Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
MtnMike
Punch Card
Views: 1,770
Message 91 of 156

Re: X1 Tablet 3rd Gen - Screen scratching

TL;DR:  Having used two different screen protectors, neither seems to have a negative impact on pen response or performance (though I have no unprotected-screen baseline).  A clear, glossy protector is preferred over a matte protector by my sketching tester.

So, I have some experience on the screen protector pen sensitivity topic.  I've used two screen protectors with my X1TG3:  The built-in, film-type "window" of the Lenovo Protector Case (#4X40Q62112), which does not adhere to the tablet screen; and a matte (anti-glare), direct-to-screen protector from BoxWave.  (Again, no affiliation whatsover:  http://www.boxwave.com/lenovo-thinkpad-x1-tablet-3rd-gen-screen-protectors/lenovo-thinkpad-x1-tablet... The BoxWave is what is currently installed.

I can barely draw stick figures, but my daughter (18), is a solid, high-school-level artist, and while she's no undiscovered genius, she has created some really nice sketches on the X1TG3.  In my observations, and in her estimation, the screen protectors have what we deem to be very good pen response--I can't imagine the pens* working any better on a bare screen (see disclaimer below).  My daughter says she likes the smoothness of the glossy, clear screen protector of the Lenovo Protector Case.  She didn't like the dull feeling of the BoxWave matte protector.  Even so, the pen performance, she said, seems to be equally good with both protectors.  (*I have both the factory-supplied "ThinkPad Pen Pro" and the "Lenovo Active Pen 2.")

Now, neither I nor my daughter have used the X1TG3 without a protector, so we don't know what kind of experience to expect from a bare screen; our evaluations of the pen response and performance are made in the absence of that baseline.  In any event, my daughter thinks the sketching is "freakin' awesome" no matter what's over the screen.