English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad; T61 and prior T series plus Other Legacy ThinkPads
All Forum Topics
Options

70 Posts

02-23-2008

US

125 Signins

1035 Page Views

  • Posts: 70
  • Registered: ‎02-23-2008
  • Location: US
  • Views: 1035
  • Message 1 of 21

SSD's Question

2011-03-12, 19:35 PM

Hello all - I Am considering a SSD upgrade to my  6465-63U machine and wanted some input as to a 256g+ drive. I did not find anything that size at the Lenovo store which I thought would work, so I come here to ask from the experienced ones!

 

What do you think and what are the recommendations?

 

TIA - Bo1953

T61, 6465, Vista
Reply
Options

137 Posts

12-08-2010

Bergen, Norway

275 Signins

1084 Page Views

  • Posts: 137
  • Registered: ‎12-08-2010
  • Location: Bergen, Norway
  • Views: 1084
  • Message 2 of 21

Re: SSD's Question

2011-03-13, 23:19 PM

The only thing limiting which drive you can use, that be a normal HD or an SSD, is the physical size of the drive itself - it cannot be thicker than 9.5mm. That's the only limit, regardless of which drives are available or recommended by Lenovo.

 

As for which SSD you'd want, I'd personally recommend a max size of 128GB, since anything more than that is gonna be ridiculously expensive, but feel free. As for which brand or type, I'd recommend reading up on tests - Corsair and Intel are usually good.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
IT-technician, running my own company in Bergen, Norway
Thinkpad T61, 8895CTO C2D 2Ghz/4GB/120GB SSD/1400x1050
Reply
Options

70 Posts

02-23-2008

US

125 Signins

1035 Page Views

  • Posts: 70
  • Registered: ‎02-23-2008
  • Location: US
  • Views: 1035
  • Message 3 of 21

Re: SSD's Question

2011-03-14, 0:51 AM
PoPSiCle - Thank you for the reply. Currently, I have a 160g HD which is almost full and as such need to move up, if I Am going to do this. Do I need to worry about which type of SATA it is? Thanks...
T61, 6465, Vista
Reply
Options

208 Posts

11-08-2010

BC, Canada

3129 Signins

7207 Page Views

  • Posts: 208
  • Registered: ‎11-08-2010
  • Location: BC, Canada
  • Views: 7207
  • Message 4 of 21

Re: SSD's Question

2011-03-14, 6:53 AM

No- SATA III drives automatically downshift to work within the bounds of SATA II drives.

The one thing you need to know is that the T61 has a certain limitation in that it only actually performs at an SATA I level (that's 150 MB/s.) 

 

There exists a workaround BIOS  that will enable the full 300 MB/s (it also does other stuff)- just search for 'T61 SATA 2' on Google and you should find it no problem, though beware that it will void any remaining warranties on your machine, and is risky to install (just like any other BIOS upgrade).

 

So if you use this mod, you'll want something with a Sandforce controller for maximum all-around performance. 

Crucial and Intel drives are good too, though the RealSSD C300 is limited somewhat by the fact that you are hooking it to an SATA II interface, and the Intel drive has better boot performance than SandForce drives but lags in pretty much everything else.

 

Even if you don't perform the mod, the above still holds true.

 

 

Be aware that an SSD that's over 160 GB will consume over 350 dollars of your cash.

 

Also, beware of OCZ.  They have an 'issue' with a certain kind of flash (their new drives, the ones whose part number ends in E, are slower and smaller than ones that don't end in E: and even if you buy a "non E model" there are no guarantees that you'll not recieve a handicapped one). 

They are a good bit cheaper when it comes to large capacities, though- so you need to decide: cheap or fast.

 

Also, you should still take a look at the dimensions when you've found a drive you want, though I believe they all come in 9.5 mm sizes.  Just don't pick a 3.5" drive.

Reply
Options

70 Posts

02-23-2008

US

125 Signins

1035 Page Views

  • Posts: 70
  • Registered: ‎02-23-2008
  • Location: US
  • Views: 1035
  • Message 5 of 21

Re: SSD's Question

2011-03-14, 12:12 PM
Q-Ball - Thank you for the insight. Incredibly helpful... Additional questions:
1) 34 or 44 pin?
2) OCZ is a drive you would not recommend I consider at this time..

TIA...
T61, 6465, Vista
Reply
Options

208 Posts

11-08-2010

BC, Canada

3129 Signins

7207 Page Views

  • Posts: 208
  • Registered: ‎11-08-2010
  • Location: BC, Canada
  • Views: 7207
  • Message 6 of 21

Re: SSD's Question

2011-03-14, 16:07 PM
1.) None of the above (34 pins is ExpressCard, 44 pins is PATA- for reference, an SATA data cable has 7 conductors)

2.) It's alright to consider it, just be mindful of the risks. (And keep a full backup of data just in case- that applies to any SSD you buy.)
Reply
Options

70 Posts

02-23-2008

US

125 Signins

1035 Page Views

  • Posts: 70
  • Registered: ‎02-23-2008
  • Location: US
  • Views: 1035
  • Message 7 of 21

Re: SSD's Question

2011-03-16, 21:04 PM
Q-Ball and anyone else...

What, if anything, can I do to upgrade to SATA II or SATA III, does that mean Mobo? If so, which one will work in my system?

As far as SSD sizes go, they are 1.8" and 2.5" too. Per Lenovo's store they show a 1.8" SSD. Does physical size matter vs data capacity?

Thank you again all...
T61, 6465, Vista
Reply
Options

7638 Posts

11-24-2007

USA

5818 Signins

103093 Page Views

  • Posts: 7638
  • Registered: ‎11-24-2007
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 103093
  • Message 8 of 21

Re: SSD's Question

2011-03-16, 23:48 PM

You can't upgrade to SATA III.


You need a modded BIOS on that T61 to run at SATA 3.0 (aka SATA II) speeds.


You can use a 1.8" SSD with a proper adapter. No need to buy a SSD direct from Lenovo, BTW...

Cheers,

George




In daily use: R60F, R500F, T61, T410

Collecting dust: T60

Enjoying retirement: A31p, T42p,

Non-ThinkPads: Panasonic CF-31 & CF-52, HP 8760W




Starting Thursday, 08/14/2014 I'll be away from the forums until further notice. Please do NOT send private messages since I won't be able to read them. Thank you.
.
Reply
Options

208 Posts

11-08-2010

BC, Canada

3129 Signins

7207 Page Views

  • Posts: 208
  • Registered: ‎11-08-2010
  • Location: BC, Canada
  • Views: 7207
  • Message 9 of 21

Re: SSD's Question

2011-03-16, 23:51 PM
The fastest transfer rate you can get is SATA II @ 300 MB/s, and that's with the modded BIOS.

Unmodded, the fastest rate you get is 150 MB/s (though it's still an SATA II controller).

SATA II to SATA III -> Physically impossible (not even the T410 has this yet).

No, it doesn't matter what physical size. Just how many Gigabytes.

Also, 2.5" drives are usually cheaper than 1.8" drives of the same capacity. And both *should* fit into the bay, but the 2.5" one will fit better.
Reply
Options

1 Posts

08-21-2013

wichita, ks

1 Signins

23 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎08-21-2013
  • Location: wichita, ks
  • Views: 23
  • Message 10 of 21

Re: SSD's Question

2013-08-21, 20:35 PM

i have a thinkpad T61 and running win 7 home premium dual boot with ubuntu.. would adding the SSD sata II work with my ubuntu since that is what i use most of the time??

 

really wanting to speed up my computer since a already maxed out my ram and it still crashes when i try playing minecraft (FTB) or starcraft II

Reply
Options

7638 Posts

11-24-2007

USA

5818 Signins

103093 Page Views

  • Posts: 7638
  • Registered: ‎11-24-2007
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 103093
  • Message 11 of 21

Re: SSD's Question

2013-08-22, 2:50 AM

wrote:

i have a thinkpad T61 and running win 7 home premium dual boot with ubuntu.. would adding the SSD sata II work with my ubuntu since that is what i use most of the time??

