: ‎04-15-2013
Location: US
Views: 816
Message 1 of 27

Docking port wiped out windows?

I have used my T30 in a small replicator, no problems. I have a larger Mini dock 2878, and when I tried it in that, didnt seem to what to fit.  Booted up the T30 and no Windows, stalls at F1 screen.    Do I have to relaod all the discs?

Guru
Posts: 7,626
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: USA
Views: 798
Message 2 of 27

Re: Docking port wiped out windows?

When you take the T30 off the dock, does it boot into Windows normally?

 

I've had a faulty 2878 kill a perfectly healthy A31p, so be careful...

Cheers,

George




In daily use: R60F, R500F, T61, T410

Collecting dust: T60

Enjoying retirement: A31p, T42p,

Non-ThinkPads: Panasonic CF-31 & CF-52, HP 8760W




Starting Thursday, 08/14/2014 I'll be away from the forums until further notice. Please do NOT send private messages since I won't be able to read them. Thank you.
.
ran23
802.11n
Posts: 501
Registered: ‎04-15-2013
Location: US
Views: 786
Message 3 of 27

Re: Docking port wiped out windows?

I tried 6 times out of the dock, no luck.    if I load XP Pro, windows UPDate will not see it unless it is SP2 or better.   this is the T-30 Host with one of my 30 GB HD in it.        life, so much fun.     

ran23
802.11n
Posts: 501
Registered: ‎04-15-2013
Location: US
Views: 763
Message 4 of 27

Re: Docking port wiped out windows?

  Sometime this weekend I will get the 30 GB back into it's 1.8 home..    The Host T-30 works great in the small dock, and I have used the larger 2878 on the 1.8 before.   (the 2878 has 4 USB ports).    My 2.0 has a damaged port but everything else works on that T-30, really great shape.    

ran23
802.11n
Posts: 501
Registered: ‎04-15-2013
Location: US
Views: 753
Message 5 of 27

Re: Docking port wiped out windows?

  I did a search and found when I tried the 2.0 in the big Dock, it also wiped out Windows.   Guess I will toss the 2878. Of all the T-30s here, only the 1.8 has a good base with working dock port covers.   Too bad that is the worse mobo.  Is there a good tutorial on swapping cases??  

ran23
802.11n
Posts: 501
Registered: ‎04-15-2013
Location: US
Views: 748
Message 6 of 27

Re: Docking port wiped out windows?

 the 30 GB HD is fine back in it's 1.8 home.    I could chance the 130 GB HD in the host  T-30 and see if it will boot.

ran23
802.11n
Posts: 501
Registered: ‎04-15-2013
Location: US
Views: 731
Message 7 of 27

Re: Docking port wiped out windows?

OK.   I put the 30 GB HD back into the Host machine, still will NOT boot to windows.   Is the Host T-30 Toast?  or can I try anything?    Pulling the CMOS battery just like a PC?     fulling charged battery, working 1.5 GB MB.    or,  putting the 30 GB HD back in and try loading Windows??

Guru
Posts: 7,626
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: USA
Views: 725
Message 8 of 27

Re: Docking port wiped out windows?

If you have a XP retail disk (not the IBM recovery set) you can try the "repair" function.

Cheers,

George




In daily use: R60F, R500F, T61, T410

Collecting dust: T60

Enjoying retirement: A31p, T42p,

Non-ThinkPads: Panasonic CF-31 & CF-52, HP 8760W




Starting Thursday, 08/14/2014 I'll be away from the forums until further notice. Please do NOT send private messages since I won't be able to read them. Thank you.
.
ran23
802.11n
Posts: 501
Registered: ‎04-15-2013
Location: US
Views: 712
Message 9 of 27

Re: Docking port wiped out windows?

I left the CMAS battery out for a while and even swtiched it wtih another.  Still will see 30 GB HD.   No ideas to restore this mobo?

ran23
802.11n
Posts: 501
Registered: ‎04-15-2013
Location: US
Views: 684
Message 10 of 27

Re: Docking port wiped out windows?

well,  I put the 30 GB HD back into the 1.8 T-30 and it is doing the same thing, locks up at F1 screen.   Will not load Windows.   Tried a Set up disc and nothing.   So 2 T-30s down.   one left, not screwing around with that one.  ideas?

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals