Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
DrEvermor
What's DOS?
Views: 928
Message 1 of 4

Help with an ancient 760 model hard drive

Here's the deal:

A long time ago, in a galaxy far away, I was a high school student. At that time, my first laptop was a Thinkpad from the 760 series. After serving me valiantly into my first year of college, the laptop died. In the time I had the laptop, I amassed writings, music records, and stored some photos on the machine. Despite not having the laptop anymore, I recently came across the hard drive, which I had pulled prior to getting rid of it.

With that said, I'm posting to see if anyone knows of a way (i.e. is there an adapter that would connect the hard drive to my usb) or anything of the sort to retrieve my long lost files.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks!

Guru
Views: 916
Message 2 of 4

Re: Help with an ancient 760 model hard drive

Welcome to the forum.

If the hard drive is functional, you can pull the data from it yourself using an adapter.

Now, my (possibly incorrect) recollection is that these machines had "high" hard drives that don't fit into "normal" adapters...

Try posting the same question in the "legacy" section of Bill Morrow's ThinkPad forum and someone will likely be able to help you out, a lot of ThinkPad oldtimers there:

http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewforum.php?f=6

Good luck.

Cheers,

George

In daily use: R60F, R500F, T61, T410

Collecting dust: T60

Enjoying retirement: A31p, T42p,

Non-ThinkPads: Panasonic CF-31 & CF-52, HP 8760W

Starting Thursday, 08/14/2014 I'll be away from the forums until further notice. Please do NOT send private messages since I won't be able to read them. Thank you.
Guru
Views: 906
Message 3 of 4

It's alittle bit tricky, but it is possible to remove the drive from its caddy:

• remove the label from the sides around
  • remove the screws at the connector and detach the connctor adapter (take care, not to damage the cable)
  • open the caddy and remove the hard drive