 


Yes. SSD will play nice with Ubuntu as well as with W7.

 

Modded BIOS mentioned previously might be worth looking into as well.

 

Happy upgrading.

Cheers,

George




In daily use: R60F, R500F, T61, T410

Collecting dust: T60

Enjoying retirement: A31p, T42p,

Non-ThinkPads: Panasonic CF-31 & CF-52, HP 8760W




Starting Thursday, 08/14/2014 I'll be away from the forums until further notice. Please do NOT send private messages since I won't be able to read them. Thank you.
.
Reply
Options

63 Posts

11-02-2008

Minneapolis, MN

342 Signins

1821 Page Views

  • Posts: 63
  • Registered: ‎11-02-2008
  • Location: Minneapolis, MN
  • Views: 1821
  • Message 12 of 21

Re: SSD's Question

2013-09-01, 18:30 PM

You might find Tom's Hardware's "Best SSD's for the Money: August 2013" useful. http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/ssd-recommendation-benchmark,3269.html

Reply
Options

166 Posts

07-23-2013

Scotland

689 Signins

2981 Page Views

  • Posts: 166
  • Registered: ‎07-23-2013
  • Location: Scotland
  • Views: 2981
  • Message 13 of 21

Re: SSD's Question

2013-09-02, 10:44 AM

"The fastest transfer rate you can get is SATA II @ 300 MB/s, and that's with the modded BIOS." ??

Not on this t61, not all t61 needs the bios mod (Middleton) some have sata 2 out of the factory.

The only reason I mention this as a lot of people are reluctant to change bios for fear of bricking machine..

I have latest bios and 285mbps ssd, (no bios MOD required)

Cheers Paul :-)
T61,T9300,4GB,SSD,DVDRW,3G,Sata2,14.1-(4:3),IntelX3100,x2usb3 express, Win-10


Reply
Options

541 Posts

09-10-2009

USA

324 Signins

5965 Page Views

  • Posts: 541
  • Registered: ‎09-10-2009
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 5965
  • Message 14 of 21

Re: SSD's Question

2013-09-05, 3:23 AM
I put in a Samsung 840 - worked great in my T61p. Probably only SATA I speed, but still 10x faster than the old travelstar.
T61p, T400
formerly x23, x40
Reply
Options

166 Posts

07-23-2013

Scotland

689 Signins

2981 Page Views

  • Posts: 166
  • Registered: ‎07-23-2013
  • Location: Scotland
  • Views: 2981
  • Message 15 of 21

Re: SSD's Question

2013-09-05, 9:01 AM

it has to be said that the SSD works extremely well in T61, are you not bothered about unleashing the sata2 speeds?? it seems a shame to only be restricted to sata1 with SSD,

Cheers Paul :-)
T61,T9300,4GB,SSD,DVDRW,3G,Sata2,14.1-(4:3),IntelX3100,x2usb3 express, Win-10


Reply
Options

541 Posts

09-10-2009

USA

324 Signins

5965 Page Views

  • Posts: 541
  • Registered: ‎09-10-2009
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 5965
  • Message 16 of 21

Re: SSD's Question

2013-09-05, 18:31 PM

The difference from a mechanical HD on SATA 1 and SSD on SATA 1 is MUCH greater than the difference between SSD on SATA 1 or 2.  That could be an extra incramental improvement, but not a hack I am going to do on a corporate supported machine.

T61p, T400
formerly x23, x40
Reply
Options

7638 Posts

11-24-2007

USA

5818 Signins

103093 Page Views

  • Posts: 7638
  • Registered: ‎11-24-2007
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 103093
  • Message 17 of 21

Re: SSD's Question

2013-09-06, 0:12 AM

wrote:

 

Not on this t61, not all t61 needs the bios mod (Middleton) some have sata 2 out of the factory.

The only reason I mention this as a lot of people are reluctant to change bios for fear of bricking machine..

I have latest bios and 285mbps ssd, (no bios MOD required)


This is incorrect.

 

Every single R/T/X61 left the factory with the SATA I limitation. Period.

Cheers,

George




In daily use: R60F, R500F, T61, T410

Collecting dust: T60

Enjoying retirement: A31p, T42p,

Non-ThinkPads: Panasonic CF-31 & CF-52, HP 8760W




Starting Thursday, 08/14/2014 I'll be away from the forums until further notice. Please do NOT send private messages since I won't be able to read them. Thank you.
.
Reply
Options

166 Posts

07-23-2013

Scotland

689 Signins

2981 Page Views

  • Posts: 166
  • Registered: ‎07-23-2013
  • Location: Scotland
  • Views: 2981
  • Message 18 of 21

Re: SSD's Question

2013-09-06, 12:12 PM
total nonsense, I have latest bios and sata 2, please explain??
Cheers Paul :-)
T61,T9300,4GB,SSD,DVDRW,3G,Sata2,14.1-(4:3),IntelX3100,x2usb3 express, Win-10


Reply
Options

7638 Posts

11-24-2007

USA

5818 Signins

103093 Page Views

  • Posts: 7638
  • Registered: ‎11-24-2007
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 103093
  • Message 19 of 21

Re: SSD's Question

2013-09-07, 2:51 AM

wrote:
total nonsense, I have latest bios and sata 2, please explain??

Are you the original owner of the machine in question?

 

I've owned *very* late units from *61 generation and *all* of them were running at SATA I speeds prior to modded BIOS.

Cheers,

George




In daily use: R60F, R500F, T61, T410

Collecting dust: T60

Enjoying retirement: A31p, T42p,

Non-ThinkPads: Panasonic CF-31 & CF-52, HP 8760W




Starting Thursday, 08/14/2014 I'll be away from the forums until further notice. Please do NOT send private messages since I won't be able to read them. Thank you.
.
Reply
Options

166 Posts

07-23-2013

Scotland

689 Signins

2981 Page Views

  • Posts: 166
  • Registered: ‎07-23-2013
  • Location: Scotland
  • Views: 2981
  • Message 20 of 21

Re: SSD's Question

2013-09-07, 14:50 PM
ok, I am the second owner of this machine, ive emailed the original owner and he states the machine did have a modded bios at 1 stage but he reverted back to the Lenovo bios when he sold the machine, I can confirm I have the Lenovo bios, would this explain things? if I remember correctly when I upgraded the ram the mobo is 08/08, x3100, don't recall the fru but its the later decent 1 , 14" standard screen.
Cheers Paul :-)
T61,T9300,4GB,SSD,DVDRW,3G,Sata2,14.1-(4:3),IntelX3100,x2usb3 express, Win-10


Reply
Options

7638 Posts

11-24-2007

USA

5818 Signins

103093 Page Views

  • Posts: 7638
  • Registered: ‎11-24-2007
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 103093
  • Message 21 of 21

Re: SSD's Question

2013-09-08, 2:31 AM

wrote:
ok, I am the second owner of this machine, ive emailed the original owner and he states the machine did have a modded bios at 1 stage but he reverted back to the Lenovo bios when he sold the machine, I can confirm I have the Lenovo bios, would this explain things? if I remember correctly when I upgraded the ram the mobo is 08/08, x3100, don't recall the fru but its the later decent 1 , 14" standard screen.

I guess that it could explain it to a degree, although I think we're missing a part of the story.

 

The bottom line is, none of these machines - unless yours happen to be a testbed/engineering sample - ever left the factory with SATA II enabled. Anyone who works for Lenovo will tell you the same thing.

 

No clue on my end how the latest BIOS affects the modded one, though. Happy with what I have on my *61 machines, and am not planning on re-flashing it with the newest one from Lenovo.

Cheers,

George




In daily use: R60F, R500F, T61, T410

Collecting dust: T60

Enjoying retirement: A31p, T42p,

Non-ThinkPads: Panasonic CF-31 & CF-52, HP 8760W




Starting Thursday, 08/14/2014 I'll be away from the forums until further notice. Please do NOT send private messages since I won't be able to read them. Thank you.
.
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save