Did you mean: 
r2k
Blue Screen Again
Views: 23,269
Message 1 of 4

T61 "2100: HDD0 (Hard Disk drive) initialization error (2)"

URGENT!!!

NEED Help.

I am getting the following Error on my T61 laptop.

ERROR
2100: HDD0 (Hard Disk drive) initialization error (2)
Press <ESC> to continue

Got this error last week.

Tried to attached the seagate laptop HDD to another laptop and PC but it didnt work. It just frezees during boot.

I have noticed that the HDD makes some sound like a regular HDD but then stops.

I have attached another HDD on my laptop and it works just fine, but the original 1 hasent worked a day since the error occoured.

Please suggest what i should do as any update/patch is not possible as i am unable to boot into the bios with the HDD installed. also the HDD gets detected only on 1 PC when used as a primary HDD.

Im a novice but can follow instructions.

Awaitng some help as Data is important.

Thanks in advance.

Some additional Info:-

Using Windows7, no recent updates, recent software installed sandiebox, Changed HDD from 80GB seagate 5200 to 320GB HDD Seagate 7200 momentus.

Hope some1 can help spot some correcting factor.

Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Views: 23,249
Message 2 of 4

Re: T61 "2100: HDD0 (Hard Disk drive) initialization error (2)"

Hello,

That usually means the hard disk drive is failing.  Seagate does offer a diagnostic program called SeaTools for Windows here on their web site to test a hard disk drive to see if it is faulty or not.  That program needs to be installed onto a working Windows computer, after which the suspect hard disk drive can be plugged into it for testing.

If you do not have access to a separate computer to boot from and attach the suspect hard disk to, Seagate offers a version of the software here on their web site that can be written to a CD-R to make a boot CD for the computer.

Regards,

Aryeh Goretsky

I am a volunteer and neither a Lenovo nor a Microsoft employee.