cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Highlighted
gms
Paper Tape
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-31-2013
Location: London
Views: 776
Message 1 of 6

Upgrading T60 RAM

This might be really basic but before proceeding and buying new memory I would like to make sure not to make  mistakes.  I have a 1GB Lenovo T60 and would like to upgrade to 3GB (I understand that that is the maximum). At present the RAM memory slots are taken by two chips. If I buy 1x2GB memory, I believe this will come in one chip and it will take one of the slots. To reach 3 GB, which chip should I put in the other slot? Thank you for your help.

Community SuperMod
Community SuperMod
Posts: 5,570
Registered: ‎06-26-2008
Location: US
Views: 769
Message 2 of 6

Re: Upgrading T60 RAM

Good day and welcome to the community.

 

One slot will require a 2GB memory module and the other will need a 1GB module to get you to 3GB, total. At present it sounds like you've got a 0.5GB in each (1GB total), so you'll remove both. Alternatively, you could get just the 2GB module and use it with one of your existing modules to make 2.5GB total.

 

Hope this helps.


Community GuidelinesSearchPrivate MessagingENDEESPTRUUACZ-SKTRMoto
PM requests for individual support are not answered. If a post solves your issue, please mark it so.

I am not a Lenovo employee

gms
Paper Tape
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-31-2013
Location: London
Views: 732
Message 3 of 6

Re: Upgrading T60 RAM

Yes, this definitely helps and clarifies!  It might imply I will need to buy 1x2GB plus 1x1GB. Thanks a lot for your quick reply.

gms
Paper Tape
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-31-2013
Location: London
Views: 728
Message 4 of 6

Re: Upgrading T60 RAM

How can I check how many GB are on each chip presently in the slots? Is this written somewhere on the chip itself?

Guru
Posts: 7,626
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: USA
Views: 695
Message 5 of 6

Re: Upgrading T60 RAM


@gms wrote:

How can I check how many GB are on each chip presently in the slots? Is this written somewhere on the chip itself?


Yes, there's usually a label telling you the manufacturer, size, speed etc.

Cheers,

George




In daily use: R60F, R500F, T61, T410

Collecting dust: T60

Enjoying retirement: A31p, T42p,

Non-ThinkPads: Panasonic CF-31 & CF-52, HP 8760W




Starting Thursday, 08/14/2014 I'll be away from the forums until further notice. Please do NOT send private messages since I won't be able to read them. Thank you.
.
gms
Paper Tape
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-31-2013
Location: London
Views: 690
Message 6 of 6

Re: Upgrading T60 RAM

Thanks. Just wanted to avoid to open it. I think this answers all my questions.

And we're back...

Move delayed but still coming

Learn More

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors