Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Doughj3
Blue Screen Again
Views: 2,665
Message 1 of 10

T61p Sound Gone

Sometime between Yesterday and Today, my sound has gone missing. There is no icon on the system tray. When I go to control panel --> sound, it tells me no audio device is present. Device Manager doesn't show anything as missing drivers or disabled (no red x's, no yellow ?'s). I have tried reinstalling the audio driver from lenovo's website, no good. I have tried system restore, didn't help. 

Why don't I have sound? 

lyvwhyr
802.11n
Views: 2,653
Message 2 of 10

Re: T61p Sound Gone

Out of curiousity do you have XP and have updated your system to Service pack 3 lately. You can check this by right clicking "My Computer" in the start menu and going to "Properties"
Doughj3
Blue Screen Again
Views: 2,649
Message 3 of 10

I do use XP with SP3, but I have been doing so for the past four months without issue.
phgregoire
Paper Tape
Views: 2,628
Message 4 of 10

Re: T61p Sound Gone and other subsystems too

I have the same kind of issue, not only with sound but also with other hardware subsystems, mainly mouse and keyboard, and I suspect also video (less often).

What happens is that when I restore out of sleep or hibernate, I randomly loose keyboard (unable to type password), or mouse (either trackpad or trackpoint or both), and/or sound. Once in a while the machine wakes up to a black screen, I suspect video driver is gone.

What I do is that I cycle Fn-F4 several times until I recover at least keyboard.

I have a T61p, on XP+SP3 (required to support a replacement SATA drive in the main bay). The problem did not start right after I installed SP3, only several months later. I have all thinkpad drivers and system updates at the latest level.

Anyone has the same kind of issues? It looks like the drivers are unable to reconnect with H/W (all drivers disabled or non-existent in HW Device mgr)