cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
wolf3d
Paper Tape
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-21-2016
Location: Canada
Views: 533
Message 1 of 7

t61p mobo replacement

Does anyone know if a 14" t61 mobo can replace a broken 15.6 t61p mobo?

 

thx!

Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Posts: 9,250
Registered: ‎01-01-2010
Location: US
Views: 518
Message 2 of 7

Re: t61p mobo replacement

It does not fit at all.  There are 3 entirely different shapes of MBs for T61 series machines:  14.1" (tall screen), 14.1" wide screen and 15.6" wide screen. 


Rich


I do not respond to requests for private, one-on-one help. Your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where they may help others as well.

If a response answers your question, please mark it as the accepted solution.

I am not an employee or agent of Lenovo.
JDGillis
Bit Torrent
Posts: 2,729
Registered: ‎12-11-2015
Location: US
Views: 517
Message 3 of 7

Re: t61p mobo replacement

 

While the the System Boards look somewhat similar, they are not exact, and the part numbers/FRU's are different for them.   Many of the other parts that attach to the system board have different part numbrs/FRU's too, so I would say no.

 

If you need a mainboard for a 15.4 inch T61, search for the correct FRU on your existing board online, and you should find one under 50 bucks.

 

Good Luck

 

 

 

Below are the Hardware maintenance manauals for both 

 

ThinkPad® T61 and T61p (15.4-inch widescreen) Hardware Maintenance Manual

https://download.lenovo.com/ibmdl/pub/pc/pccbbs/mobiles_pdf/42x3546_04.pdf     

  • See page 106 for System Board image
  • See page 124 for explooded view
  • See page 139 for list of System Board FRU's:  (42W7651, 42W7875, 42W7652, 42W7876, 42W7653 42W7877)

 

ThinkPad® T61 and T61p (14.1-inch) Hardware Maintenance Manual

https://download.lenovo.com/ibmdl/pub/pc/pccbbs/mobiles_pdf/42x3545_04.pdf

  • See page 105 for Image of System Board
  • See page 122 for exploded view
  • See page 137 for list of System Board FRU's  (42W7648, 42W7872, 42W7649, 42W7873, 42W7650, 42W7874)
wolf3d
Paper Tape
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-21-2016
Location: Canada
Views: 487
Message 4 of 7

Re: t61p mobo replacement

Thx for the reply!
wolf3d
Paper Tape
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-21-2016
Location: Canada
Views: 485
Message 5 of 7

Re: t61p mobo replacement

Thx for the detailed reply. Can I ask, do you know where I would find the information for my existing system board FRU? I cannot boot the laptop now even to BIOS, it just does it's beep thing.
JDGillis
Bit Torrent
Posts: 2,729
Registered: ‎12-11-2015
Location: US
Views: 474
Message 6 of 7

Re: t61p mobo replacement

You would have to remove the existing MB to really know for sure if you want he exact one installed currently, but it should be either a 42W7650 or 42W7874 since your system is a T61p, which had the higher end Quadro FX 570M  nVidia onboard graphics.    

 

All should fit your system, but note note that the boards showing the nVIDIA NB8M-GS (nVidia Quadro NVS 140M) were used in the T61, while board with the nVIDIA NB8P-GL (nVidia Quadro FX 570M) were used in the T61p.    The Intel Crestline GM is the lowest performing graphics model. 

 

If you are getting beeps but no error codes, you might check out the beep codes on pg. 44 of the Hardware Maintenance Manual.    Loose DIMM memory could cause beeps, so be sure to check that out by removing one at a time (if you have two) and making sure that they are in the correct slot 0 position (see page 70).   One bad DIMM could cause it to beep.

 

wolf3d
Paper Tape
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-21-2016
Location: Canada
Views: 461
Message 7 of 7

Re: t61p mobo replacement

Thanks for the reply. I'm going to be looking for the intel integrated gpu as it looks like my t61 went b/c of the faulty nvidia gpu problem. I do plan on confirming it's the mobo by troubleshooting as you've suggest, ram DIMMs and I also read somewhere it could be the lcd panel connect or something so to try reseating that as well. I just have a feeling it's the graphics card for some reason but it'd be great if all is fixed from reseating the RAM. Thanks again!

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals