Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
802.11n
Posts: 334
Registered: ‎03-02-2010
Location: Dublin
Message 11 of 143 (1,850 Views)

Re: 3G upgradable?

As far as I know all tablets/smartphones require custom tools to open. Just look at the teardowns at ifixit.com. Its just the form factor is so small that you have barely any space for screws etc. So even if the 3G card would be openly sold, how would you possibly get it in there?

HDMI
Posts: 181
Registered: ‎08-25-2011
Location: Kansas
Message 12 of 143 (1,841 Views)

Re: 3G upgradable?

I have an Android phone with an unlimited data plan that I can use to create a wifi hot spot to connect my thinkpad to.  I will always carrry my Android phone and have no plans of getting rid of it.  Therefore, I see no need to have 3G, and pay for a plan, when I connect through the phone.

WWAN
Posts: 1,773
Registered: ‎08-17-2011
Location: USA
Message 13 of 143 (1,839 Views)

Re: 3G upgradable?

Found this on the pc mag site, which would be the only way I might be interested in 3G, if this is true. I'll wait to see how it shakes out.

--3G is apparently coming in October via AT&T, Sprint, and Verizon, but without a contract. Instead 3G will be sold via a variety of day-pass options.--

See paragraph four.

http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2391710,00.asp

Interesting and very smart IMO, if it is true.
===================
Don't get mad, get root.
3679CTO
Punch Card
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎04-28-2010
Location: Arizona
Message 14 of 143 (1,835 Views)

Re: 3G upgradable?

[ Edited ]

I don't want or need the 3G becouse I will be using the 4G from my Verizon plan I have now.

802.11n
Posts: 225
Registered: ‎04-20-2011
Location: UNITED STATES
Message 15 of 143 (1,810 Views)

Re: 3G upgradable?

3G with SIM offers options when traveling abroad and my Verizon 4G w/Hotspot phone doesn't work Smiley Wink

 

However, I opted to not wait.

Punch Card
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎08-25-2011
Location: USA
Message 16 of 143 (1,706 Views)

Re: 3G upgradable?

I don't need 3G and would not pay for a data plan in addition to my phone, but why do you put a sim slot on a device that serves no purpose?
IT Service Professional - I Just Want a Device to be Productive.
802.11n
Posts: 225
Registered: ‎04-20-2011
Location: UNITED STATES
Message 17 of 143 (1,683 Views)

Re: 3G upgradable?

It's cheaper to have one body design rather than several to fit different features. Just like laptops which have options, the ones without the options have spaces where they would go.

Punch Card
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎08-25-2011
Location: USA
Message 18 of 143 (1,672 Views)

Re: 3G upgradable?

I agree, if you put a blank to cover the slot or port, but the sim card slot is listed as a device if you click on the tech specs pdf file on the order page. No big deal to me, it just seems strange. My ThinkPad was ordered on the 23rd.
IT Service Professional - I Just Want a Device to be Productive.
SCSI Port
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎04-25-2011
Location: Atlanta, GA USA
Message 19 of 143 (1,665 Views)

Re: 3G upgradable?

In addition to computers, you would be amazed at the slots, cables and plugs that are unused but present in most cars; and are there to attach options.

HDMI
Posts: 181
Registered: ‎08-25-2011
Location: Kansas
Message 20 of 143 (1,595 Views)

Re: 3G upgradable?

It is going to be interesting to see because everybody says that the first units cannot be upgraded to 3G because they but, when I look at my order i have a line item like this:

 

0A93080  SBB WWAN MISC PARTS - WWAN

 

top kudoed authors
User Kudos Count
2