cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
DANGRACE
Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-19-2008
Location: Casper, WY
Views: 4,565
Message 1 of 7

VISTA SP1 fails to Load

Error code 80070490 continues to stop me from updating a T61 which was NEW the last day of MARCH 2008. Microsoft asks me for an original Vista disc. My unit did not come with a Vista disc / Lenovo advised that 'it is in there'.
Microsoft asked me to try several things: check files for currency, look for corrupt files. Do a clean boot. None of these helped to complete installation of SP1.
Any ideas ??
Calabrache
Punch Card
Posts: 170
Registered: ‎01-15-2008
Location: Geneva
Views: 4,511
Message 2 of 7

Re: VISTA SP1 fails to Load

DANGRACE
Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-19-2008
Location: Casper, WY
Views: 4,495
Message 3 of 7

Re: VISTA SP1 fails to Load

Have googled the error code 80070490 an "internal error". Can't  find a solution that helps. My laptop arrived with Vista Ultimate Loaded on the machine. Was NOT sent a seperate DVD with Vista Ultimate on it. After contacting MSFT, several suggestions were offered - none of which helped. Now can't get them to respond. Machine and software load  is only 3 months old.
DANGRACE
Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-19-2008
Location: Casper, WY
Views: 4,475
Message 4 of 7

Error Code 80070002

Still trying to install Vista SP1 - new internal error code 80070002. Can't find out where the problem is. Any Suggestions ?
icantux
802.11n
Posts: 265
Registered: ‎02-04-2008
Location: Canada
Views: 4,473
Message 5 of 7

Re: Error Code 80070002

Well, here's Microsoft's answer to the SP1 update error you mention: Windows Update Error 80070002

Seems you'll need to remove the temp files from previous updates for the SP1 update to work right. All explained in the article.

Hope it helps
DANGRACE
Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-19-2008
Location: Casper, WY
Views: 4,448
Message 6 of 7

error code 800F081F

Each time I try to install Vista SP1, I get a new error code. Cannot find a thread to this new one : error code 800F081F.
Wonder if I'm getting closer.
Retired SuperMod
Retired SuperMod
Posts: 9,293
Registered: ‎11-27-2007
Location: SK
Views: 4,440
Message 7 of 7

Re: error code 800F081F

I moved the different threads into this one to keep everything together.
 
Regarding activating Vista, see this fix from Microsoft.
 
The 800F081F problem seems to be solved in the post in the techarena forum, it seems that there is a fix from Microsoft.

Andy  

______________________________________


Please remember to come back and mark the post that you feel solved your question as the solution, it earns the member + points

Did you find a post helpfull? You can thank the member by clicking on the star to the left awarding them Kudos

Please add your type, model number and OS to your signature, it helps to help you.

Forum Search Option

T430 2347-G7U W8 x64, Yoga 10 HD+, Tablet 1838-2BG, T61p 6460-67G W7 x64, T43p 2668-G2G XP, T23 2647-9LG XP, plus a few more.

FYI Unsolicited Personal Messages will be ignored.

de.gif  Deutsche Community   es.gif  Comunidad en Español  uk.gif  English Community ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество

PepperonI blog 

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals