cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
ThatVietGuy
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-15-2009
Location: California
Views: 1,180
Message 1 of 15

Memory upgrade problem on Thinkpad T61

Hello,

 

I recently bought myself a used Thinkpad T61 that comes with Vista Ultimate 32-Bit, 2GB of RAM, and 2.0GHz C2D.

 

I decided that I needed an extra stick of 2GB RAM to replace one of the OEM 1GB sticks so I bought a stick of Kingston ValueRam (Product number: KVR667D2S0/2GR) that matched the specs of the old RAM.  However, after I installed the new Kingston RAM, the BIOS and Vista only recognize 1.5 GB of RAM instead of 3GB.  Basically, only 512 MB of the Kingston RAM is being recognized (and I can confirm by using the Kingston RAM alone).

 

I tried mixing which sticks are in which slot, but that does not solve the problem.  I also updated to BIOS to the latest version, 2.26.

 

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

lead_org Microsoft MVP Contributor
Microsoft MVP Contributor
Posts: 21,009
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Views: 1,178
Message 2 of 15

Re: Memory upgrade problem on Thinkpad T61

Try CPU-Z and see what the software says about the ram.

 

if 512 mb of the 2 gig of ram comes up, it usually says that your ram modules have defective chips, probably nothing to do with your bios or ram slots....return the purchased ram module for a new one. The T61 are capable of 8 gigs of ram under 64 bit of OS. 

Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
ThatVietGuy
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-15-2009
Location: California
Views: 1,170
Message 3 of 15

Re: Memory upgrade problem on Thinkpad T61

Thank you for the quick reply.

 

I just ran both a MemTest86 and CPU-Z and both come up with nothing abnormal.

 

MemTest86 gives a pass and CPU-Z gives the same results as when I checked with the OEM RAM installed, but with only 1.5GB registered.

 

So is it still bad RAM even if MemTest86 gives a pass?

lead_org Microsoft MVP Contributor
Microsoft MVP Contributor
Posts: 21,009
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Views: 1,165
Message 4 of 15

Re: Memory upgrade problem on Thinkpad T61

Are you saying if the 2 x 1 gig of ram is installed, it still picks up as 1.5 gig of ram? sounds weird... do you know whether you still have warranty on the laptop?
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
ThatVietGuy
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-15-2009
Location: California
Views: 1,161
Message 5 of 15

Re: Memory upgrade problem on Thinkpad T61

Yes, the 2GB (I just bought) + 1GB (that came with the laptop) only registers as 1.5GB.

 

Also, I have no idea whether this laptop is still under warranty, althought I highly doubt it is.

lead_org Microsoft MVP Contributor
Microsoft MVP Contributor
Posts: 21,009
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Views: 1,160
Message 6 of 15

Re: Memory upgrade problem on Thinkpad T61

do you know what the CPU-Z say when you run the program, regarding the ram in slots? I.e. it will tell your slot 1 you have 1 gig of ram and slot 2 with 2 gig ram etc. 
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
ThatVietGuy
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-15-2009
Location: California
Views: 1,158
Message 7 of 15

Re: Memory upgrade problem on Thinkpad T61

Slot #1 says 1024 MBytes and Slot #2 says 512 MBytes.

 

And I just looked it up on the main support site and the laptop is actually still in warranty, although I doubt it is necessary in this case.

lead_org Microsoft MVP Contributor
Microsoft MVP Contributor
Posts: 21,009
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Views: 1,151
Message 8 of 15

Re: Memory upgrade problem on Thinkpad T61

if you install the OEM ram with 2 x 1 gig it still shows 1.5 gig, then i would try to send it to warranty and see what they can do about it. 
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
ThatVietGuy
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-15-2009
Location: California
Views: 1,149
Message 9 of 15

Re: Memory upgrade problem on Thinkpad T61

Well, I have it as 2 x 1GB right now and it's fine; it reads 2GB.

 

I'm leaning more and more towards a defective chip, but I really need to test this RAM in another laptop before I can be sure.

lead_org Microsoft MVP Contributor
Microsoft MVP Contributor
Posts: 21,009
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Views: 1,143
Message 10 of 15

Re: Memory upgrade problem on Thinkpad T61

the value ram is not tested rigorously before they ship out, so if the 2 gig ram is acting up, then it should be the problem with the ram module itself. 
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals