cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
IntelP4
Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-07-2008
Location: US
Views: 1,831
Message 1 of 5

Thinkpad T30--Looking for (1) 512MB PC2100 DDR 266Mhz 200-pin SO-DIMM

Helping a friend out overseas who has this as the only computer.  It has 1 512MB card in it now but from what I can tell, its expandable to1GB via (2) 512MB cards.  As a last resort I can buy a new card for around $20 delivered to me, then postage overseas, but if it doesnt boot, into the trash it goes, therefore I'm hesitant to spend more than I have to.  I believe a PC2700 would work also, but just at the PC2100 rate, is that correct? Not interested in performance, just the increased ram since its running XP, 512mb, just isnt enough.  What would you all suggest the most economical way to achieve this one card would be?

 

Thanks

Guru
Posts: 7,626
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: USA
Views: 1,812
Message 2 of 5

Re: Thinkpad T30--Looking for (1) 512MB PC2100 DDR 266Mhz 200-pin SO-DIMM

Welcome to the forum!

 

T30 will actually take 2GB RAM if both slots are working. And yes, PC2700 (DDR333) RAM will work just fine, and at PC2100 speed as you've stated.

 

Cheapest place to go...probably eBay. Fry's occasionally has good rebates on 1GB DIMMs.

 

Hope this helps.

Cheers,

George




In daily use: R60F, R500F, T61, T410

Collecting dust: T60

Enjoying retirement: A31p, T42p,

Non-ThinkPads: Panasonic CF-31 & CF-52, HP 8760W




Starting Thursday, 08/14/2014 I'll be away from the forums until further notice. Please do NOT send private messages since I won't be able to read them. Thank you.
.
sktn77a
802.11n
Posts: 416
Registered: ‎04-04-2008
Location: US
Views: 1,796
Message 3 of 5

Re: Thinkpad T30--Looking for (1) 512MB PC2100 DDR 266Mhz 200-pin SO-DIMM

It may end up in the trash anyway.  There were a lot of problems with the second memory slot in the T30's.  IBM came out with a fix which looked like an insulation pack to prevent shorts in the second memory compartment.  If the damage had already occurred and the computer was out of warranty, their solution was to double the size of the memory chip in the first socket!

Message Edited by sktn77a on 09-08-2008 09:39 AM
Keith
Currently T420 4177-CTO, T430 2347-A54, T430 2349-L64, T430 2347-UN9, T430 2342-CTR, Ideapad K1, H520S 2561-1LU, X1 1921-26U
Formerly 600E 2645, T30 2366, X31 2673, T40 2373, T41 2379, T42 2373, T42 2379, T60 1952, T61p 8889, T61p 8891




IntelP4
Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-07-2008
Location: US
Views: 1,777
Message 4 of 5

Re: Thinkpad T30--Looking for (1) 512MB PC2100 DDR 266Mhz 200-pin SO-DIMM

Well this doesn't sound like good news.  The computer is not worth enough that a mistake in a card would be worth the risk.  This is what I got from the Lenova site about the memory:

 

Memory

  • 64-bit Double Data Rate (DDR) non-parity SDRAM memory
  • PC2100 at 266MHz
  • Two 200 pin SO-DIMM memory slots, one slot is pre-populated with 256MB, leaving one socket available
  • Supports up to two 512MB SDRAM SO DIMMs
  • Supports maximum memory up to 1.0GB

 

Now I'm confused if I should try to find a 1GB card to go into 1 slot or take a chance on the 2nd card working and not shorting out?  Know of any used IBM/Lenova models on the cheap that are super reliable?  My friend only needs it for basic internet surfing and email, can hardly justify the cost of a new one just for that.  Thanks

Message Edited by IntelP4 on 09-08-2008 06:38 PM
Guru
Posts: 7,626
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: USA
Views: 1,767
Message 5 of 5

Re: Thinkpad T30--Looking for (1) 512MB PC2100 DDR 266Mhz 200-pin SO-DIMM

Make no mistake, T30s are VERY fine machines regardless of the memory slot problem...and that problem is fixable.

 

There is nothing to be unsure about when it comes to RAM: any laptop-size PC2100/2700 (DDR266/333) 1GB stick will work, as will 2 of them if both slots are good. My last T30 (2366-97U) had 2GB of PC2700 RAM and a 7200rpm drive, and it flew in XP in all normal applications that were not video intensive.

 

The only reason that IBM's site states that the maximum memory is 1GB is the fact that at the time of the announcement, 512MB was the largest DIMM available. This also holds true for A31/p, R40, G40/1...etc.

 

Hope this helps. 

Cheers,

George




In daily use: R60F, R500F, T61, T410

Collecting dust: T60

Enjoying retirement: A31p, T42p,

Non-ThinkPads: Panasonic CF-31 & CF-52, HP 8760W




Starting Thursday, 08/14/2014 I'll be away from the forums until further notice. Please do NOT send private messages since I won't be able to read them. Thank you.
.

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors