Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Welcome to the Lenovo Community

Welcome to the Forums!

Welcome to Lenovo's Peer-to-Peer Discussion Community!
Please note our guidelines. How to register and login and Community FAQs.
Shape the Future of PCs

Help Lenovo Shape the Future of PCs

Take the ownership survey. Share your ideas with our product team
Community Spotlight

Visit the Lenovo Blogs!

Check out the ThinkPad Time Machine
Visit the Community Spotlight Blog
Windows  10

Are you ready for Windows 10?

Get to know Windows 10
Visit the Windows 10 Support Center
Reply
Paper Tape
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-08-2009
Location: Juneau Alaska
0 Kudos

T40 WLAN With WPA/WPA2

Hello, I have a T40, that runs great, but I am trying to connect to my Airport Extreme that is currently set to use WPA/WPA2 incryption.  I have loaded all of the XP Professional updates available and can not connect.  I have other PCs using this router.  Is it possible for the wireless card that came with this machine to connect this way?  If so, which firmware upgrade(s) is needed?

 

Thanks,

Don

Posts: 7,626
Kudos: 759
Solutions: 802
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: USA
0 Kudos

Re: T40 WLAN With WPA/WPA2

What's the 7-character model number of your T40? 237?-???
Cheers,

George




In daily use: R60F, R500F, T61, T410

Collecting dust: T60

Enjoying retirement: A31p, T42p,

Non-ThinkPads: Panasonic CF-31 & CF-52, HP 8760W




Starting Thursday, 08/14/2014 I'll be away from the forums until further notice. Please do NOT send private messages since I won't be able to read them. Thank you.
.
Paper Tape
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-10-2009
Location: USA
0 Kudos

Re: T40 WLAN With WPA/WPA2

[ Edited ]

I have the same problem ... a T40 running XP SP3 cannot connect to a WPA/WPA2 network using an Airport Extreme router. The same computer used to connect to an Airport Express using WEP with no problem. I tried updating the wireless card driver (versions available as of late December 2008) and IBM/Lenovo's "access connections" software. Sometimes I can get Windows to see the network, and it identifies it as a WPA network, but it can't connect. I would appreciate any advice on settings. There's more: It appeared that maybe the Access Connections software was competing with Windows for setup, so I uninstalled AC, which didn't help, then I was going to disable the wireless card and re-enable it, but now that I've disabled the card I can't re-enable it, and get a software error message when I try. There may be several things going on here, but any insight would help. 

 

(PS it is a T40 2373-19U ... the wireless is what came with it ... Intel Pro Wireless 2100 3B Mini PCI)

Message Edited by hb80 on 02-10-2009 10:42 AM
Posts: 7,626
Kudos: 759
Solutions: 802
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: USA
0 Kudos

Re: T40 WLAN With WPA/WPA2

@hb80:

 

Your card doesn't support anything but WEP...time to upgrade it I guess...

 

Good luck.

Cheers,

George




In daily use: R60F, R500F, T61, T410

Collecting dust: T60

Enjoying retirement: A31p, T42p,

Non-ThinkPads: Panasonic CF-31 & CF-52, HP 8760W




Starting Thursday, 08/14/2014 I'll be away from the forums until further notice. Please do NOT send private messages since I won't be able to read them. Thank you.
.
Paper Tape
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-10-2009
Location: USA
0 Kudos

Re: T40 WLAN With WPA/WPA2

Thanks George. That was what I thought, then I saw online somewhere that the card supports WPA, AES, TKIP and LEAP. I realize that not everything out there is accurate, but I was hoping. Where do I go to get a definitive answer? Also, I know how to find out what kind of memory I can use with the T40, but how do I find out what wireless cards I can install in place of the 2100?Is there a utility? Thanks for your response!
Posts: 7,626
Kudos: 759
Solutions: 802
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: USA
0 Kudos

Re: T40 WLAN With WPA/WPA2

Take a look at this page, any card listed under # 14 will work:

 

http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/document.do?sitestyle=lenovo&lndocid=MIGR-46474

 

Hope this helps.

Cheers,

George




In daily use: R60F, R500F, T61, T410

Collecting dust: T60

Enjoying retirement: A31p, T42p,

Non-ThinkPads: Panasonic CF-31 & CF-52, HP 8760W




Starting Thursday, 08/14/2014 I'll be away from the forums until further notice. Please do NOT send private messages since I won't be able to read them. Thank you.
.
Paper Tape
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-08-2009
Location: Juneau Alaska
0 Kudos

Re: T40 WLAN With WPA/WPA2

Thanks to George and others who responded.  I was hoping not to spend any money on this machine, but maybe I will buy a new card.  Is it possible to get a WAP compatible card for the T40?  My Airport Extreme can be dumbed down to WEP, but I do not want to do that.

 

Thanks Again,

Don