cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
ran23
802.11n
Posts: 502
Registered: ‎04-15-2013
Location: US
Views: 697
Message 1 of 9

Older T-30 out of my closet almost boots

I have this older T30 2366-87U 2.0 CPU, 2 GB MB.  I charged the battery and it booted to 'Fan Error'.  After reading up on that, pulled it cleaned and new artic silver.   I could boot to BIOS but not to windows. (tried the good HD from my 2366-21U 2.2CPU, 2 GB MB, 160 HD.) I finally noticed it would boot to a charged battery, but not to AC and Batt.  It updates utilities fine now.   I am surprised it boots at all after years in my closet with a 'possible bad mobo note' on it.   Will keep using it now and then.  wonder what a battery costs these days?

  this might have been a 1.8 CPU before I started swapping parts.  great old T-30's!

Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Posts: 10,283
Registered: ‎01-01-2010
Location: US
Views: 670
Message 2 of 9

Re: Older T-30 out of my closet almost boots

If it won't start with A/C, how doi you plan to use it?  I always tell people never to buy aftermarket batteries, but I would be surprised if Lenovo is making new ones.  At least, be careful not to buy any battery with very old cells


Rich


I do not respond to requests for private, one-on-one help. Your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where they may help others as well.

If a response answers your question, please mark it as the accepted solution.

I am not an employee or agent of Lenovo.
ran23
802.11n
Posts: 502
Registered: ‎04-15-2013
Location: US
Views: 668
Message 3 of 9

Re: Older T-30 out of my closet almost boots

It starts fine on charged battery then plug in AC.   It has been running a simple game for the last 3 hours fine.    Love those old T-30's.

ran23
802.11n
Posts: 502
Registered: ‎04-15-2013
Location: US
Views: 658
Message 4 of 9

Re: Older T-30 out of my closet almost boots

Realized it asked for time//date. Guess a new CMOS is in order if want to keep it.
ran23
802.11n
Posts: 502
Registered: ‎04-15-2013
Location: US
Views: 604
Message 5 of 9

Re: Older T-30 out of my closet almost boots

Getting harder and harder to boot up. This is all hardware, no point in reloading software?
Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Posts: 10,283
Registered: ‎01-01-2010
Location: US
Views: 589
Message 6 of 9

Re: Older T-30 out of my closet almost boots

sounds like hardware.  If I remember correctly, the biggest issue with that model was the memory slots' solder joints cracking from pressure from HDD above them.  You might try using a single slot, but the machine might just be tired.


Rich


I do not respond to requests for private, one-on-one help. Your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where they may help others as well.

If a response answers your question, please mark it as the accepted solution.

I am not an employee or agent of Lenovo.
ran23
802.11n
Posts: 502
Registered: ‎04-15-2013
Location: US
Views: 585
Message 7 of 9

Re: Older T-30 out of my closet almost boots

Didn't think of trying it with only one GB Stick,  will later.   The Windows Update did surprise me.    thanks

ran23
802.11n
Posts: 502
Registered: ‎04-15-2013
Location: US
Views: 562
Message 8 of 9

Re: Older T-30 out of my closet almost boots

Wow!!  Pulled out the outside stick and it booted sooner, only 1 gb though.  Apacer pc2700 ???  I pulled some Kington KVR memory out of the working 2.2 T-30 and it boots right up.   the 2.2 boots with the Apacer, I'm not picky right now.   Great idea!--Thank You

Highlighted
ran23
802.11n
Posts: 502
Registered: ‎04-15-2013
Location: US
Views: 184
Message 9 of 9

Re: Older T-30 out of my closet almost boots

this one is dead now.  My last T-30 2.2 cpu runs fine still.  occasional  old Sim city game.  

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals