cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
PetterJhon
Paper Tape
Views: 2,562
Message 1 of 3

Deciding between Lenovo Thinkpad Tablet vs Microsoft Surface Pro 6 vs Microsoft Surface Book 2

Hello everyone,,,

I'm shopping for a very portable 2 in 1 tablet style laptop. I'll be using the tablet weekly as a dungeon master for my dungeons and dragons campaign to take notes and to project battles onto a 60'' screen for my players. I'll be using a pen to keep notes and draw diagrams/figures for my players. I'll be using it during the week to draw out new maps/other artwork for the campaign.

I'll also be using it for travel. I travel 6-8+ times a year, about 3-4 times a year are 8+ hour one way flights. I'm desiring the upmost portability and being able to use it on airplanes. For travel I love to game. I'm getting sick and tired of carrying around a 10-12lb dedicated gaming laptop. It's just becoming too much a hassle.

I'm a software engineer with 10+ years of experience in the video game industry with shipped AAA titles. I do consulting work on the side. Any system will need to run UE4 and Unity editors at acceptable frame rates for onsite consulting work.

I've narrowed it down to three choices:

• Lenovo Thinkpad X1 Tablet (Gen 3)

• Microsoft Surface Pro 6

• Microsoft Surface Book 2

I'm really leaning towards the Lenovo Thinkpad Tablet + Lenovo Thunderbolt 3 Graphics Dock EGPU (has a gtx 1050.) Will the EGPU increase performance significantly for the internal display? Or are they only for external displays? If it works decently for the internal display then I feel like it's the perfect tablet/laptop and compromise for what I'm seeking in one system.