Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Highlighted
Ctrl-Alt-Del
Message 1 of 6 (21,451 Views)

T61 Very Hot! (T7700 CPU)

Hi all,

I have been using my T61 (7662-CTO) since May 2007. Recently I have been doing some heavy number crunching on it and noticed it has been getting very hot. I installed TPFanControl V0.55 and discovered that the CPU temperature was rising to 90˚C and sitting at mid 60’s during idle.

Although hot, the idle temperature is not alarming and did not cause me to be suspicious. I often leave the computer unattended when I let it do the number crunching – so it has taken me a while to notice it has been overheating. The fan is running nice and quietly at 3773RPM. In short, I am not too sure how long this has been a problem.

I have a T7700 processor installed. It has been difficult getting temperature figures for this chip in a T61. Forum posts seem to suggest idle/low CPU usage should create temperatures in the 40’s while heavy CPU usage should raise the temperature to 70’s.

Need I be alarmed guys?

When I have the spare time I will try cleaning the fan and see if that improves the situation. Worst comes to worst I will have to replace the fan. I am out of warranty and would hate to lose access to my laptop during the working week – so I have considered replacing the fan myself. I looked up replacement parts for T series 7662 machines and found:

• Toshiba (42W2462) - ~$77 AUD
  • Furukawa (44C0557) - ~$63 AUD
(At the IBM spare parts site)

What is the difference between these parts? I am reasonably technically inclined and have found the videos on the Lenovo Service and Support Training site detailing how the fan can be removed. Is attempting this procedure best left to service centres?

For now, by running my laptop on the “Maximum Battery Life” power plan and setting TPFanControl to 7 when in Manual mode, I can achieve a CPU temperature in the low 50s with low usage.