cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
hlyesendyk
What's DOS?
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-17-2009
Location: Brookline MA 0244
Views: 4,687
Message 1 of 8

ThinkPad T61 Video Memory

My T61 has a Nvidia Quadro NVS 140M with 128MB of video memory.  I have installed 3GB of main memory.  Is there any way

to tell the computer thru hardware or software to increase my video memory to 256MB?

Basically share some (128MB) conventional  memory.

 

Thanks,

Howard

Guru
Posts: 7,626
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: USA
Views: 4,680
Message 2 of 8

Re: ThinkPad T61 Video Memory

Welcome to the forum!

 

The computer will do it on its own once the need arises...T61 units are pretty smart machines.

 

Hope this helps.

Cheers,

George




In daily use: R60F, R500F, T61, T410

Collecting dust: T60

Enjoying retirement: A31p, T42p,

Non-ThinkPads: Panasonic CF-31 & CF-52, HP 8760W




Starting Thursday, 08/14/2014 I'll be away from the forums until further notice. Please do NOT send private messages since I won't be able to read them. Thank you.
.
kotovsky7
Punch Card
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎01-05-2009
Location: USA
Views: 4,667
Message 3 of 8

Re: ThinkPad T61 Video Memory

Although user above has answered,  it seems like the question was - "Can I specify size of the memory allotted to the video card?".

And the answer above didn't really help . I wonder - does anybody know, if there is a way to specify amount of video memory ? Or it is done  through BIOS internally and cannot be set by user ?

edit: typos.
Message Edited by kotovsky7 on 03-17-2009 09:17 PM
SuperMod
SuperMod
Posts: 5,698
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: US
Views: 4,647
Message 4 of 8

Re: ThinkPad T61 Video Memory

the NVS 140M is likely already using 128MB shared system memory on top of its dedicated 128MB, for 256MB total.   if you open your nvidia control panel and click on "system information" the the lower left corner, it will tell you the current amount of memory being used by the GPU.   this will likely show 256MB if not more.   i don't know if the NVS 140M allows 384MB as i've not yet had a thinkpad with a 140M cross my desk.

 

regarding changing the allocation value, this amount is set by the GPU BIOS depending on demand and cannot be altered by the end user.   as george said above, the GPU will do it automatically.

ThinkStation P700      ThinkPad P40 · 600

kotovsky7
Punch Card
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎01-05-2009
Location: USA
Views: 4,643
Message 5 of 8

Re: ThinkPad T61 Video Memory

kewl . Erik, I wonder if I can set my amount of RAM my video card is using in case it is Intel's chip?

My guess - it would be the same answer "GPU BIOS" will set set  it for you ?

Since I run certain applications, I would want my video card using exact amount of memory (3d rendering, games). Maybe there is a way to do that for Intel's 965Gm-based video, really  ? 

Message Edited by kotovsky7 on 03-17-2009 11:20 PM
SuperMod
SuperMod
Posts: 5,698
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: US
Views: 4,600
Message 6 of 8

Re: ThinkPad T61 Video Memory

not that i'm aware.   intel would be the ones to ask about that.   the X3100 can use up to 384MB and the X4500 series 512MB or more.   i do know that nvidia's allocations are done in the GPU BIOS and can't be altered.   i would logically assume intel's chips to be the same since, as i understand it, the maximum amount allocated will vary depending on the amount of system memory installed.   ie; systems with only 1GB will likely only have 128MB available, 2GB: 256MB, 3GB: 384MB, etc.

 

keep in mind that even 2560x1600 @ 32-bit color only uses 16MB of memory.   on a system with 384MB total, at least 378MB of that is available for 2D/3D image caching.

ThinkStation P700      ThinkPad P40 · 600

kotovsky7
Punch Card
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎01-05-2009
Location: USA
Views: 4,584
Message 7 of 8

Re: ThinkPad T61 Video Memory

nice nice , Erik.

big thanks for the usefull info.

gave you "Kudos" - not sure if you collect those, or .. Smiley Happy

KLiK
What's DOS?
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-11-2014
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Views: 1,279
Message 8 of 8

Re: ThinkPad T61 Video Memory


@erik wrote:

not that i'm aware.   intel would be the ones to ask about that.   the X3100 can use up to 384MB and the X4500 series 512MB or more.   i do know that nvidia's allocations are done in the GPU BIOS and can't be altered.   i would logically assume intel's chips to be the same since, as i understand it, the maximum amount allocated will vary depending on the amount of system memory installed.   ie; systems with only 1GB will likely only have 128MB available, 2GB: 256MB, 3GB: 384MB, etc.

 

@keep in mind that even 2560x1600 @ 32-bit color only uses 16MB of memory.   on a system with 384MB total, at least 378MB of that is available for 2D/3D image caching.


Yes, but...how to increase the memory on a 2GB WinXP with latest 307.xx driver?

Why?

I need to increase it to 256MB, for SETI@home...doesn't work under 256MB...the laptop is at my mom's house!

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors