cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
cliddell
What's DOS?
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-28-2008
Location: Normandy, France
Views: 860
Message 1 of 4

G40 max HDD capacity?

Greetings all

Does anyone know what capacity HDD a G40 can support please?
Guru
Posts: 7,626
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: USA
Views: 847
Message 2 of 4

Re: G40 max HDD capacity?

Welcome to the forum!

 

There's no BIOS limit on HD for the G4x series, so you can throw in ANY 9.5mm laptop PATA/IDE drive that you want.

 

Hope this helps.

Cheers,

George




In daily use: R60F, R500F, T61, T410

Collecting dust: T60

Enjoying retirement: A31p, T42p,

Non-ThinkPads: Panasonic CF-31 & CF-52, HP 8760W




Starting Thursday, 08/14/2014 I'll be away from the forums until further notice. Please do NOT send private messages since I won't be able to read them. Thank you.
.
georgemacdonald
Punch Card
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-10-2009
Location: N/A
Views: 803
Message 3 of 4

Re: G40 max HDD capacity?

There may be no BIOS limitation, but my G41 has the same 137GB barrier (= 127GiB) that many older computers have. The reason, I believe, is the limitation of the Intel 852/855 chipsets themselves. No changes to the BIOS or OS can affect this hardware limitation.

 

Unfortunately, many people think that a large capcity HD (i.e., greater than 137GB) can be used without any problem. And they are correct right up to the point that the primary partition starts trying to store/access data beyond that barrier. Then they experience what I did: the blank black screen with a blinking cursor in the upper left corner of the display with no further progress and no way to soft reboot.

 

I had to remove the 250GB Western Digital drive I had put in my Thinkpad G41 (model # 2886-78U) and put in a 100GB drive that I was using before.

 

I honestly don't know if the limit on the G41 is a carry-over from the G40, or whether the G40 did not have the 137GB barrier at all, or if the older Intel chipsets used in the G40 series could use the workaround offered directly via Intels website.

 

That's my experience. Yours may be similar, or completely different.

 

--GM

Guru
Posts: 7,626
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: USA
Views: 797
Message 4 of 4

Re: G40 max HDD capacity?

@georgemacdonald:

 

Welcome to the forum!

 

I've ran 250GB in an A31p which uses one of the chipsets in question with no issues, and I am not the only one, so there's no chipset limitation per se.

 

Honestly, I haven't tried anything larger than 80 GB (I think...it's been a while) in a G4x but would be very surprised that a machine of that generation would be crippled in such a manner...

Cheers,

George




In daily use: R60F, R500F, T61, T410

Collecting dust: T60

Enjoying retirement: A31p, T42p,

Non-ThinkPads: Panasonic CF-31 & CF-52, HP 8760W




Starting Thursday, 08/14/2014 I'll be away from the forums until further notice. Please do NOT send private messages since I won't be able to read them. Thank you.
.

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals