cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Thuso
Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-29-2009
Location: Columbus, OHIO
Views: 895
Message 1 of 6

Replace Hard Drive in T61

I want to upgrade to a larger hard drive.  How do I transfer the operating system, all programs, and data to the new hard drive?

durrell62
Punch Card
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎09-24-2009
Location: usa
Views: 886
Message 2 of 6

Re: Replace Hard Drive in T61

one of the reviews of this usb hdd adapter actualy mentions an upgrading a hard drive from an IBM thinkpad.

 

simular adapters are available at geeks.com and tigerdirect.com

 

APRICORN ADW-USB-KIT IDE/PATA/SATA to USB HDD Adapter - Retail

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16812161002&cm_re=usb_to_sata-_-12-161-002-_-Pro...

lead_org Microsoft MVP Contributor
Microsoft MVP Contributor
Posts: 21,009
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Views: 883
Message 3 of 6

Re: Replace Hard Drive in T61

go into your thinkvantage software lists in your start, program, and choose create recovery media, and select create recovery discs (3 dvd).

 

After that transfer a copy of the rescue and recovery backup files either to external hdd or dvds.

 

Now use the recovery discs to reimage the new hdd with the recovery partition and OS + drivers, by choosing to recover to full factory conditions, this should be all automated other than inserting the discs and entering a couple of settings, take around 1 hour or so.

 

After you have the new OS + drivers up and running, run the rescue and recovery software again and restore the backup that you saved.

 

Now everything should be back to the same as you have left it before you upgrade the hdd. 

Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
durrell62
Punch Card
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎09-24-2009
Location: usa
Views: 878
Message 4 of 6

Re: Replace Hard Drive in T61

interesting does recovery media also recover programs like microsoft office?

lead_org Microsoft MVP Contributor
Microsoft MVP Contributor
Posts: 21,009
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Views: 875
Message 5 of 6

Re: Replace Hard Drive in T61

no, but the rescue and recovery back should save a copy of the program for reloading when you reload the backup. 

Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Thuso
Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-29-2009
Location: Columbus, OHIO
Views: 871
Message 6 of 6

Re: Replace Hard Drive in T61

Thanks.  That sounds quite straightforward.  My primary concern is all the programs I have installed.  I regularly backup my data.  I was not aware that creating backup and recovery files in the Rescue and Recovery program would also create an image of the programs insalled.

 

I will try this.  Looking forward to an easy transfer.

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors