English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad; T61 and prior T series plus Other Legacy ThinkPads
All Forum Topics
Options

24 Posts

12-29-2014

South Carolina

45 Signins

304 Page Views

  • Posts: 24
  • Registered: ‎12-29-2014
  • Location: South Carolina
  • Views: 304
  • Message 1 of 9

thinkpad a22m ram and or cpu upgrade questions

2016-03-07, 4:23 AM

hello im looking at a a22m on ebay im not to farmiliar with thinkpads older than a t61 so i have a few questions

1 it has a 1ghz pentium 3 can it be upgraded with a faster processor maybe a 1.6 or 1.8 

2 it has 256 mb of ram and acording to my reasearch the maximum from the factory was 512 mb can these be upgraded with more ram say in the 1 to 2 gb range

i really like the looks of this machine and the fact that its a laptop with a built in floppy is cool

just wondering about the upgrade potential thank in advance for you help

Solved! See the solution
T61, 15.4" 1.8ghz 4gb 500gb win 10
R61, 15.4" 1.83ghz 2gb 160gb win 10 (for sale)
Reply
Options

4345 Posts

07-24-2013

CH

12990 Signins

377248 Page Views

  • Posts: 4345
  • Registered: ‎07-24-2013
  • Location: CH
  • Views: 377248
  • Message 2 of 9

Re: thinkpad a22m ram and or cpu upgrade questions

2016-03-07, 7:33 AM

Unfortunately there' no much to upgrade in these old systems.

 

  1. 512MB RAM is the limit for your A22m (2x 256MB PC-100 low density modules)
  2. 1 Ghz is the fastest CPU available for this model.

Using Search to find your answers in Lenovo and Moto Community
Reply
Options

24 Posts

12-29-2014

South Carolina

45 Signins

304 Page Views

  • Posts: 24
  • Registered: ‎12-29-2014
  • Location: South Carolina
  • Views: 304
  • Message 3 of 9

Re: thinkpad a22m ram and or cpu upgrade questions

2016-03-07, 21:20 PM

are these hardware or software limitations because i found 1gb (2x512mb) pc100 ram on ebay also with the cpu is there just not a better proccesor that will phyisically fit in the socket if these are software limitations can anything be done to overcome them installing bios from a newer machine possibly

thanks for your

T61, 15.4" 1.8ghz 4gb 500gb win 10
R61, 15.4" 1.83ghz 2gb 160gb win 10 (for sale)
Reply
Options

4345 Posts

07-24-2013

CH

12990 Signins

377248 Page Views

  • Posts: 4345
  • Registered: ‎07-24-2013
  • Location: CH
  • Views: 377248
  • Message 4 of 9

Re: thinkpad a22m ram and or cpu upgrade questions

2016-03-08, 8:41 AM

wrote:

are these hardware or software limitations because i found 1gb (2x512mb) pc100 ram on ebay


Hardware. Please note the RAM needs to be SO-DIMM factor. I'm not aware of bigger than 256MB modules for this but I may be wrong, if you could provide the link from eBay I could take a closer look.

 

Regarding CPU, the current one you have (Coppermine) is the highest model of the Pentium-III. To my understanding the following P-III generation (Tualatin) is not compatible.

 

-


Using Search to find your answers in Lenovo and Moto Community
Reply
Options

24 Posts

12-29-2014

South Carolina

45 Signins

304 Page Views

  • Posts: 24
  • Registered: ‎12-29-2014
  • Location: South Carolina
  • Views: 304
  • Message 5 of 9

Re: thinkpad a22m ram and or cpu upgrade questions

2016-03-09, 0:31 AM

well i dont have the machine i was just looking at it on ebay but heres the ram link

http://www.ebay.com/itm/512MB-PC-100-SDRAM-144-PIN-SODIMM-LAPTOP-LOW-DENSITY-/230584855881?hash=item35afedad49:m:m3DXyzJYTxW3NGXIgKDsDZw

thanks for all your help i know ive asked alot of qustions

T61, 15.4" 1.8ghz 4gb 500gb win 10
R61, 15.4" 1.83ghz 2gb 160gb win 10 (for sale)
Reply
Options

4345 Posts

07-24-2013

CH

12990 Signins

377248 Page Views

  • Posts: 4345
  • Registered: ‎07-24-2013
  • Location: CH
  • Views: 377248
  • Message 6 of 9

Re: thinkpad a22m ram and or cpu upgrade questions

2016-03-09, 7:44 AM

Thanks for the link, looks indeed like a real SO-DIMM PC100 RAM, but seems a no-name brand. Since it's on eBay I'd take that information with a pin of salt 


Using Search to find your answers in Lenovo and Moto Community
Reply
Options

24 Posts

12-29-2014

South Carolina

45 Signins

304 Page Views

  • Posts: 24
  • Registered: ‎12-29-2014
  • Location: South Carolina
  • Views: 304
  • Message 7 of 9

Re: thinkpad a22m ram and or cpu upgrade questions

2016-03-10, 1:14 AM

ok i found a a22m on ebay for $15 plus shipping its got the 900mhz processor and 512mb or ram installed and it needs a screen is the 900mhz much slower than the 1ghz and how well will it run xp (it comes with 2000)

also do you think it would run vista

sorry for all these questions in one post in your oppinion is it worth the price considering it needs a screen and im not sure if it has a hdd the ad only shows it booting to bios

T61, 15.4" 1.8ghz 4gb 500gb win 10
R61, 15.4" 1.83ghz 2gb 160gb win 10 (for sale)
Reply
Options

4345 Posts

07-24-2013

CH

12990 Signins

377248 Page Views

  • Posts: 4345
  • Registered: ‎07-24-2013
  • Location: CH
  • Views: 377248
  • Message 8 of 9

Re: thinkpad a22m ram and or cpu upgrade questions

2016-03-10, 7:48 AM

I don't think the 100Mhz will make a big difference in my opinion.

 

However, finding a new screen in good condition may be difficult, since all replacement screens will be quite old and probably dark. If there's no HDD you may need to buy a 2.5" PATA drive, which are also getting rare, at least in good condition with no bad sectors.

 

With computers of this era Win2000 will be a better option in my opinion, and with 512MB RAM Vista most probably won't even run...

 

I would wait for an offer with more complete hardware if it were my own money.

 

But's is your money and your call now, and if you're looking to play around and fix an imcomplete ThinkPad it may be an interesting case... :smileywink:

 


Using Search to find your answers in Lenovo and Moto Community

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

1 Posts

10-15-2016

HU

27 Signins

83 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎10-15-2016
  • Location: HU
  • Views: 83
  • Message 9 of 9

Re: thinkpad a22m ram and or cpu upgrade questions

2016-10-15, 6:00 AM

I have a similar question; can I use the 1ghz PIII CPU salvaged from an A30 in an A22m? Which currently have a 850Mhz PIII.

 

Also both the A30 and the A22 happen to have 15" screens. Can i use the screen from the A30 as a backup for the A22; are they compatible?

 

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete