cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
mjelenovo
Paper Tape
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-09-2010
Location: U.S.A
Views: 4,646
Message 11 of 17

Re: T60 Upgrading CPU/processor question

I have t T60 (1953-CTO) with T5500 @ 1.66GHz.
  (Phoenix FirstBIOS(tm) Notebook Pro Version 2.0 for ThinkPad)

I upgraded to BIOS version 2.26 (79ETE6WW).

I was hoping to find a way to enable Intel VT.

The only BIOS setting I see is
Config

    CPU
        Core Multi-Processing                       [Enabled]

 

Other posts have mentioned a

    CPU

        Intel Virtualization Technology (VT-X)

 

The info show the BIOS at 2.26

 

Am I missing something?

Any ideas on how to enable VT-x?

 

 

 

 

Community SuperMod
Community SuperMod
Posts: 4,753
Registered: ‎04-25-2008
Location: US
Views: 4,635
Message 12 of 17

Re: T60 Upgrading CPU/processor question

Hi mjelenovo, and welcome to the Lenovo User Community!

 

Unfortunately the T5500 does not support virtualization Smiley Sad.

 

I note that you no longer need VT to run Windows 7 XP mode, if that is your goal.

I don't work for Lenovo. I'm a crazy volunteer!
mjelenovo
Paper Tape
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-09-2010
Location: U.S.A
Views: 4,605
Message 13 of 17

Re: T60 Upgrading CPU/processor question

Thanks Bananaman,

 

I just found that out @

 http://ark.intel.com/Product.aspx?id=27253


I was actually trying to run QNX in a VirtualBox.

VirtualBox's error was "VT-X/AMD-V hardware acceleration has been enabled but is not

operational.  Certain guest (e.g. OS/2 and QNX) require this feature.

 

Please ensure that you have enabled VT-X/AMD-V properly in the BIOS of your host computer.

 

Oh well.

Thanks,

Merle

    You can't get there from here.

 

 

marigleni
What's DOS?
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-28-2012
Location: Greece
Views: 3,158
Message 14 of 17

Re: T60 Upgrading CPU/processor question

Hello mates, I bought a Lenovo T60 1951 59g. The laptop was in storage since the production date and it is new. I puted on it a 320GB Western Digital Blue caviar for a balanced performance and low power consumption. The memory that i installed is  3GB as is chipset limited. Now i am going to put a new CPU on it and propably  T7600 but i am not sure if it is supported. If somebody knows let inform me.

Thnx  

lead_org Microsoft MVP Contributor
Microsoft MVP Contributor
Posts: 21,009
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Views: 3,153
Message 15 of 17

Re: T60 Upgrading CPU/processor question

T7600 is supported on your particular model of T60.
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
boniholmes
SCSI Port
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎12-28-2011
Location: Poland and the Hungarian Empire
Views: 3,138
Message 16 of 17

Re: T60 Upgrading CPU/processor question

FYI, I have a T60, I upgraded the CPU to a T7200. It is 2 GHz, but more cheaper than the T7600. If you are on the budget, it could be a possible altrnative.

T410 2522-AT6 + Linux RHEL 6.6, T510 4349-3BG + Win 7 Pro
matt1968gto
What's DOS?
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-02-2016
Location: US
Views: 1,331
Message 17 of 17

Re: T60 Upgrading CPU/processor question

I have a T60 2008-cto does it support a upgrade to a t7200 ? cpuid says mainbord is a 2008-w19 and it currently has a t2500 installed. I want to use the t7200 to gain 64 bit and ram upgrades to higher gig's What Ram would this support if I was able to use the t7200 cpu? Also the mainbords rev is 03.

And we're back...

Move delayed but still coming

Learn More

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors