Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad; T61 and prior T series plus Other Legacy ThinkPads
All Forum Topics
Options

50 Posts

05-08-2008

United States of America

153 Signins

576 Page Views

  • Posts: 50
  • Registered: ‎05-08-2008
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 576
  • Message 1 of 8

Rescue & Recovery Backups

2009-01-05, 5:01 AM

Hi All,

 

I have one backup that is 11 GB, but the rest are about 2 GB.  It is the first backup, so I am wondering whether I can delete it as I am already at 5 backups, and I am trying to reduce space used on the harddrive.

 

How do you tell if a backup is incremental or a full backup?

 

Once you have started backups, can you move them to another drive, such as the recommended USB harddrive?

 

Thanks,

Vince

 

Vince
T60p, Model 8743CTO, CPU T7200 Core II Duo, RAM 2 GB, Mobility ATI
Reply
Options

170 Posts

12-14-2008

United States

324 Signins

2878 Page Views

  • Posts: 170
  • Registered: ‎12-14-2008
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 2878
  • Message 2 of 8

Re: Rescue & Recovery Backups

2009-01-13, 2:02 AM
I'm also highly interested in the answer to this question~
Reply
Options

64 Posts

10-05-2008

atlanta, Ga

41 Signins

1062 Page Views

  • Posts: 64
  • Registered: ‎10-05-2008
  • Location: atlanta, Ga
  • Views: 1062
  • Message 3 of 8

Re: Rescue & Recovery Backups

2009-01-13, 8:54 AM
The first backup is the base and all the others are incrimintal to the base. You can change how it backs uop in rescue and recovery .You can also move the backups to an external drive through the same program. If you want to restore to a back up it can also be done through windows and rescue and recovery. Hope yhat answers your questions.
Reply
Options

170 Posts

12-14-2008

United States

324 Signins

2878 Page Views

  • Posts: 170
  • Registered: ‎12-14-2008
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 2878
  • Message 4 of 8

Re: Rescue & Recovery Backups

2009-01-13, 17:50 PM
RR seems to remember where the backups are. How do we move the created RRBAckups/ folder? Will that lead to confusion?

Thanks.
Reply
Options

50 Posts

05-08-2008

United States of America

153 Signins

576 Page Views

  • Posts: 50
  • Registered: ‎05-08-2008
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 576
  • Message 5 of 8

Re: Rescue & Recovery Backups

2009-01-14, 18:18 PM

I did move them to a backup USB hard drive and deleted the ones on my main drive.  I found it up in the pull-down menus in the Advanced version, which I didn't realize were there before.  It seemed to work fine.  Thanks for that.

 

It sounds as if I should keep the first backup, then delete the oldest incremental backups as I run out of space.  Does that sound right to you?

 

Thanks,

Vince

Vince
T60p, Model 8743CTO, CPU T7200 Core II Duo, RAM 2 GB, Mobility ATI
Reply
Options

170 Posts

12-14-2008

United States

324 Signins

2878 Page Views

  • Posts: 170
  • Registered: ‎12-14-2008
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 2878
  • Message 6 of 8

Re: Rescue & Recovery Backups

2009-01-17, 1:54 AM
This is still yet to be verified.


On my Vista, I shrinked the C partition and created a new D partition. A RR backup of C/Q/S partitions done (excluding D partition). If I select "recovery all files on hard drive" with a backup that only covers C/Q/S partitions, will my D partition be kept intact?

I don't like the ambiguous descriptions used in RR that assumes all users use the software in the same way, on a setting that was done in the factory ...

Thanks!
Reply
Options

170 Posts

12-14-2008

United States

324 Signins

2878 Page Views

  • Posts: 170
  • Registered: ‎12-14-2008
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 2878
  • Message 7 of 8

Re: Rescue & Recovery Backups

2009-02-02, 19:45 PM
Tried myself and verified here:

On my Vista, I shrinked the C partition and created a new D partition. A RR backup of C/Q/S partitions done (excluding D partition). If I select "recovery all files on hard drive" with a backup that only covers C/Q/S partitions, my D partition IS kept intact.
Reply
Options

1 Posts

02-20-2009

USA

3 Signins

68 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎02-20-2009
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 68
  • Message 8 of 8

Re: Rescue & Recovery Backups

2009-02-20, 18:35 PM

I have a R&R related question.  I own a T43p, and for some reason one day it started giving me an error message saying the backup could not be complete because it cannot find the file (rrcmd.exe).  I've searched for the file and have tried to direct it to the location and it won't stick.  So now I cannot backup anything.  Does anyone know 1) what is wrong, 2) how to fix this?  Also, would there be any benefit to just taking a full backup (with i.e. Norton 360) and imaging my HD and then reformmating?  There are also other issues now with my lovely laptop, but do not fall within this discussion.

 

Thank you for any insight!

 

Courtney

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms