Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad; T61 and prior T series plus Other Legacy ThinkPads
All Forum Topics
Options

757 Posts

02-08-2011

Salt Lake City, UT

70 Signins

442 Page Views

  • Posts: 757
  • Registered: ‎02-08-2011
  • Location: Salt Lake City, UT
  • Views: 442
  • Message 1 of 8

Max RAM? Unable to determine hardware

2012-11-12, 4:30 AM

I have the ThinkPad T60p (2007 model) and Lenovo's spec sheet says it supports up to 4GB but not on the Intel 945PM and GM chipsets. However I'm unable to tell which chipset I have. I tried Belarc and it didn't mention any of the chipsets that Lenovo mentions.

 

Does Windows (XP) or Lenovo have a utility I can use to identify this or all of the hardware I have?

Reply
Answer
Options

3841 Posts

12-22-2008

Canada

12581 Signins

182271 Page Views

  • Posts: 3841
  • Registered: ‎12-22-2008
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 182271

Re: Max RAM? Unable to determine hardware

2012-11-12, 13:38 PM

wrote:

 

Does Windows (XP) or Lenovo have a utility I can use to identify this or all of the hardware I have?


Right click the My Computer icon and select Properties. FWIW I have a T60p 2007 and can confirm that it can use only 3GB of RAM, even with 4GB physically on board. This applies to Vista, Win7 and Win8, too.

 

This IMO is the greatest limitation in ThinkPads of that era, i.e. that Core Duo processors lack of 64-bit support.

Reply

Replies(7)
Options

7651 Posts

11-24-2007

USA

5818 Signins

103093 Page Views

  • Posts: 7651
  • Registered: ‎11-24-2007
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 103093
  • Message 2 of 8

Re: Max RAM? Unable to determine hardware

2012-11-12, 4:38 AM

Welcome to the forum!

 

While your ThinkPad will recognize 4GB of RAM in BIOS, only 3GB will be usable regardless of OS used, due to a chipset limitation.

 

This holds true for all R60/e, T60/p, X60/s/T and Z61e/m/p/t ThinkPads.

Cheers,

George




In daily use: R60F, R500F, T61, T410

Collecting dust: T60

Enjoying retirement: A31p, T42p,

Non-ThinkPads: Panasonic CF-31 & CF-52, HP 8760W




Starting Thursday, 08/14/2014 I'll be away from the forums until further notice. Please do NOT send private messages since I won't be able to read them. Thank you.
.
Reply
Answer
Options

3841 Posts

12-22-2008

Canada

12581 Signins

182271 Page Views

  • Posts: 3841
  • Registered: ‎12-22-2008
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 182271
  • Message 3 of 8

Re: Max RAM? Unable to determine hardware

2012-11-12, 13:38 PM

wrote:

 

Does Windows (XP) or Lenovo have a utility I can use to identify this or all of the hardware I have?


Right click the My Computer icon and select Properties. FWIW I have a T60p 2007 and can confirm that it can use only 3GB of RAM, even with 4GB physically on board. This applies to Vista, Win7 and Win8, too.

 

This IMO is the greatest limitation in ThinkPads of that era, i.e. that Core Duo processors lack of 64-bit support.


Using Search to find your answers in Lenovo and Moto Community

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

757 Posts

02-08-2011

Salt Lake City, UT

70 Signins

442 Page Views

  • Posts: 757
  • Registered: ‎02-08-2011
  • Location: Salt Lake City, UT
  • Views: 442
  • Message 4 of 8

Re: Max RAM? Unable to determine hardware

2014-04-24, 19:42 PM

Oh OK so it's a Core Duo limitation? I've been trying to figure this out and you're the first to mention that rather than it's the 945x chipset that everybody else keeps getting hung up on (which Intel says handles 4GB).

Reply
Options

3841 Posts

12-22-2008

Canada

12581 Signins

182271 Page Views

  • Posts: 3841
  • Registered: ‎12-22-2008
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 182271
  • Message 5 of 8

Re: Max RAM? Unable to determine hardware

2014-04-24, 20:13 PM

wrote:

Oh OK so it's a Core Duo limitation... rather than it's the 945x chipset


I can't say for sure but why does it matter? Either way the T60p 2007 model doesn't recognize more than 3GB.


Using Search to find your answers in Lenovo and Moto Community
Reply
Options

757 Posts

02-08-2011

Salt Lake City, UT

70 Signins

442 Page Views

  • Posts: 757
  • Registered: ‎02-08-2011
  • Location: Salt Lake City, UT
  • Views: 442
  • Message 6 of 8

Re: Max RAM? Unable to determine hardware

2014-04-24, 20:20 PM
Can you explain what about the chipset causes the limitation? Intel's page says it supports 4GB of RAM with a 32-bit Physical Address Extensions: http://ark.intel.com/products/27857/Intel-82945GM-Graphics-and-Memory-Controller?q=945

It seems either Intel is contradicting itself or there is some setting on the laptop I can change or Lenovo has a limitation somewhere. Can you explain?
Reply
Options

757 Posts

02-08-2011

Salt Lake City, UT

70 Signins

442 Page Views

  • Posts: 757
  • Registered: ‎02-08-2011
  • Location: Salt Lake City, UT
  • Views: 442
  • Message 7 of 8

Re: Max RAM? Unable to determine hardware

2014-04-24, 20:22 PM

The reason why is because I want to be able to use 4GB of memory on this laptop and if there is some way (as Intel states it is possible on their chipset) I would like to know how to do it.

Reply
Options

3841 Posts

12-22-2008

Canada

12581 Signins

182271 Page Views

  • Posts: 3841
  • Registered: ‎12-22-2008
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 182271
  • Message 8 of 8

Re: Max RAM? Unable to determine hardware

2014-04-24, 21:44 PM

As far as I know there is no way without changing the motherboard. People have been trying to do this almost since the T60 series came out. If there was a way then you'd be able to find out how via an easy Google search.

 

According to Why are the MacBook Pro "Core 2 Duo" models limited to 3 GB of memory? If I install dual 2 GB modules, why won't I be able to use 4 GB of RAM? "for highly technical details, one also may choose to refer to the Intel datasheet for the Mobile Intel 945 Express chipset. Chapter 9, starting on page 317, and in particular pages 324-325 may be of interest." (MBP notebooks of that generation used similar CPU and chipsets to T60/T60p.)


Using Search to find your answers in Lenovo and Moto Community
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms