English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad; T61 and prior T series plus Other Legacy ThinkPads
All Forum Topics
Options

50 Posts

05-31-2010

Canaduh

258 Signins

937 Page Views

  • Posts: 50
  • Registered: ‎05-31-2010
  • Location: Canaduh
  • Views: 937
  • Message 1 of 6

RS232 in Windows XP with PIC programmer

2010-12-27, 15:27 PM

I would like to reprogram a EEPROM, however it seems that my Serial Port does not provide power when I enter Windows XP. Under Linux, the JDM PIC programmer's LED lights up, however I need to use Ponyprog in Windows.

 

I see there is power to the programmer just until I enter Windows.

 

Any ideas?

 

Thanks

T61p T7500, Quadro FX 570M, 4GB, 60GB Patriot Pyro, XP Pro
X61t Tablet, L7300 Centrino vPro, Windows 7 Home 64-bit
tpfancontrol installed on all systems
Reply
Options

1214 Posts

12-24-2010

Perth, Australia

259 Signins

21576 Page Views

  • Posts: 1214
  • Registered: ‎12-24-2010
  • Location: Perth, Australia
  • Views: 21576
  • Message 2 of 6

Re: RS232 in Windows XP with PIC programmer

2010-12-28, 10:52 AM

Hello mate,

 

Try to see in the device manager if windows does not turn off the port to save energy.

It's the only option I see for the moment. I try to look further if it's not the problem.

__________________________________________________________________________________

Knowledge is of two kinds. We know a subject ourselves, or we know where we can find information on it.


ThinkPad T510 4313-CTO Windows 8 x64 - Intel Core i7-620M - NVIDIA NVS 3100M - 8GB RAM - 240GB SSD- Intel Centrino Ultimate-N 6300 - Gobi 2000.
ThinkPad Helix 3697-CTO Windows 8.1 x64 - Intel Core i7-3667U - Intel HD Graphics 4000 - 8GB RAM- 256GB SSD - Intel Centrino Advanced-N 6205 - Ericsson C5621gw

Reply
Options

1214 Posts

12-24-2010

Perth, Australia

259 Signins

21576 Page Views

  • Posts: 1214
  • Registered: ‎12-24-2010
  • Location: Perth, Australia
  • Views: 21576
  • Message 3 of 6

Re: RS232 in Windows XP with PIC programmer

2010-12-28, 10:55 AM

You can also have a look there : http://support.microsoft.com/kb/819036

__________________________________________________________________________________

Knowledge is of two kinds. We know a subject ourselves, or we know where we can find information on it.


ThinkPad T510 4313-CTO Windows 8 x64 - Intel Core i7-620M - NVIDIA NVS 3100M - 8GB RAM - 240GB SSD- Intel Centrino Ultimate-N 6300 - Gobi 2000.
ThinkPad Helix 3697-CTO Windows 8.1 x64 - Intel Core i7-3667U - Intel HD Graphics 4000 - 8GB RAM- 256GB SSD - Intel Centrino Advanced-N 6205 - Ericsson C5621gw

Reply
Options

1944 Posts

05-17-2008

USA

4725 Signins

59404 Page Views

  • Posts: 1944
  • Registered: ‎05-17-2008
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 59404
  • Message 4 of 6

Re: RS232 in Windows XP with PIC programmer

2010-12-29, 8:15 AM
you need to enable it in BIOs setup



_______________________________
Thinkpad R61 7733-1GU
Thinkpad X61T 7762-54U
Thinkpad X60T 6363-4GU
_______________________________

Did a member help you today? Thank them with a Kudo!

If a post answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!

Regards,
GMAC
Reply
Options

50 Posts

05-31-2010

Canaduh

258 Signins

937 Page Views

  • Posts: 50
  • Registered: ‎05-31-2010
  • Location: Canaduh
  • Views: 937
  • Message 5 of 6

Re: RS232 in Windows XP with PIC programmer

2011-01-04, 14:19 PM

Hello,

 

Thanks for the suggestions. I tried using the COMdisable tool from Microsoft, but it has not changed the status of the status of the port. It is still visible in the Device Manager as serial port COM3.

 

Needless to say, the BIOS does have the serial port enabled.

 

Unfortunately I have the same results using this Thinkpad A31 on a dock!

 

Cheers

T61p T7500, Quadro FX 570M, 4GB, 60GB Patriot Pyro, XP Pro
X61t Tablet, L7300 Centrino vPro, Windows 7 Home 64-bit
tpfancontrol installed on all systems
Reply
Options

1214 Posts

12-24-2010

Perth, Australia

259 Signins

21576 Page Views

  • Posts: 1214
  • Registered: ‎12-24-2010
  • Location: Perth, Australia
  • Views: 21576
  • Message 6 of 6

Re: RS232 in Windows XP with PIC programmer

2011-01-07, 3:38 AM

Apparently it's a problem of I/O port. Windows XP have a strict control over I/O port.

 

Have a look there : http://www.beyondlogic.org/porttalk/porttalk.htm

 

Hope it will help

__________________________________________________________________________________

Knowledge is of two kinds. We know a subject ourselves, or we know where we can find information on it.


ThinkPad T510 4313-CTO Windows 8 x64 - Intel Core i7-620M - NVIDIA NVS 3100M - 8GB RAM - 240GB SSD- Intel Centrino Ultimate-N 6300 - Gobi 2000.
ThinkPad Helix 3697-CTO Windows 8.1 x64 - Intel Core i7-3667U - Intel HD Graphics 4000 - 8GB RAM- 256GB SSD - Intel Centrino Advanced-N 6205 - Ericsson C5621gw

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save