Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad TabletsThinkPad Tablets
All Forum Topics
Options

273 Posts

11-29-2011

NYC, United States

238 Signins

2204 Page Views

  • Posts: 273
  • Registered: ‎11-29-2011
  • Location: NYC, United States
  • Views: 2204
  • Message 21 of 24

Re: OTA2 Update root and CWM(clockwork mod)

2012-02-18, 21:54 PM

Well No matter what I do, I can't get the update to work. I did as suggested by obscure_detour and

1-extracted the install-recovery.sh file from the update and copied it to the /system/etc folder, then

2-ran the script within root explorer (seemed to overwrite it)

3-Then went to Voodoo OTA Recovery and ran Temp. un-root (keeps backup)

4-Went to Settings, System, About Tablet, System Updates, Check for updates and 

5-Clicked on the Restart and install now button.

6-Tablet reboots and goes into booting recovery kernal image

at this point the Android mascot appears and starts the process up to about 25%, then the guy dies (on his back with a red triangle) and reboots 

Reply
Options

118 Posts

07-01-2010

Juneau, Alaska

1927 Signins

5852 Page Views

  • Posts: 118
  • Registered: ‎07-01-2010
  • Location: Juneau, Alaska
  • Views: 5852
  • Message 22 of 24

Re: OTA2 Update root and CWM(clockwork mod)

2012-02-18, 23:41 PM
Twospirits- you need one more step

1.5- extract and copy recovery-from-boot.p to the /system folder

You need it for install-recovery.sh to work. I had the same problem and didn't know until I ran install-recovery from a terminal emulator and saw that it was failing on the missing .p file.

You'll know it worked when you reboot to a green-outlined android instead of the 3D android. Good luck!
Reply
Options

273 Posts

11-29-2011

NYC, United States

238 Signins

2204 Page Views

  • Posts: 273
  • Registered: ‎11-29-2011
  • Location: NYC, United States
  • Views: 2204
  • Message 23 of 24

Re: OTA2 Update root and CWM(clockwork mod)

2012-02-19, 3:00 AM

over at xda, member quyTam mentioned that he does not reboot when using CWM as long as he does a regular shutdown instead of using a reboot app. I've been using a reboot app so I removed that reboot app and this time I was able to finally do a full backup in CWM. Problem one solved.

 

So I am doing to do the OTA2 but now have to wait till I get at least 70% battery. 

 

Now I wonder, has anyone updated the OTA2 using CWM by renaming it update.zip or do I still have to go through Settings, About, Check for Update to do it?

 

TS

 

 

Reply
Options

118 Posts

07-01-2010

Juneau, Alaska

1927 Signins

5852 Page Views

  • Posts: 118
  • Registered: ‎07-01-2010
  • Location: Juneau, Alaska
  • Views: 5852
  • Message 24 of 24

Re: OTA2 Update root and CWM(clockwork mod)

2012-02-19, 3:34 AM

Now I wonder, has anyone updated the OTA2 using CWM by renaming it update.zip or do I still have to go through Settings, About, Check for Update to do it?

 

 

Yes, tried it as you described and it failed.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms